← Back to MPs

MP profile

Jess Phillips MP

Labour · Birmingham Yardley

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
Birmingham Yardley
Party
Labour
MP since
2015
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

No current committee memberships recordedin Parliament's current Biography record
1 representation · 1 government post · 1 opposition post · 15 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Birmingham Yardley

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Birmingham, Yardley

Previous government posts

  • Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Home Office)

Previous opposition posts

  • Shadow Minister (Domestic Violence and Safeguarding)

Previous committee memberships

  • Crime and Policing Bill
  • Education Committee
  • Building Societies Act 1986 (Amendment) Bill
  • Criminal Justice Bill
  • Victims and Prisoners Bill
  • Protection from Sex-based Harassment in Public Bill
  • Child Support Collection (Domestic Abuse) Bill
  • National Security Bill
  • Local Government (Disqualification) Bill
  • Backbench Business Committee
  • Women and Equalities Committee
  • Commons Reference Group on Representation and Inclusion
  • Backbench Business Committee
  • Backbench Business Committee
  • Women and Equalities Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests10
Categories represented3
Published GBP values7

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salaryEmployment / earningsGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £1,640 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 01 August 2026 - £1,640.00
  2. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 25 August 2026 - £1,000.00
  3. £600 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 16 October 2025 - £600.00
  4. £600 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 16 October 2025 - £600.00
  5. £365.92 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 12 February 2026 - £365.92
  6. £298 — Gifts / hospitality · Birmingham Hippodrome Theatre - £298.00
  7. £204 — Gifts / hospitality · Birmingham Hippodrome Theatre - £204.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Employment and earnings6

Podcast appearance - United Agents

Registered 26 August 2026

Job Title
Podcast appearance
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
United Agents
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Public Address
12-26 Lexington Street, London W1F 0LE
Has Sought Acoba Advice
Yes
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 01 August 2026 - £1,640.00

Registered 27 August 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-08-01
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,640
Hours worked
2.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
Yes
Ultimate Payer Name
Sky News Ltd
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Ultimate Payer Address
Grant Way, Isleworth, TW7 5QD
Is Payment Donated
No

Media Appearance - LBC

Registered 26 August 2026

Job Title
Media Appearance
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
LBC
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Public Address
30 Leicester Square, London WC2H 7LA
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 25 August 2026 - £1,000.00

Registered 26 August 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-08-25
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
4.00
Hours details
Presented a three hour long radio show on LBC
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Library copyright fees - Public Lending Right

Job Title
Library copyright fees
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
Public Lending Right
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Public Address
British Library, Boston Spa, Wetherby LS23 7BQ
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 12 February 2026 - £365.92

Registered 13 February 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-02-12
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£365.92
Hours worked
0.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Royalties

Job Title
Royalties
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
Authors' Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS)
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Nature Of Business
Collection of copyright payments for authors
Payer Public Address
6th Floor, International House, 1 St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1UN
Has Sought Acoba Advice
No

Writing articles

Job Title
Writing articles
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
Guardian News & Media Ltd
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Public Address
Kings Place, 90 York Way, London N1P 2AP
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 16 October 2025 - £600.00

Registered 29 October 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-10-16
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
This is a copyright payment for an article I wrote in 2018
Value
£600
Hours worked
0.00
Hours details
No extra hours worked
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 16 October 2025 - £600.00

Registered 16 October 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-10-16
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Payment for copywrite fees of an article written in 2018, which the Guardian have syndicated
Value
£600
Hours worked
0.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Writing books - United Agents

Job Title
Writing books
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
United Agents
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Public Address
Lexington House, 12-26 Lexington St, Soho, London W1F 0LE
Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources2

Birmingham Hippodrome Theatre - £204.00

Registered 6 November 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two theatre tickets for my husband and I
Value
£204
Received Date
2025-07-18
Accepted Date
2025-07-18
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Birmingham Hippodrome Theatre
Donor Public Address
Hurst Street, Birmingham B5 4TB
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Birmingham Hippodrome Theatre
Donor Company Identifier
01446309
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Birmingham Hippodrome Theatre - £298.00

Registered 6 November 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two theatre tickets for my husband and I for press night
Value
£298
Received Date
2025-10-16
Accepted Date
2025-10-16
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Birmingham Hippodrome Theatre
Donor Public Address
Hurst Street, Birmingham B5 4TB
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Birmingham Hippodrome Theatre
Donor Company Identifier
01446309
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Miscellaneous2

A director of Birmingham Museums Trust which manages Birmingham Museums including a site in my constituency. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 18 September 2023

Arose On
2023-07-26
Description
A director of Birmingham Museums Trust which manages Birmingham Museums including a site in my constituency. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

A trustee of the Stacy Wanjiku Welfare Trust. Having raised money for the education and welfare of Stacey Wanjiru I am a trustee of the fund. Stacey is the daughter of Agnes Wanjiru a Kenyan woman murdered in 2012 in a case linked to British Armed Forces. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 24 March 2022

Arose On
2022-03-16
Description
A trustee of the Stacy Wanjiku Welfare Trust. Having raised money for the education and welfare of Stacey Wanjiru I am a trustee of the fund. Stacey is the daughter of Agnes Wanjiru a Kenyan woman murdered in 2012 in a case linked to British Armed Forces. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted Aye
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 43

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Defence spending and readiness — Prime Minister’s amendment

Defence spending and readiness — Prime Minister’s amendment

23 June 2026 · Division 38

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion on Defence spending and readiness - Prime Minister's Amendment.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted No
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Voted No
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Immigration and Asylum Bill

13 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 intervention

Prisoner Early Release

29 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Social Media Ban for Under-16s

15 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Legacy of Jo Cox

11 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech2 interventions

Topical Questions

8 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question
View 1 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

No written questions are currently stored within this coverage period.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

No supported Early Day Motions are currently stored within this coverage period.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Birmingham Yardley is a constituency in the West Midlands region of England. The seat has been held by Jess Phillips (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Birmingham Yardley Birmingham Hodge Hill and Solihull North Solihull West and Shirley Birmingham Hall Green and Moseley Birmingham Erdington Birmingham Ladywood Sutton Coldfield Meriden and Solihull East Birmingham Perry Barr Birmingham Selly Oak Birmingham Edgbaston Birmingham Northfield Smethwick West Bromwich North Warwickshire and Bedworth Bromsgrove Tipton and Wednesbury Halesowen Coventry North West Nuneaton Coventry South Hinckley and Bosworth Kenilworth and Southam England
Birmingham Yardley Labour

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Hold
Majority693
Turnout49.4%36,144 votes cast
Electorate73,203

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top