← Back to MPs

MP profile

Andy McDonald MP

Labour · Middlesbrough and Thornaby East

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Party
Labour
MP since
2012
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

Constituency office

1st Floor Offices, Unite House
Fry Street
TS1 1HA

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

No current committee memberships recordedin Parliament's current Biography record
1 representation · 2 party affiliations · 3 opposition posts · 5 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Middlesbrough and Thornaby East

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Middlesbrough

Previous party affiliations

  • Independent
  • Labour

Previous opposition posts

  • Shadow Secretary of State for Employment Rights
  • Shadow Secretary of State for Transport
  • Shadow Minister (Transport)

Previous committee memberships

  • Lifelong Learning (Higher Education Fee Limits) Bill
  • Business and Trade Sub-Committee on National Security and Investment
  • Business and Trade Committee
  • Justice Committee
  • Justice Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests4
Categories represented2
Published GBP values3

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salaryGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £1,250 — Gifts / hospitality · Middlesbrough Football & Athletic Company (1986) Ltd - £1,250.00
  2. £250 — Gifts / hospitality · Middlesbrough Football & Athletic Company (1986) Ltd - £250.00
  3. £250 — Gifts / hospitality · Middlesbrough Football & Athletic Company (1986) Ltd - £250.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources3

Middlesbrough Football & Athletic Company (1986) Ltd - £1,250.00

Registered 15 June 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two tickets, including hospitality, for the Hull City v Middlesbrough football match at Wembley Stadium (estimated amount)
Value
£1,250
Received Date
2026-05-23
Accepted Date
2026-05-23
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Middlesbrough Football & Athletic Company (1986) Ltd
Donor Public Address
Riverside Stadium, Middlesbrough TS3 6RS
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Middlesbrough Football & Athletic Company (1986) Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
01947851
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Middlesbrough Football & Athletic Company (1986) Ltd - £250.00

Registered 8 June 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two tickets to the Southampton vs Middlesbrough football match, including hospitality (the amount is estimated)
Value
£250
Received Date
2026-05-12
Accepted Date
2026-05-12
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Middlesbrough Football & Athletic Company (1986) Ltd
Donor Public Address
Riverside Stadium, Middlesbrough TS3 6RS
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Middlesbrough Football & Athletic Company (1986) Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
01947851
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Middlesbrough Football & Athletic Company (1986) Ltd - £250.00

Registered 8 June 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two tickets to the Middlesbrough vs Southampton match, including hospitality (the amount is estimated)
Value
£250
Received Date
2026-05-09
Accepted Date
2026-05-09
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Middlesbrough Football & Athletic Company (1986) Ltd
Donor Public Address
Riverside Stadium, Middlesbrough TS3 6RS
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Middlesbrough Football & Athletic Company (1986) Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
01947851
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Miscellaneous1

Solicitor (not currently employed as such).

Registered 28 December 2012

Description
Solicitor (not currently employed as such).
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Other
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted Aye
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted No
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

Amendment 12 — sunset extension

8 June 2026 · Division 12

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 12 to prevent the Bill's ‘sunset' on principal transfer powers being extended.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Voted No
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Direction of Government

1 September 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Policing in Cleveland

1 September 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Public Office (Accountability) Bill

14 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech

Israeli Settlements: Trade Ban

9 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech1 intervention

Timms Review: Interim Report

9 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question
View 10 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Department for Education: Artificial Intelligence

Tabled 13 July 2026 · Department for Education · UIN 18014

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, whether the Department maintains a public register or internal inventory of automated decision-making systems; and whether it plans to publish such information.

View answer · 3 August 2026

Answered by: Paul Waugh

The department does not use automated decision-making systems to make, or support the making of, decisions relating to staff, citizens or recruitment where outcomes are determined without meaningful human involvement. Similarly, the department does not us...

Department for Education: Artificial Intelligence

Tabled 13 July 2026 · Department for Education · UIN 18012

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, what steps has her Department taken to assess and mitigate risks of bias or discrimination arising from the use of automated decision-making systems.

View answer · 3 August 2026

Answered by: Paul Waugh

The department does not use automated decision-making systems to make, or support the making of, decisions relating to staff, citizens or recruitment where outcomes are determined without meaningful human involvement. Similarly, the department does not us...

Department for Education: Artificial Intelligence

Tabled 13 July 2026 · Department for Education · UIN 18011

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, what recent discussions she has had with trade union representatives on the introduction or use of automated decision-making systems affecting staff.

View answer · 3 August 2026

Answered by: Paul Waugh

The department does not use automated decision-making systems to make, or support the making of, decisions relating to staff, citizens or recruitment where outcomes are determined without meaningful human involvement. Similarly, the department does not us...

Department for Education: Artificial Intelligence

Tabled 13 July 2026 · Department for Education · UIN 18010

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, to what extent are automated decision-making systems used in relation to civil service employment, including recruitment, performance management, discipline, or allocation of work.

View answer · 3 August 2026

Answered by: Paul Waugh

The department does not use automated decision-making systems to make, or support the making of, decisions relating to staff, citizens or recruitment where outcomes are determined without meaningful human involvement. Similarly, the department does not us...

Department for Education: Artificial Intelligence

Tabled 13 July 2026 · Department for Education · UIN 18009

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, given the passage of the Data (Use and Access) Act 2025 what measures are in place to ensure that human oversight is substantive and effective, rather than limited to formal or nominal review.

View answer · 3 August 2026

Answered by: Paul Waugh

The department does not use automated decision-making systems to make, or support the making of, decisions relating to staff, citizens or recruitment where outcomes are determined without meaningful human involvement. Similarly, the department does not us...

View 70 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

Treatment of security staff employed at the National Gallery

EDM 668 · Tabled 1 September 2026 · 10 signatures

Deaths of PC Matthew Blades and PC Tom Clough

EDM 708 · Tabled 1 September 2026 · 44 signatures

30th anniversary of Maggie's Cancer Care

EDM 726 · Tabled 1 September 2026 · 6 signatures

View 41 more Early Day Motions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Middlesbrough and Thornaby East is a constituency in the North East region of England. The seat has been held by Andy McDonald (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Middlesbrough and Thornaby East Stockton North Hartlepool Stockton West Redcar Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland Newton Aycliffe and Spennymoor Darlington Scarborough and Whitby Richmond and Northallerton England
Middlesbrough and Thornaby East Labour

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Hold
Majority9,192
Turnout45.8%34,407 votes cast
Electorate75,123

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top