← Back to MPs

MP profile

Lucy Powell MP

Labour (Co-op) · Manchester Central

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
Manchester Central
Party
Labour (Co-op)
MP since
2012
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Current roles
  • Government roleSecretary of State for Education

    Department for Education · Since 20 July 2026

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

No current committee memberships recordedin Parliament's current Biography record
1 representation · 1 government post · 8 opposition posts · 12 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Manchester Central
Constituency boundaries changed in 2024. Parliament records the current constituency separately from the constituency that existed before the 2024 General Election, even where the constituency name remained the same.

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Manchester Central

Previous government posts

  • Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Commons

Previous opposition posts

  • Shadow Leader of the House of Commons
  • Shadow Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
  • Shadow Secretary of State for Housing
  • Shadow Secretary of State for Housing
  • Shadow Minister (Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy)
  • Shadow Secretary of State for Education
  • Shadow Minister for the Cabinet Office
  • Shadow Minister (Education)

Previous committee memberships

  • Public Accounts Commission
  • Speaker's Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority
  • Modernisation Committee
  • Members Estimate Committee
  • Speaker's Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority
  • Restoration and Renewal Client Board
  • House of Commons Commission
  • Members Estimate Committee
  • Restoration and Renewal Programme Board
  • Education Committee
  • Education Committee
  • Transport Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests13
Categories represented4
Published GBP values11

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salarySupport for MP activitiesGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £50,000 — Support for MP activities · Playscan Limited - £50,000.00
  2. £20,000 — Support for MP activities · Small Axe Communications Ltd - £20,000.00
  3. £15,000 — Support for MP activities · Ecotricity Group Ltd - £15,000.00
  4. £10,000 — Support for MP activities · Martin Taylor - £10,000.00
  5. £10,000 — Support for MP activities · Ivy Business Centre Ltd - £10,000.00
  6. £6,000 — Support for MP activities · Sean Wadsworth - £6,000.00
  7. £5,016 — Gifts / hospitality · BPI (British Recorded Music Industry) Ltd - £5,016.00
  8. £5,000 — Support for MP activities · Theodore Caplan - £5,000.00
  9. £900 — Gifts / hospitality · The Football League Ltd - £900.00
  10. £858 — Gifts / hospitality · PRS for Music Limited - £858.00
  11. £580 — Gifts / hospitality · The Football Association Ltd - £580.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Donations and other support (including loans) for activities as an MP7

Playscan Limited - £50,000.00

Registered 22 January 2026

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Donation made directly to the Labour Party for the provision of staff costs to support my role and office as Deputy Leader of the Labour Party.
Value
£50,000
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Playscan Limited
Donor Public Address
222 Alcester Road, Moseley, Birmingham B13 8EY
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Playscan Limited
Donor Company Identifier
01966393
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Theodore Caplan - £5,000.00

Registered 28 October 2025

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
for my campaign to become the Deputy Leader of the Labour Party
Value
£5,000
Received Date
2025-10-16
Accepted Date
2025-10-16
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Theodore Caplan
Donor Status
Individual

Small Axe Communications Ltd - £20,000.00

Registered 28 October 2025

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
In kind donation of staff time, for communications and administrative services in relation to my campaign to become the Deputy Leader of the Labour Party. In addition to paid for services between 29 September 2025 and 24 October 2025
Value
£20,000
Received Date
2025-09-29
Accepted Date
2025-09-29
Received End Date
2025-10-24
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Small Axe Communications Ltd
Donor Public Address
Office 1, The Warehouse, Anchor Quay, Penryn, Cornwall TR10 8GZ
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Small Axe Communications Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
07877552
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Ivy Business Centre Ltd - £10,000.00

Registered 28 October 2025

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
for my campaign to become the Deputy Leader of the Labour Party
Value
£10,000
Received Date
2025-10-10
Accepted Date
2025-10-10
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Ivy Business Centre Ltd
Donor Public Address
Ivy Mill Crown Street, Failsworth, Manchester M35 9BG
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Ivy Business Centre Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
08046145
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Sean Wadsworth - £6,000.00

Registered 13 October 2025

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
to my campaign to become the Deputy Leader of the Labour Party
Value
£6,000
Received Date
2025-09-15
Accepted Date
2025-09-15
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Sean Wadsworth
Donor Status
Individual

Ecotricity Group Ltd - £15,000.00

Registered 10 October 2025

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
to my campaign to become the Deputy Leader of the Labour Party
Value
£15,000
Received Date
2025-09-24
Accepted Date
2025-09-24
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Ecotricity Group Ltd
Donor Public Address
Lion House, Rowcroft, Stroud, Gloucestershire, GL5 3BY
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Ecotricity Group Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
03521776
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Martin Taylor - £10,000.00

Registered 10 October 2025

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
to my campaign to become the Deputy Leader of the Labour Party.
Value
£10,000
Received Date
2025-09-24
Accepted Date
2025-09-24
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Martin Taylor
Donor Status
Individual
Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources4

PRS for Music Limited - £858.00

Registered 25 June 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two tickets and hospitality for me and a guest to attend a music concert, as a guest of PRS for Music at Wembley Stadium
Value
£858
Received Date
2026-06-23
Accepted Date
2026-06-23
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
PRS for Music Limited
Donor Public Address
1st Floor, Golding’s House, 2 Hays Lane, London SE1 2HB
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
PRS for Music Limited
Donor Company Identifier
03444246
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

The Football Association Ltd - £580.00

Registered 26 May 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two tickets with hospitality for me and a guest for the FA Cup Final match between Manchester City v Chelsea
Value
£580
Received Date
2026-05-16
Accepted Date
2026-05-16
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
The Football Association Ltd
Donor Public Address
Wembley Stadium, Wembley, London HA9 0WS
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
The Football Association Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
00077797
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

The Football League Ltd - £900.00

Registered 23 March 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
2 Tickets (myself and a guest) to attend the Carabao Cup Final between Manchester City & Arsenal. The tickets included a hospitality lounge pass for the match
Value
£900
Received Date
2026-03-22
Accepted Date
2026-03-22
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
The Football League Ltd
Donor Public Address
Efl House, 10 - 12 West Cliff, Preston, Lancashire PR1 8HU
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
The Football League Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
00080612
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

BPI (British Recorded Music Industry) Ltd - £5,016.00

Registered 2 March 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
two tickets for me and a guest to the BRIT Awards, held in my constituency of Manchester Central and outside London for the first time in 50 years. The tickets included dinner and drinks, and an arena floor seat. These tickets were not available to buy and were by strict invitation only and extended to me as the constituency MP
Value
£5,016
Received Date
2026-02-28
Accepted Date
2026-02-28
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
BPI (British Recorded Music Industry) Ltd
Donor Public Address
Unit 4/4A, Tileyard Studios, Tileyard Road, London N7 9AH
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
BPI (British Recorded Music Industry) Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
01132389
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Land and property (within or outside the UK)1

Residential in London

Registered 4 September 2015

Start Date
2015-06-01
Is Sole Owner
Yes
Location
London
Property Description
a room in my London flat
Registrable Rental Income
Yes
Rental Income Start Date
2015-06-01
Number Of Properties
1
Is Land
No
Is Any Rental Income Paid To Another Person
No
Country
United Kingdom
Property Type
Residential
Shareholdings1

Shares in New Road Management

Registered 13 December 2012

Shareholding Threshold
(i) Shareholdings: over 15% of issued share capital
Organisation Name
New Road Management
Organisation Description
A property management company
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted Aye
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — goods vehicle VED review

1 July 2026 · Division 48

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 5 to require a Treasury review of the temporary goods vehicle VED (road freight tax) rates and reporting to Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunals Extension of Jurisdiction (England and Wales) (Amendment) Order 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 45

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunals Extension of Jurisdiction (England and Wales) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 13 — self-directed conduct offences

17 June 2026 · Division 31

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on a proposal (Amendment 13) to create new offences for conduct that is self-directed and prepared in relation to a designated body under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 8 — hostile activity planned in the UK

17 June 2026 · Division 30

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should explicitly cover hostile activity that is planned in the UK but carried out outside the UK.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill

Allocation of Time — timetable for further consideration

17 June 2026 · Division 28

No recorded vote
Procedural voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Allocation of Time motion for the National Security (State Threats) Bill, setting the timetable for its further consideration in the House.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

Amendment 12 — sunset extension

8 June 2026 · Division 12

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 12 to prevent the Bill's ‘sunset' on principal transfer powers being extended.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 13 — single living accommodation standards

2 June 2026 · Division 10

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13 to the Armed Forces Bill, which would amend the Renters' Rights Act 2025 to set defence housing standards for single living accommodation.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 6 — ECHR derogation for overseas operations

2 June 2026 · Division 9

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to consider whether to make an ECHR derogation for significant overseas operations under the Human Rights Act 1998.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — immigration application fee waiver

2 June 2026 · Division 8

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to include New Clause 5, which would waive fees for applications for indefinite leave to remain by spouses and dependants of serving or discharged armed forces personnel.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Defence Investment Plan

2 June 2026 · Division 7

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on a new clause that would require the Secretary of State to lay a Defence Investment Plan before both Houses of Parliament within one month of the Act being passed.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill

Second Reading

21 May 2026 · Division 6

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill should receive a Second Reading and continue to its next stage in Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Voted No
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Death of Ann Widdecombe

13 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

No written questions are currently stored within this coverage period.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

No supported Early Day Motions are currently stored within this coverage period.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Manchester Central is a constituency in the North West region of England. The seat has been held by Lucy Powell (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Manchester Central Blackley and Middleton South Ashton-under-Lyne Oldham West, Chadderton and Royton Manchester Rusholme Gorton and Denton Stockport Manchester Withington Bury South Heywood and Middleton North Salford Hazel Grove Stalybridge and Hyde Wythenshawe and Sale East Oldham East and Saddleworth Stretford and Urmston Bury North Bolton South and Walkden Altrincham and Sale West Worsley and Eccles Bolton North East Colne Valley High Peak England
Manchester Central Labour (Co-op)

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Hold
Majority13,797
Turnout46.6%39,725 votes cast
Electorate85,204

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top