← Back to MPs

MP profile

Mike Reader MP

Labour · Northampton South

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
Northampton South
Party
Labour
MP since
2024
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

Parliamentary office

House of Commons
London
SW1A 0AA

The phone number provided is for the UK Parliament Contact Centre. When you call, a member of the team will attempt to put you through to the Member's office.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Current rolesComing up · Today

Parliamentary Calendar

Coming up

Upcoming parliamentary business linked to this MP's current committees and, where available, Bills Parliament records them as proposing or sponsoring.

Committee

Energy Security and Net Zero Committee

Updated

Oral evidence · Wednesday 9 September 2026 · 08:45 BST

Room 16, Palace of Westminster

Committee items show scheduled business for committees the MP currently serves on and do not confirm individual attendance. Bill items are shown only where Parliament's Bills data records this MP as proposer or sponsor and Calendar Core has an official future stage. A scheduled stage does not mean that stage has happened. Future parliamentary business can change.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

1current committee membership
2 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Northampton South

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour

Current committee memberships

Energy Security and Net Zero Committee

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Departmental

Member · since 13 January 2025
Previous parliamentary career

Previous committee memberships

  • English Devolution and Community Empowerment Bill
  • Courts (Remote Hearings) Bill

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests11
Categories represented4
Published GBP values8

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salarySupport for MP activitiesGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £4,300 — Gifts / hospitality · Silverstone Circuits Limited - £4,300.00
  2. £2,155 — Support for MP activities · Homes for Britain Ltd - £2,155.00
  3. £725.76 — Gifts / hospitality · Mace Consult Limited - £725.76
  4. £300 — Gifts / hospitality · SME4LABOUR LTD - £300.00
  5. £162.48 — Gifts / hospitality · Mace Consult Limited - £162.48
  6. £149.04 — Gifts / hospitality · Mace Consult Limited - £149.04
  7. £90.72 — Gifts / hospitality · Mace Consult Limited - £90.72
  8. £45.36 — Gifts / hospitality · Mace Consult Limited - £45.36

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Donations and other support (including loans) for activities as an MP1

Homes for Britain Ltd - £2,155.00

Registered 26 January 2026

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Fundraiser donation
Value
£2,155
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Homes for Britain Ltd
Donor Public Address
12 Old Bond Street, London W1S 4PW
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Homes for Britain Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
14724694
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources7

Silverstone Circuits Limited - £4,300.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Attended the British Grand Prix as local MP, chair of the Northamptonshire Growth Board, and member of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Motorsports
Value
£4,300
Received Date
2026-07-05
Accepted Date
2026-07-05
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Silverstone Circuits Limited
Donor Public Address
Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone, Towcester, Northamptonshire NN12 8TN
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Silverstone Circuits Limited
Donor Company Identifier
882843
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Mace Consult Limited - £725.76

Registered 22 June 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
May 2026 costs of legal services arranged and paid for by Mace Consult Limited, instructing Pinsent Masons LLP to act on their behalf in employment tribunal case
Value
£725.76
Received Date
2026-05-31
Accepted Date
2026-05-31
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Mace Consult Limited
Donor Public Address
155 Moorgate, London EC2M 6XB
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Mace Consult Limited
Donor Company Identifier
07094851
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Mace Consult Limited - £162.48

Registered 22 April 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
January 2026 costs of legal services arranged and paid for by Mace Consult Limited, instructing Pinsent Masons LLP to act on their behalf in employment tribunal case
Value
£162.48
Received Date
2026-01-31
Accepted Date
2026-01-31
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Mace Consult Limited
Donor Public Address
155 Moorgate, London EC2M 6XB
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Mace Consult Limited
Donor Company Identifier
07094851
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Mace Consult Limited - £149.04

Registered 22 April 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
February 2026 costs of legal services arranged and paid for by Mace Consult Limited, instructing Pinsent Masons LLP to act on their behalf in employment tribunal case
Value
£149.04
Received Date
2026-02-28
Accepted Date
2026-02-28
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Mace Consult Limited
Donor Public Address
155 Moorgate, London EC2M 6XB
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Mace Consult Limited
Donor Company Identifier
07094851
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Mace Consult Limited - £45.36

Registered 18 December 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
November 2025 costs of legal services arranged and paid for by Mace Consult Limited, instructing Pinsent Masons LLP to act on their behalf in employment tribunal case
Value
£45.36
Received Date
2025-11-30
Accepted Date
2025-11-30
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Mace Consult Limited
Donor Public Address
155 Moorgate, London EC2M 6XB
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Mace Consult Limited
Donor Company Identifier
07094851
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

SME4LABOUR LTD - £300.00

Registered 21 November 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Accepted ticket to attend SME4Labour Gala & Excellence Awards
Value
£300
Received Date
2025-11-04
Accepted Date
2025-11-04
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
SME4LABOUR LTD
Donor Public Address
Flat 80 County Hall North Block, 5 Chicheley Street, London SE1 7PN
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
SME4LABOUR LTD
Donor Company Identifier
10685562
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Mace Consult Limited - £90.72

Registered 20 November 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
October 2025 costs of legal services arranged and paid for by Mace Consult Limited, instructing Pinsent Masons LLP to act on their behalf in employment tribunal case
Value
£90.72
Received Date
2025-10-31
Accepted Date
2025-10-31
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Mace Consult Limited
Donor Public Address
155 Moorgate, London EC2M 6XB
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Mace Consult Limited
Donor Company Identifier
07094851
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Visits outside the UK2

International visit to Belgium between 26 October 2025 and 27 October 2025

Registered 21 November 2025

Country
Belgium
Purpose
In my role as Chair of the APPG for Food and Drink, I was invited to visit Coca Cola's Research and Development site in Brussels.
Start Date
2025-10-26
End Date
2025-10-27
Name
Coca-Cola Europacific Partners plc
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
Pemberton House, Bakers Road, Uxbridge UB8 1EZ
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Train travel (£160) and overnight accommodation (£300)
Value
£460
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes

International visit to Bahrain between 02 May 2025 and 05 May 2025

Registered 14 October 2025

Country
Bahrain
Purpose
As member of the Armed Forces Parliamentary Scheme, visited military installations in Bahrain on this organised visit for Parliamentarians.
Start Date
2025-05-02
End Date
2025-05-05
Name
Armed Forces Parliamentary Trust
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
London Heathrow to Bahrain Friday 2nd May 2025, return Monday 5th May 2025, paid by myself online and reimbursed afterwards by the Armed Forces Parliamentary Trust
Value
£709.22
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Land and property (within or outside the UK)1

Property in Rushden

Registered 17 July 2024

Is Sole Owner
No
Location
Rushden
Property Description
House
Property Owner Details
Co-owned with my wife
Registrable Rental Income
Yes
Number Of Properties
1
Is Land
No
Is Any Rental Income Paid To Another Person
No
Country
United Kingdom
Property Type
Residential
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted Aye
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — goods vehicle VED review

1 July 2026 · Division 48

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 5 to require a Treasury review of the temporary goods vehicle VED (road freight tax) rates and reporting to Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunals Extension of Jurisdiction (England and Wales) (Amendment) Order 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 45

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunals Extension of Jurisdiction (England and Wales) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 43

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Customs (Tariff and Miscellaneous Amendments) (No. 4) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 40

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Customs (Tariff and Miscellaneous Amendments) (No. 4) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Defence spending and readiness — Prime Minister’s amendment

Defence spending and readiness — Prime Minister’s amendment

23 June 2026 · Division 38

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion on Defence spending and readiness - Prime Minister's Amendment.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

Amendment 11 — Defence Housing Service budget

22 June 2026 · Division 36

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 11, which would have required the Defence Housing Service to operate within a budget set out in the Defence Investment Plan.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 22 — impact of Defence Investment Plan delays

22 June 2026 · Division 35

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should publish an assessment of the impact of delays to the Defence Investment Plan.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 11 — ECHR derogation for overseas operations

22 June 2026 · Division 34

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Secretary of State should be required to authorise an ECHR derogation for significant overseas military operations.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 4 — settlement fee waiver for service families

22 June 2026 · Division 33

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to waive indefinite-leave-to-remain fees for spouses or children of serving or former armed forces members who had served for four or more years.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted No
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

Amendment 12 — sunset extension

8 June 2026 · Division 12

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 12 to prevent the Bill's ‘sunset' on principal transfer powers being extended.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Agriculture (Delinked Payments) (Reductions) (England) Regulations 2026

Agriculture (Delinked Payments) (Reductions) (England) Regulations 2026

3 June 2026 · Division 11

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Agriculture (Delinked Payments) (Reductions) (England) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill

Second Reading

21 May 2026 · Division 6

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill should receive a Second Reading and continue to its next stage in Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (p) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 4

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the Opposition's motion for an Address in response to the King's Speech, regretting the absence of a Defence Readiness Bill and related defence planning commitments.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (l) — defence policy

20 May 2026 · Division 3

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the King's Speech Address debate to express regret that the Gracious Speech did not include a Defence Readiness Bill and to call for specific defence policy actions.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King’s Speech: Amendment (i) — energy security

Amendment (i) — energy security

19 May 2026 · Division 1

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on a Conservative amendment to the King’s Speech motion on energy security.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

NHS Workforce: Sickness Absence

14 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

European Entry and Exit System

8 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Hospitality Sector

2 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Antisemitism: University Campuses

30 June 2026 · House of Commons · Westminster Hall

1 speech

Passenger Rail Services

11 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 question1 supplementary question
View 2 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Prescriptions: Fees and Charges

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 24962

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, what assessment her Department has made of the equity implications of the list of medical conditions conferring exemption from prescription charges; and whether she has made an assessment of the po

Sickle Cell Diseases: Prescriptions

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 24963

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, what estimate her Department has made of the cost to the public purse of adding sickle cell disease to the list of medical conditions conferring exemption from prescription charges; and what estima

Heating: VAT

Tabled 9 June 2026 · Treasury · UIN 8389

Answered

To ask the Chancellor of the Exchequer, what assessment she has made of the potential merits of extending 0% VAT relief to clean heating technologies such as heat batteries, including on initial costs, the number of households adopting low-carbon heating

View answer · 17 June 2026

Answered by: Dan Tomlinson

The Government is supporting heat batteries by including them in the Boiler Upgrade Scheme, with a £2,500 grant to support homes that are not suitable for heat pumps. Heat batteries will become eligible once new product and installation standards are in p...

Heating: VAT

Tabled 9 June 2026 · Treasury · UIN 8388

Answered

To ask the Chancellor of the Exchequer, whether she has made an assessment of the potential merits of extending 0% VAT relief to clean heating technologies, including heat batteries.

View answer · 17 June 2026

Answered by: Dan Tomlinson

The Government is supporting heat batteries by including them in the Boiler Upgrade Scheme, with a £2,500 grant to support homes that are not suitable for heat pumps. Heat batteries will become eligible once new product and installation standards are in p...

Timber: Housing

Tabled 3 June 2026 · Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs · UIN 6613

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, what assessment her Department has made of the quantity of (a) commercial forest timber and (b) waste wood products that will be needed to achieve the government’s target of 1.5million

View answer · 8 June 2026

Answered by: Mary Creagh

We recognise the important role timber can play in supporting Net Zero, including through reducing embodied emissions in construction and storing carbon. The Government relaunched a more ambitious Timber in Construction Roadmap in February 2025 to increas...

View 5 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

Draft Code of Practice on Services, public functions and associations

EDM 240 · Tabled 1 June 2026 · 172 signatures

Bank holiday for celebrations if England win the 2026 FIFA World Cup

EDM 190 · Tabled 21 May 2026 · 27 signatures

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Northampton South is a constituency in the East Midlands region of England. The seat has been held by Mike Reader (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Northampton South Northampton North Daventry Milton Keynes North South Northamptonshire Kettering Wellingborough and Rushden Corby and East Northamptonshire Mid Bedfordshire North Bedfordshire Rugby Banbury Kenilworth and Southam England
Northampton South Labour

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Gain
Majority4,071
Turnout62.4%43,904 votes cast
Electorate70,393

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top