← Back to MPs

MP profile

Alex Burghart MP

Conservative · Brentwood and Ongar

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Party
Conservative
MP since
2017
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Current roles
  • Opposition roleShadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

    Cabinet Office · Since 5 November 2024

  • Opposition roleShadow Secretary of State for Northern Ireland

    Northern Ireland Office · Since 8 July 2024

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

No current committee memberships recordedin Parliament's current Biography record
1 representation · 3 government posts · 6 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Brentwood and Ongar
Constituency boundaries changed in 2024. Parliament records the current constituency separately from the constituency that existed before the 2024 General Election, even where the constituency name remained the same.

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Conservative
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Brentwood and Ongar

Previous government posts

  • Parliamentary Secretary (Cabinet Office)
  • Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Work and Pensions)
  • Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Education)

Previous committee memberships

  • Procurement Bill [HL]
  • Pension Dashboards (Prohibition of Indemnification) Bill
  • Skills and Post-16 Education [HL] Bill
  • Education (Careers Guidance in Schools) Bill
  • Human Rights (Joint Committee)
  • Work and Pensions Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests6
Categories represented4
Published GBP values8

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salaryEmployment / earningsSupport for MP activitiesGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £3,000 — Support for MP activities · IPGL Ltd - £3,000.00
  2. £2,302 — Gifts / hospitality · Cliveden Literary Festival - £2,302.00
  3. £2,000 — Support for MP activities · David Robert Meller - £2,000.00
  4. £1,500 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 26 September 2025 - £1,500.00
  5. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 17 April 2026 - £1,000.00
  6. £350 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 31 July 2025 - £350.00
  7. £200 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 28 February 2025 - £200.00
  8. £200 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 30 April 2025 - £200.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Employment and earnings2

Speaking engagement - Primary Access & Research Limited

Registered 30 September 2025

Job Title
Speaking engagement
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
Primary Access & Research Limited
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Nature Of Business
Political analysis
Payer Public Address
22 Friars Street, Sudbury, Suffolk CO10 2AA
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 17 April 2026 - £1,000.00

Registered 29 April 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-04-17
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Paid for a speaking engagement.
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
3.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 26 September 2025 - £1,500.00

Registered 30 September 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-09-26
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,500
Hours worked
4.50
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Writing reviews - The Spectator

Registered 1 September 2025

Job Title
Writing reviews
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
The Spectator
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Public Address
22 Old Queen Street, London SW1H 9HP
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 31 July 2025 - £350.00

Registered 1 September 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-07-31
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£350
Hours worked
10.00
Hours details
estimate
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 30 April 2025 - £200.00

Registered 1 September 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-04-30
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£200
Hours worked
10.00
Hours details
estimate
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 28 February 2025 - £200.00

Registered 1 September 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-02-28
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£200
Hours worked
10.00
Hours details
estimated
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No
Donations and other support (including loans) for activities as an MP2

David Robert Meller - £2,000.00

Registered 7 September 2026

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£2,000
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
David Robert Meller
Donor Status
Individual

IPGL Ltd - £3,000.00

Registered 21 August 2026

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£3,000
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
IPGL Ltd
Donor Public Address
3rd Floor, 39 Sloane Street, London SW1X 9LP
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
IPGL Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
2011009
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources1

Cliveden Literary Festival - £2,302.00

Registered 4 November 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two nights stay for me and my wife and two children at the Literary Festival at which I was speaking (includes dinner both nights)
Value
£2,302
Received Date
2025-10-10
Accepted Date
2025-10-10
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Cliveden Literary Festival
Donor Public Address
SRE Hotels (Cliveden) Ltd 8th Floor South Block, 55 Baker Street, London W1U 8EW
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Cliveden Literary Festival
Donor Company Identifier
07844715
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Visits outside the UK1

International visit to France between 15 January 2026 and 17 January 2026

Registered 11 February 2026

Country
France
Purpose
Attending the Franco-British Colloque 2026 at the Trianon Palace, Versailles, a private forum for facilitating closer and more effective engagement between the UK and France.
Start Date
2026-01-15
End Date
2026-01-17
Name
Franco-British Colloque Ltd
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
Station House, Station Approach, East Horsley, Surrey KT24 6QX
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Food, accommodation and transfers to/from the hotel
Value
£920.80
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted No
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted Aye
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 3 — safe disclosure to inquiries

14 July 2026 · Division 56

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether public authorities or officials assisting an inquiry, investigation or inquest should have to demonstrate that relevant people can safely disclose information.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 22 — impact of Defence Investment Plan delays

22 June 2026 · Division 35

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should publish an assessment of the impact of delays to the Defence Investment Plan.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 13 — self-directed conduct offences

17 June 2026 · Division 31

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on a proposal (Amendment 13) to create new offences for conduct that is self-directed and prepared in relation to a designated body under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted Aye
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted Aye
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 143 — railcard discounts

10 June 2026 · Division 20

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require Great British Railways to continue offering discounted rail fares for UK veterans, armed forces personnel and their families, and for young people aged 26 to 30 under Amendment 143.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 1 — Passengers’ Charter

10 June 2026 · Division 19

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to insert New Clause 1, which would require a “Passengers' Charter” to set standards and improvement plans for rail passenger experience.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 13 — single living accommodation standards

2 June 2026 · Division 10

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13 to the Armed Forces Bill, which would amend the Renters' Rights Act 2025 to set defence housing standards for single living accommodation.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill

Second Reading

21 May 2026 · Division 6

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill should receive a Second Reading and continue to its next stage in Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Voted Aye
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King’s Speech: Amendment (i) — energy security

Amendment (i) — energy security

19 May 2026 · Division 1

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on a Conservative amendment to the King’s Speech motion on energy security.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Rewiring the State

2 September 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Troubles Legacy: Legislation

8 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

2 supplementary questions

Historical Forced Adoption

2 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Northern Ireland Office

29 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech2 interventions

Lord Mandelson Humble Address: Government Response

25 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

2 supplementary questions
View 5 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Bank Notes: Design

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Women and Equalities · UIN 21333

Awaiting answer

To ask the Minister for Women and Equalities, pursuant to the answer of 22 July 2026, to Question 16971, on Bank Notes: Design, if she will place in the Library a copy of the 4 August 2025 correspondence, reference TO2025/12527, released under the Freedom

Emergencies: Mobile Phones

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Cabinet Office · UIN 21332

Awaiting answer

To ask the Minister for the Cabinet Office, with reference to the document, Frequency Asked Questions about Emergency Alerts, published by the Cabinet Office in 2023, what are the latest criteria for use of the Emergency Alert service in relation to (a) l

Emergencies: Mobile Phones

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Cabinet Office · UIN 21331

Awaiting answer

To ask the Minister for the Cabinet Office, with reference to the answer of 24 January 2024, to Question 10668, on Emergencies: Mobile Phones, what is the additional or marginal cost to the public purse of issuing a nationwide Emergency Alert.

Emergencies: Mobile Phones

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Cabinet Office · UIN 21330

Awaiting answer

To ask the Minister for the Cabinet Office, with reference to the answer of 24 January 2024, to Question 10668, on Emergencies: Mobile Phones, what is the cost to the public purse in the Emergency Alerts system over the 2026 to 2029 period.

Emergencies: Mobile Phones

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Cabinet Office · UIN 21329

Awaiting answer

To ask the Minister for the Cabinet Office, with reference to the answer of 27 January 2025, to Question 25755, on Emergencies: Mobile Phones, whether there will be an evaluation report produced for the use of the UK Emergency Alert service on 14 August 2

View 188 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Brentwood and Ongar is a constituency in the East of England region of England. The seat has been held by Alex Burghart (Conservative) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Brentwood and Ongar Romford Hornchurch and Upminster Harlow Dagenham and Rainham Thurrock Basildon and Billericay Ilford South Epping Forest Ilford North Barking South Basildon and East Thurrock Chelmsford Hertford and Stortford Erith and Thamesmead Bexleyheath and Crayford Dartford East Ham West Ham and Beckton North West Essex Chingford and Woodford Green Leyton and Wanstead Old Bexley and Sidcup Walthamstow Greenwich and Woolwich Broxbourne Gravesham Stratford and Bow Eltham and Chislehurst Castle Point Poplar and Limehouse Enfield North Edmonton and Winchmore Hill Rayleigh and Wickford Tottenham Orpington Hackney North and Stoke Newington Bethnal Green and Stepney Lewisham East Hackney South and Shoreditch Lewisham North Sevenoaks Rochester and Strood Bermondsey and Old Southwark Braintree Peckham Islington South and Finsbury Southgate and Wood Green Lewisham West and East Dulwich Bromley and Biggin Hill Islington North Hornsey and Friern Barnet Beckenham and Penge Chatham and Aylesford North East Hertfordshire Maldon Vauxhall and Camberwell Green Tonbridge Cities of London and Westminster Holborn and St Pancras Dulwich and West Norwood Southend West and Leigh Southend East and Rochford Croydon East Gillingham and Rainham Hampstead and Highgate Clapham and Brixton Hill Streatham and Croydon North Croydon West Finchley and Golders Green Battersea Chipping Barnet Witham Welwyn Hatfield Kensington and Bayswater Tooting Queen's Park and Maida Vale Chelsea and Fulham Mitcham and Morden Stevenage Hendon Croydon South Brent East Carshalton and Wallington Hertsmere Putney Hammersmith and Chiswick Wimbledon Ealing Central and Acton Sutton and Cheam Brent West Harrow East Richmond Park St Albans Hitchin Kingston and Surbiton Harrow West Sittingbourne and Sheppey Brentford and Isleworth Ealing North Ealing Southall Epsom and Ewell Twickenham Watford Colchester Luton South and South Bedfordshire Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner Esher and Walton Uxbridge and South Ruislip South West Hertfordshire Feltham and Heston Hayes and Harlington Luton North Harpenden and Berkhamsted South Suffolk Hemel Hempstead Harwich and North Essex Spelthorne Runnymede and Weybridge Mid Bedfordshire Beaconsfield Chesham and Amersham Slough Windsor Dunstable and Leighton Buzzard Aylesbury Clacton Surrey Heath Herne Bay and Sandwich England
Brentwood and Ongar Conservative

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyConservativeCon Hold
Majority5,980
Turnout64.1%48,332 votes cast
Electorate75,352

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top