← Back to MPs

MP profile

Dr Zubir Ahmed MP

Labour · Glasgow South West

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
Glasgow South West
Party
Labour
MP since
2024
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Current rolesComing up · Today

Parliamentary Calendar

Coming up

Upcoming parliamentary business linked to this MP's current committees and, where available, Bills Parliament records them as proposing or sponsoring.

Committee

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Formal meeting · Thursday 10 September 2026 · 14:00 BST

The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

Committee

Immigration and Asylum Bill

To consider the Bill

Formal meeting · Tuesday 15 September 2026 · 09:25 BST

The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

Further upcoming parliamentary activity is available in the Parliamentary Calendar.

Committee items show scheduled business for committees the MP currently serves on and do not confirm individual attendance. Bill items are shown only where Parliament's Bills data records this MP as proposer or sponsor and Calendar Core has an official future stage. A scheduled stage does not mean that stage has happened. Future parliamentary business can change.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

1current committee membership
1 government post · 1 committee membershipprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Glasgow South West

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour

Current committee memberships

Immigration and Asylum Bill

House of Commons · (HC) Public bill committee

Member · since 9 September 2026
Previous parliamentary career

Previous government posts

  • Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department of Health and Social Care)

Previous committee memberships

  • Tobacco and Vapes Bill

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests4
Categories represented3
Published GBP values5

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salaryEmployment / earningsSupport for MP activities

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £30,000 — Support for MP activities · Francesca Sainsbury Perrin - £30,000.00
  2. £19,878 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 30 August 2025 - £19,878.00
  3. £17,920 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 30 August 2025 - £17,920.00
  4. £13,890 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 26 February 2026 - £13,890.00
  5. £2,065 — Employment / earnings · Agreement starting 06 April 2026 - £2,065.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Employment and earnings2

Emergency vascular surgeon - NHS Fife

Registered 30 September 2025

Job Title
Emergency vascular surgeon
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
NHS Fife
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Nature Of Business
NHS organisation
Payer Public Address
Hayfield Road, Kirkcaldy KY2 5AH
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 30 August 2025 - £17,920.00

Registered 30 September 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-08-30
Job Title
Emergency vascular surgeon
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Payment for emergency vascular surgery provision in ninewells hospital during parliamentary recess to cover a short notice staff absence.
Value
£17,920
Hours worked
190.00
Hours details
No of hours worked is an estimate as it covers emergency on call availability, overnight emergency cover and time spent in hospital operating and performing other clinical duties and providing remote specialist clinical advice
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

NHS surgeon - NHS golden jubilee

Registered 4 August 2024

Job Title
NHS surgeon
End Date
2025-10-01
Is Until Further Notice
Yes
Payer Name
NHS golden jubilee
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Public Address
Agamemon street Clydebank
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 26 February 2026 - £13,890.00

Registered 22 March 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-02-26
Job Title
General vascular and transplant surgery
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Amount will be used to fund costs associated with continuing professional development and medical licensing with the remainder donated to charity.
Value
£13,890
Hours worked
196.00
Hours details
approximate number of hours worked primarily overnight weekends and Friday work This is for the purposes of maintaining my professional skills as well as delivering continuity of care to patients and providing teaching and sub-specialist clinical advice to NHS colleagues. Also performed to fulfil criteria to maintain a medical license
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 30 August 2025 - £19,878.00

Registered 30 September 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-08-30
Job Title
General and transplant surgery specialist services
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Payment for work undertaken between July 2024 and July 2025 in general surgery at the Golden Jubilee Hospital and specialist transplant surgery at the Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, and provision of clinical governance support
Value
£19,878
Hours worked
290.00
Hours details
Hours worked are an estimate and include on call provision and include emergency surgery provision provided at weekends and night
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Agreement starting 06 April 2026 - £2,065.00

Registered 22 March 2026 · 1.2 Employment and earnings - Ongoing paid employment

Regularity Of Payment
Monthly
Start Date
2026-04-06
Period for hours worked
Monthly
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Amount will be used to fund costs associated with continuing professional development and medical licensing with the remainder donated to charity.
Value
£2,065
Hours worked
28.00
Hours details
Approximate due to variable weekend emergency on call commitment
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No
Donations and other support (including loans) for activities as an MP1

Francesca Sainsbury Perrin - £30,000.00

Registered 22 March 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£30,000
Received Date
2026-02-23
Accepted Date
2026-02-25
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Francesca Sainsbury Perrin
Donor Status
Individual
Miscellaneous1

Honorary surgeon, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Registered 4 August 2024

Description
Honorary surgeon, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Formal role with a party organisation
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 10 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Health Bill

Puberty blockers for under-18s

8 September 2026 · Division 69

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 142 to the Health Bill, requiring regulations to prevent puberty blockers being prescribed, supplied or used in clinical trials for under-18s in gender-related treatment, unless both Houses approved a trial.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (72 divisions in coverage)

72 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 13 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Health Bill

Puberty blockers for under-18s

8 September 2026 · Division 69

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 142 to the Health Bill, requiring regulations to prevent puberty blockers being prescribed, supplied or used in clinical trials for under-18s in gender-related treatment, unless both Houses approved a trial.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted Aye
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Customs (Tariff and Miscellaneous Amendments) (No. 4) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 40

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Customs (Tariff and Miscellaneous Amendments) (No. 4) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

Amendment 11 — Defence Housing Service budget

22 June 2026 · Division 36

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 11, which would have required the Defence Housing Service to operate within a budget set out in the Defence Investment Plan.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 22 — impact of Defence Investment Plan delays

22 June 2026 · Division 35

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should publish an assessment of the impact of delays to the Defence Investment Plan.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 11 — ECHR derogation for overseas operations

22 June 2026 · Division 34

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Secretary of State should be required to authorise an ECHR derogation for significant overseas military operations.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 4 — settlement fee waiver for service families

22 June 2026 · Division 33

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to waive indefinite-leave-to-remain fees for spouses or children of serving or former armed forces members who had served for four or more years.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted No
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

Amendment 12 — sunset extension

8 June 2026 · Division 12

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 12 to prevent the Bill's ‘sunset' on principal transfer powers being extended.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 13 — single living accommodation standards

2 June 2026 · Division 10

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13 to the Armed Forces Bill, which would amend the Renters' Rights Act 2025 to set defence housing standards for single living accommodation.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 6 — ECHR derogation for overseas operations

2 June 2026 · Division 9

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to consider whether to make an ECHR derogation for significant overseas operations under the Human Rights Act 1998.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — immigration application fee waiver

2 June 2026 · Division 8

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to include New Clause 5, which would waive fees for applications for indefinite leave to remain by spouses and dependants of serving or discharged armed forces personnel.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Defence Investment Plan

2 June 2026 · Division 7

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on a new clause that would require the Secretary of State to lay a Defence Investment Plan before both Houses of Parliament within one month of the Act being passed.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Voted No
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Direction of Government

1 September 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Asylum Hotels

13 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 question1 supplementary question

Israeli Settlements: Trade Ban

9 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 intervention

Advanced Manufacturing

2 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 question1 supplementary question

National Maternity and Neonatal Investigation

30 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question
View 5 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Cancer: Medical Treatments

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 24545

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, what assessment she has made of the risks to patients arising from the promotion and sale online of ivermectin and other unlicensed or unproven products as treatments for cancer; and what steps the

Children: Maintenance

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department for Work and Pensions · UIN 24547

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions, what estimate he has made of the value of child maintenance arrears that the Child Maintenance Service has been unable to recover in each of the last five years; and what steps he is taking to improve r

Health: Disinformation

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport · UIN 24546

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, what assessment she has made of the adequacy of the Online Safety Act 2023 in protecting adults with serious long-term health conditions from harmful health misinformation online, includ

Motor Vehicles: Noise

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department for Transport · UIN 24548

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, what assessment she has made of the effectiveness of the enforcement of regulations prohibiting modification of a motor vehicle exhaust system so as to increase noise; and whether she plans to introduce further

Armed Conflict: Humanitarian Aid

Tabled 25 August 2026 · Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office · UIN 901112

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs, what steps he is taking to help improve humanitarian conditions in fragile and conflict-affected states.

View answer · 1 September 2026

Answered by: Kirsty McNeill

We are prioritising our country and regional Official Development Assistance where humanitarian needs are most acute – to reach those in greatest need and reduce the harm caused by violence and atrocities. We expect to spend £1.4 billion a year over the n...

View 15 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

Retirement of Godfrey Asare and Margaret Labulo from the Members' Tea Room

EDM 617 · Tabled 15 July 2026 · 38 signatures

John MacDonald’s fundraising walk for Men Matter Scotland

EDM 612 · Tabled 14 July 2026 · 7 signatures

View 25 more Early Day Motions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Glasgow South West is a constituency in Scotland. The seat has been held by Dr Zubir Ahmed (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Glasgow South West Glasgow West Glasgow North Glasgow South East Renfrewshire Mid Dunbartonshire Paisley and Renfrewshire North Glasgow North East Glasgow East Rutherglen Paisley and Renfrewshire South West Dunbartonshire Coatbridge and Bellshill Kilmarnock and Loudoun East Kilbride and Strathaven Cumbernauld and Kirkintilloch Hamilton and Clyde Valley Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West Airdrie and Shotts Falkirk Motherwell, Wishaw and Carluke Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale North Ayrshire and Arran Argyll, Bute and South Lochaber Scotland
Glasgow South West Labour

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Gain
Majority3,285
Turnout51.8%35,669 votes cast
Electorate68,871

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top