← Back to MPs

MP profile

Kim Johnson MP

Labour · Liverpool Riverside

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Party
Labour
MP since
2019
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

Constituency office

Liverpool Riverside Office
Kuumba Imani Millenium Centre
4 Princes Road
Liverpool
L8 1TH

Parliamentary office

House of Commons
London
SW1A 0AA

The phone number provided is for the UK Parliament Contact Centre. When you call, a member of the team will attempt to put you through to the Member's office.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

No current committee memberships recordedin Parliament's current Biography record
1 representation · 8 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Liverpool Riverside

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Liverpool, Riverside

Previous committee memberships

  • Commonwealth Parliamentary Association and International Committee of the Red Cross (Status) Bill
  • Home Affairs Committee
  • Skills and Post-16 Education [HL] Bill
  • Animal Welfare (Kept Animals) Bill
  • Education (Careers Guidance in Schools) Bill
  • Speaker's Advisory Committee on Works of Art
  • Education Committee
  • Women and Equalities Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests7
Categories represented3
Published GBP values2

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salaryGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £938 — Gifts / hospitality · Randox Laboratories Ltd - £938.00
  2. £376.30 — Gifts / hospitality · Everton Football Club Limited - £376.30

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources2

Everton Football Club Limited - £376.30

Registered 11 May 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two tickets and hospitality for Everton FC vs Manchester City FC
Value
£376.30
Received Date
2026-05-04
Accepted Date
2026-05-04
Received End Date
2026-05-04
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Everton Football Club Limited
Donor Public Address
Hill Dickinson Stadium Bramley Moore Dock Regent Road Liverpool L3 0AP
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Everton Football Club Limited
Donor Company Identifier
00036624
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Randox Laboratories Ltd - £938.00

Registered 5 May 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Hospitality for me and a guest at the Grand National
Value
£938
Received Date
2026-04-11
Accepted Date
2026-04-11
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Randox Laboratories Ltd
Donor Public Address
55 Diamond Road, Crumlin, Co. Antrim BT29 4QY
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Randox Laboratories Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
NI015738
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Visits outside the UK1

International visit to Ghana between 28 July 2025 and 03 August 2025

Registered 9 September 2025

Country
Ghana
Purpose
Malaria No More visit to Ghana to see in person some of the lifesaving work and scientific research being carried out by partners who receive funding from the UK.
Start Date
2025-07-28
End Date
2025-08-03
Name
Malaria No More UK
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
85 Great Portland Street, First Floor, London W1W 7LT
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Flights (£2337.62), hotel (£1320.70),internal transport - vehicle hire (£357), internal transport - Fuel & driver (£478.61), food 2 meals per day for 4 days (£200) and visa (£60)
Value
£4,753.93
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Name
Innovative Vector Control Consortium (IVCC)
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, Pembroke Place, Liverpool, Merseyside L3 5QA.
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Meals, 2 per day for 1 day
Value
£150
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Miscellaneous4

A Member of the British Group Inter-Parliamentary Union Executive Committee. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 20 November 2023

Arose On
2022-11-30
Description
A Member of the British Group Inter-Parliamentary Union Executive Committee. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Trustee of the Royal Court Theatre, Liverpool. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 26 April 2022

Arose On
2022-04-08
End Date
2025-02-21
Description
Trustee of the Royal Court Theatre, Liverpool. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Voluntary Board Member of SQUASH, Liverpool, a community interest company based in the Liverpool Riverside constituency (a creative food enterprise to empower and enable social change). This is an unpaid role.

Registered 6 January 2020

End Date
2025-11-06
Description
Voluntary Board Member of SQUASH, Liverpool, a community interest company based in the Liverpool Riverside constituency (a creative food enterprise to empower and enable social change). This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Member of the Liverpool City Region Freeport Board. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 22 April 2022

Arose On
2022-04-11
End Date
2024-09-27
Description
Member of the Liverpool City Region Freeport Board. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted Aye
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 3 — safe disclosure to inquiries

14 July 2026 · Division 56

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether public authorities or officials assisting an inquiry, investigation or inquest should have to demonstrate that relevant people can safely disclose information.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 43

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted No
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

Amendment 12 — sunset extension

8 June 2026 · Division 12

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 12 to prevent the Bill's ‘sunset' on principal transfer powers being extended.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill

Second Reading

21 May 2026 · Division 6

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill should receive a Second Reading and continue to its next stage in Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Voted No
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Waste Management Sites

15 July 2026 · House of Commons · Westminster Hall

1 intervention

Public Office (Accountability) Bill

14 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech

Immigration and Asylum Bill

13 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 intervention

Civil Service Pensions

6 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

National Security (State Threats) Bill

6 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 intervention
View 7 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Affordable Housing

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government · UIN 22007

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government, what steps she has taken to encourage the fast-tracking of applications with 100% affordable homes.

Affordable Housing

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government · UIN 22006

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government, what steps she is taking to support smaller providers to access land to deliver affordable housing.

Asylum: Health Services

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Home Office · UIN 22005

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, what discussions she has had with the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care on improving coordination between asylum dispersal decisions and continuity of NHS care.

Citizenship: Education

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department for Education · UIN 22008

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, with reference to the Schools White Paper, what progress her Department has made on further embedding education on legal rights, the justice system and the rule of law across the school curriculum, including th

Health Services: Asylum

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 22004

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, what estimate her Department has made of the annual cost to the NHS arising from duplicated referrals, repeated diagnostic investigations and missed outpatient appointments associated with asylum s

View 67 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

50th Anniversary of the Grunwick Strike

EDM 762 · Tabled 7 September 2026 · 11 signatures

Radiotherapy road map to improved cancer treatment plan

EDM 747 · Tabled 3 September 2026 · 6 signatures

Funding of Jodrell Bank Observatory

EDM 680 · Tabled 1 September 2026 · 18 signatures

Right to independent advocacy for care home residents

EDM 661 · Tabled 1 September 2026 · 10 signatures

View 68 more Early Day Motions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Liverpool Riverside is a constituency in the North West region of England. The seat has been held by Kim Johnson (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Liverpool Riverside Liverpool Wavertree Bootle Liverpool Walton Liverpool West Derby Birkenhead Liverpool Garston Ellesmere Port and Bromborough Knowsley Wirral West Wallasey Sefton Central West Lancashire Widnes and Halewood Runcorn and Helsby St Helens South and Whiston St Helens North Makerfield Clwyd East England
Liverpool Riverside Labour

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Hold
Majority14,793
Turnout45.4%32,381 votes cast
Electorate71,380

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top