← Back to MPs

MP profile

Sir Mel Stride MP

Conservative · Central Devon

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
Central Devon
Party
Conservative
MP since
2010
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

No current committee memberships recordedin Parliament's current Biography record
1 representation · 6 government posts · 1 opposition post · 10 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Central Devon
Constituency boundaries changed in 2024. Parliament records the current constituency separately from the constituency that existed before the 2024 General Election, even where the constituency name remained the same.

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Conservative
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Central Devon

Previous government posts

  • Secretary of State for Work and Pensions
  • Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Commons
  • Financial Secretary to the Treasury and Paymaster General
  • Comptroller (HM Household) (Deputy Chief Whip, House of Commons)
  • Lord Commissioner (HM Treasury) (Whip)
  • Assistant Whip (HM Treasury)

Previous opposition posts

  • Shadow Secretary of State for Work and Pensions

Previous committee memberships

  • Treasury Sub-Committee on Financial Services Regulations
  • Cultural Objects (Protection From Seizure) Bill
  • Liaison Committee (Commons)
  • Treasury Committee
  • Liaison Committee (Commons)
  • Treasury Committee
  • House of Commons Commission
  • Public Accounts Commission
  • Speaker's Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority
  • Northern Ireland Affairs Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests27
Categories represented5
Published GBP values24

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salarySupport for MP activitiesGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £25,000 — Support for MP activities · J. C. Bamford Excavators Limited - £25,000.00
  2. £10,000 — Support for MP activities · Paddy Nicoll - £10,000.00
  3. £10,000 — Support for MP activities · Park Garage Group PLC - £10,000.00
  4. £5,000 — Support for MP activities · Andrew Dawber - £5,000.00
  5. £5,000 — Support for MP activities · Robert Derek Calrow - £5,000.00
  6. £5,000 — Support for MP activities · John Ruskin - £5,000.00
  7. £5,000 — Support for MP activities · David Archer - £5,000.00
  8. £5,000 — Support for MP activities · Susan Green - £5,000.00
  9. £4,000 — Support for MP activities · Graham Edwards - £4,000.00
  10. £2,000 — Support for MP activities · Susan Green - £2,000.00
  11. £2,000 — Support for MP activities · IPGL Limited - £2,000.00
  12. £2,000 — Gifts / hospitality · British Asian Trust - £2,000.00
  13. £1,839 — Gifts / hospitality · Lloyds Banking Group PLC - £1,839.00
  14. £1,514 — Support for MP activities · Joy Dawber - £1,514.00
  15. £1,514 — Support for MP activities · Brechin Investment Ltd - £1,514.00
  16. £1,500 — Support for MP activities · David Archer - £1,500.00
  17. £1,500 — Support for MP activities · Park Garage Group PLC - £1,500.00
  18. £1,483 — Support for MP activities · Andrew Dawber - £1,483.00
  19. £897 — Support for MP activities · Paddy Nicoll - £897.00
  20. £897 — Support for MP activities · Robert Derek Calrow - £897.00
  21. £897 — Support for MP activities · John Ruskin - £897.00
  22. £600 — Gifts / hospitality · The Conservative Party Foundation - £600.00
  23. £550 — Gifts / hospitality · Hakluyt - £550.00
  24. £340 — Gifts / hospitality · Kensington, Bayswater, Chelsea & Fulham Conservatives - £340.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Donations and other support (including loans) for activities as an MP19

J. C. Bamford Excavators Limited - £25,000.00

Registered 20 November 2025

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
for the provision of staff
Value
£25,000
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
J. C. Bamford Excavators Limited
Donor Public Address
Lakeside Works, Rocester, Uttoxeter ST14 5JP
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
J. C. Bamford Excavators Limited
Donor Company Identifier
00561597
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Susan Green - £5,000.00

Registered 10 August 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£5,000
Received Date
2026-07-27
Accepted Date
2026-07-27
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Susan Green
Donor Status
Individual

David Archer - £5,000.00

Registered 29 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£5,000
Received Date
2026-07-06
Accepted Date
2026-07-06
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
David Archer
Donor Status
Individual

Park Garage Group PLC - £10,000.00

Registered 29 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£10,000
Received Date
2026-07-08
Accepted Date
2026-07-08
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Park Garage Group PLC
Donor Public Address
Park Lane, Croydon, England CR0 1JB
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Park Garage Group PLC
Donor Company Identifier
3497029
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

David Archer - £1,500.00

Registered 29 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£1,500
Received Date
2026-01-21
Accepted Date
2026-01-21
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
David Archer
Donor Status
Individual

Park Garage Group PLC - £1,500.00

Registered 29 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£1,500
Received Date
2026-01-26
Accepted Date
2026-01-26
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Park Garage Group PLC
Donor Public Address
Park Lane, Croydon, England CR0 1JB
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Park Garage Group PLC
Donor Company Identifier
03497029
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Robert Derek Calrow - £5,000.00

Registered 15 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£5,000
Received Date
2026-06-17
Accepted Date
2026-06-17
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Robert Derek Calrow
Donor Status
Individual

Robert Derek Calrow - £897.00

Registered 15 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£897
Received Date
2026-02-20
Accepted Date
2026-02-20
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Robert Derek Calrow
Donor Status
Individual

Andrew Dawber - £5,000.00

Registered 8 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£5,000
Received Date
2026-06-17
Accepted Date
2026-06-17
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Andrew Dawber
Donor Status
Individual

John Ruskin - £897.00

Registered 8 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£897
Received Date
2026-02-16
Accepted Date
2026-02-16
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
John Ruskin
Donor Status
Individual

John Ruskin - £5,000.00

Registered 8 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£5,000
Received Date
2026-06-22
Accepted Date
2026-06-22
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
John Ruskin
Donor Status
Individual

Paddy Nicoll - £10,000.00

Registered 19 May 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£10,000
Received Date
2026-04-27
Accepted Date
2026-04-27
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Paddy Nicoll
Donor Status
Individual

Paddy Nicoll - £897.00

Registered 19 May 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£897
Received Date
2026-03-02
Accepted Date
2026-03-02
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Paddy Nicoll
Donor Status
Individual

Brechin Investment Ltd - £1,514.00

Registered 7 May 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£1,514
Received Date
2026-04-10
Accepted Date
2026-04-10
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Brechin Investment Ltd
Donor Public Address
56 The Square, Chagford TQ13 8AE
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Brechin Investment Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
09735057
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Joy Dawber - £1,514.00

Registered 30 April 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£1,514
Received Date
2026-04-07
Accepted Date
2026-04-07
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Joy Dawber
Donor Status
Individual

Andrew Dawber - £1,483.00

Registered 30 April 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£1,483
Received Date
2026-04-07
Accepted Date
2026-04-07
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Andrew Dawber
Donor Status
Individual

IPGL Limited - £2,000.00

Registered 10 February 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£2,000
Received Date
2026-01-21
Accepted Date
2026-01-21
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
IPGL Limited
Donor Public Address
39 Sloane Street, London SW1X 9PL
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
IPGL Limited
Donor Company Identifier
09064598
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Susan Green - £2,000.00

Registered 10 February 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Political activity
Value
£2,000
Received Date
2026-01-21
Accepted Date
2026-01-21
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Susan Green
Donor Status
Individual

Graham Edwards - £4,000.00

Registered 30 September 2025

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Policy research/visits
Value
£4,000
Received Date
2025-09-12
Accepted Date
2025-09-12
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Graham Edwards
Donor Status
Individual
Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources5

Hakluyt - £550.00

Registered 29 June 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two hospitality tickets for me and Lady Stride, to attend the Hakluyt Summer Party 2026
Value
£550
Received Date
2026-06-11
Accepted Date
2026-06-11
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Hakluyt
Donor Public Address
34 Upper Brook Street, London W1K 7QS
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Hakluyt
Donor Company Identifier
03481321
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

British Asian Trust - £2,000.00

Registered 24 June 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two hospitality tickets for me and Lady Stride, to attend the British Asian Trust reception
Value
£2,000
Received Date
2026-06-09
Accepted Date
2026-06-09
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
British Asian Trust
Donor Public Address
Camburgh House, 27 New Dover Road, Canterbury Kent CT1 3DN
Donor Status
Trust
Donor Trust Details
A diaspora-led international development organisation

Lloyds Banking Group PLC - £1,839.00

Registered 26 May 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two tickets including hospitality for myself and Lady Stride, to attend the RHS Chelsea Flower Show
Value
£1,839
Received Date
2026-05-18
Accepted Date
2026-05-18
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Lloyds Banking Group PLC
Donor Public Address
The Mound, Edinburgh EH1 1YZ
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Lloyds Banking Group PLC
Donor Company Identifier
SC095000
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

The Conservative Party Foundation - £600.00

Registered 26 May 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two tickets for myself and Lady Stride to attend The Spring Lunch in support of Conservative Marginal Seats and Women2Win
Value
£600
Received Date
2026-05-20
Accepted Date
2026-05-20
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
The Conservative Party Foundation
Donor Public Address
4 Matthew Parker Street, London SW1H 9HQ
Donor Status
Registered Party

Kensington, Bayswater, Chelsea & Fulham Conservatives - £340.00

Registered 18 December 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two ticekts for myself and Lady Stride to attend a gala fundraising event, where I was also a guest speaker
Value
£340
Received Date
2025-11-24
Accepted Date
2025-11-24
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Kensington, Bayswater, Chelsea & Fulham Conservatives
Donor Public Address
44 Southern Row, London W10 5AN
Donor Status
Registered Party
Visits outside the UK1

International visit to United States between 06 September 2025 and 10 September 2025

Registered 30 September 2025

Country
United States
Purpose
Economic research and business visits
Start Date
2025-09-06
End Date
2025-09-10
Name
Graham Edwards
Is Private Individual
Yes
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Trip to USA and accompanied by Parliamentary Adviser. Donation received 12 September 2025
Value
£11,000
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Shareholdings1

Shares in Venture Marketing Group Ltd

Shareholding Threshold
(i) Shareholdings: over 15% of issued share capital
Organisation Name
Venture Marketing Group Ltd
Organisation Description
Publisher, organiser of exhibitions and conferences
Miscellaneous1

Honorary Fellowship awarded by St Edmund Hall, University of Oxford. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 7 November 2025

Arose On
2025-10-09
Description
Honorary Fellowship awarded by St Edmund Hall, University of Oxford. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted No
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 19 — Attorney General consent for prosecutions

14 July 2026 · Division 58

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether prosecutions for the Bill’s offence of misleading the public should require the consent of the Attorney General.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 3 — safe disclosure to inquiries

14 July 2026 · Division 56

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether public authorities or officials assisting an inquiry, investigation or inquest should have to demonstrate that relevant people can safely disclose information.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 22 — impact of Defence Investment Plan delays

22 June 2026 · Division 35

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should publish an assessment of the impact of delays to the Defence Investment Plan.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 13 — self-directed conduct offences

17 June 2026 · Division 31

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on a proposal (Amendment 13) to create new offences for conduct that is self-directed and prepared in relation to a designated body under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 8 — hostile activity planned in the UK

17 June 2026 · Division 30

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should explicitly cover hostile activity that is planned in the UK but carried out outside the UK.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted Aye
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted Aye
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 1 — Passengers’ Charter

10 June 2026 · Division 19

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to insert New Clause 1, which would require a “Passengers' Charter” to set standards and improvement plans for rail passenger experience.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026

Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026

9 June 2026 · Division 18

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 13 — single living accommodation standards

2 June 2026 · Division 10

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13 to the Armed Forces Bill, which would amend the Renters' Rights Act 2025 to set defence housing standards for single living accommodation.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 6 — ECHR derogation for overseas operations

2 June 2026 · Division 9

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to consider whether to make an ECHR derogation for significant overseas operations under the Human Rights Act 1998.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — immigration application fee waiver

2 June 2026 · Division 8

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to include New Clause 5, which would waive fees for applications for indefinite leave to remain by spouses and dependants of serving or discharged armed forces personnel.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Defence Investment Plan

2 June 2026 · Division 7

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on a new clause that would require the Secretary of State to lay a Defence Investment Plan before both Houses of Parliament within one month of the Act being passed.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (p) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 4

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the Opposition's motion for an Address in response to the King's Speech, regretting the absence of a Defence Readiness Bill and related defence planning commitments.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (l) — defence policy

20 May 2026 · Division 3

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the King's Speech Address debate to express regret that the Gracious Speech did not include a Defence Readiness Bill and to call for specific defence policy actions.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Topical Questions

23 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

2 supplementary questions

Costs for Motorists

21 May 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

2 supplementary questions

Middle East: Economic Response

21 May 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Backing Business to Create Economic Growth

18 May 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Universal Credit

Tabled 13 July 2026 · Department for Work and Pensions · UIN 17978

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions, what proportion of work coach appointments with Universal Credit claimants are conducted a) in person, b) online and c) on the telephone.

View answer · 27 August 2026

Answered by: Sir Stephen Timms

The Department offers a range of appointment channels, including face-to-face, telephone and video appointments and will use the most appropriate channel based on the purpose of the appointment, the claimant’s individual circumstances and the support iden...

Pre-school Education: Expenditure

Tabled 10 July 2026 · Department for Education · UIN 17723

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, what proportion of spending on the Early Learning for 2 year olds scheme is for non-working families.

View answer · 3 August 2026

Answered by: Paul Waugh

Since the introduction of the early learning for two-year-olds (EL2) entitlement the department has collected data on its uptake but does not break this data down by whether or not parents are in working families. Parents may be eligible for EL2 if they a...

Childcare: Fees and Charges

Tabled 9 July 2026 · Department for Education · UIN 17310

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, with reference to her speech to Ruskin College on 8 July 2026, whether the expansion of the 30 hours free childcare entitlement to non-working parents is government policy.

View answer · 4 August 2026

Answered by: Paul Waugh

​As the last government set out when announcing the expansion of government funded childcare in 2023, this aimed to tackle the fact that ‘the employment rate and hours worked by parents, particularly mothers, drops after childbirth and persists until afte...

Childcare: Fees and Charges

Tabled 9 July 2026 · Department for Education · UIN 17309

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, what discussions she has had with Cabinet colleagues on the expansion of the 30 hours free childcare entitlement to non-working parents.

View answer · 4 August 2026

Answered by: Paul Waugh

​As the last government set out when announcing the expansion of government funded childcare in 2023, this aimed to tackle the fact that ‘the employment rate and hours worked by parents, particularly mothers, drops after childbirth and persists until afte...

Childcare: Fees and Charges

Tabled 9 July 2026 · Department for Education · UIN 17308

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, with reference to her speech to Ruskin College on 8 July 2026, what estimate her Department has made of the annual cost to the public purse of extending 30 hours free childcare eligibility to non-working parent

View answer · 4 August 2026

Answered by: Paul Waugh

​As the last government set out when announcing the expansion of government funded childcare in 2023, this aimed to tackle the fact that ‘the employment rate and hours worked by parents, particularly mothers, drops after childbirth and persists until afte...

View 8 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

No supported Early Day Motions are currently stored within this coverage period.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Central Devon is a constituency in the South West region of England. The seat has been held by Sir Mel Stride (Conservative) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Central Devon Exeter Newton Abbot South West Devon Torbay South Devon Exmouth and Exeter East North Devon Torridge and Tavistock Plymouth Moor View Plymouth Sutton and Devonport Tiverton and Minehead Honiton and Sidmouth South East Cornwall Taunton and Wellington Bridgwater North Cornwall Yeovil St Austell and Newquay Weston-super-Mare Wells and Mendip Hills West Dorset Glastonbury and Somerton Truro and Falmouth North East Somerset and Hanham Frome and East Somerset South Dorset Camborne and Redruth North Dorset Mid Dorset and North Poole South West Wiltshire Melksham and Devizes Salisbury St Ives England
Central Devon Conservative

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyConservativeCon Hold
Majority61
Turnout70.9%53,432 votes cast
Electorate75,385

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top