← Back to MPs

MP profile

Barry Gardiner MP

Labour · Brent West

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
Brent West
Party
Labour
MP since
1997
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Current rolesComing up · Today

Parliamentary Calendar

Coming up

Upcoming parliamentary business linked to this MP's current committees and, where available, Bills Parliament records them as proposing or sponsoring.

Committee

Environmental Audit Committee

Progress on climate change mitigation

Updated

Oral evidence · Wednesday 9 September 2026 · 14:00 BST

The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

Committee

Environmental Audit Committee

Air Pollution in England

Oral evidence · Monday 14 September 2026 · 13:45 BST

The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

Committee items show scheduled business for committees the MP currently serves on and do not confirm individual attendance. Bill items are shown only where Parliament's Bills data records this MP as proposer or sponsor and Calendar Core has an official future stage. A scheduled stage does not mean that stage has happened. Future parliamentary business can change.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

1current committee membership
2 representations · 4 government posts · 5 opposition posts · 15 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Brent West

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour

Current committee memberships

Environmental Audit Committee

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Cross-cutting

Member · since 28 October 2024
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Brent North
  • Brent North

Previous government posts

  • Special Envoy for Forestry
  • Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs) (Biodiversity, Landscape and Rural Affairs)
  • Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Trade and Industry) (Delivery and Efficiency)
  • Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Northern Ireland Office)

Previous opposition posts

  • Shadow Minister (Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy) (Energy and Climate Change)
  • Shadow Secretary of State for International Trade
  • Shadow Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change
  • Shadow Minister (Energy and Climate Change)
  • Shadow Minister (Environment, Food and Rural Affairs)

Previous committee memberships

  • Local Government (Pay Accountability) Bill
  • Pensions (Special Rules for End of Life) Bill
  • Zoological Society of London (Leases) Bill
  • Leasehold and Freehold Reform Bill
  • Energy Security and Net Zero Committee
  • Environmental Audit Sub-Committee on Polar Research
  • Public Accounts Committee
  • Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee
  • Environmental Audit Committee
  • Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee
  • Energy and Climate Change Committee
  • Crossrail Bill
  • Consolidation etc. Bills (Joint Committee)
  • Public Accounts Committee
  • Procedure Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests13
Categories represented5
Published GBP values28

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salaryEmployment / earningsGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £3,500 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 05 September 2025 - £3,500.00
  2. £3,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 20 November 2025 - £3,000.00
  3. £1,650 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 15 August 2025 - £1,650.00
  4. £1,350 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 13 February 2026 - £1,350.00
  5. £1,250 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 14 November 2025 - £1,250.00
  6. £1,200 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 12 June 2026 - £1,200.00
  7. £1,150 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 14 August 2026 - £1,150.00
  8. £1,050 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 14 July 2026 - £1,050.00
  9. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 26 August 2025 - £1,000.00
  10. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 29 September 2025 - £1,000.00
  11. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 29 October 2025 - £1,000.00
  12. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 27 November 2025 - £1,000.00
  13. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 15 December 2025 - £1,000.00
  14. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 24 December 2025 - £1,000.00
  15. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 22 January 2026 - £1,000.00
  16. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 25 February 2026 - £1,000.00
  17. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 23 March 2026 - £1,000.00
  18. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 27 April 2026 - £1,000.00
  19. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 21 May 2026 - £1,000.00
  20. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 29 June 2026 - £1,000.00
  21. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 24 July 2026 - £1,000.00
  22. £950 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 30 September 2025 - £950.00
  23. £950 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 18 April 2026 - £950.00
  24. £750 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 12 September 2025 - £750.00
  25. £668.69 — Gifts / hospitality · Environmental Justice Foundation - £668.69
  26. £650 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 16 January 2026 - £650.00
  27. £645 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 16 March 2026 - £645.00
  28. £400 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 18 May 2026 - £400.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Employment and earnings4

speaking and media appearances - MATV Channel

Registered 1 December 2025

Job Title
speaking and media appearances
Start Date
2025-11-20
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
MATV Channel
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Nature Of Business
Television Station
Payer Public Address
Unit 2 & 3 Stanley House, Orchard Close, Wembley HA0 1TZ
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 20 November 2025 - £3,000.00

Registered 1 December 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-11-20
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£3,000
Hours worked
40.00
Hours details
approximate
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Speech on the future of the water industry to the Board of Directors - Castle Water Ltd

Registered 24 September 2025

Job Title
Speech on the future of the water industry to the Board of Directors
Start Date
2025-09-08
End Date
2025-09-09
Is Until Further Notice
Yes
Payer Name
Castle Water Ltd
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Nature Of Business
Water collection and supplier
Payer Public Address
1 Boat Brae, Rattray, Blairgowrie, PH10 7BH
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 05 September 2025 - £3,500.00

Registered 24 September 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-09-05
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Attending Water Conference in Scotland and keynote speaker to the Board
Value
£3,500
Hours worked
36.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Speaking Events on web seminars - Asian Democracy Limited

Registered 12 June 2025

Job Title
Speaking Events on web seminars
Start Date
2025-06-03
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
Asian Democracy Limited
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Nature Of Business
Service activities
Payer Public Address
34 South Molton Street, London W1K 5RG
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 24 July 2026 - £1,000.00

Registered 31 July 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-07-24
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Various speaking events
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
35.00
Hours details
Estimated as research time also needed
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 29 June 2026 - £1,000.00

Registered 6 July 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-06-29
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
20.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 21 May 2026 - £1,000.00

Registered 29 May 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-05-21
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
40.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 27 April 2026 - £1,000.00

Registered 11 May 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-04-27
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
25.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 23 March 2026 - £1,000.00

Registered 31 March 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-03-23
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
various seminars
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
40.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 25 February 2026 - £1,000.00

Registered 4 March 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-02-25
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
20.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 22 January 2026 - £1,000.00

Registered 27 January 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-01-22
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
40.00
Hours details
estimated includes preparation for seminar and speeches
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 24 December 2025 - £1,000.00

Registered 6 January 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-12-24
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
30.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 27 November 2025 - £1,000.00

Registered 1 December 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-11-27
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
25.00
Hours details
estimated
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 29 October 2025 - £1,000.00

Registered 10 November 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-10-29
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
30.00
Hours details
estimated, includes research and speech preparation
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 29 September 2025 - £1,000.00

Registered 10 October 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-09-29
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
30.00
Hours details
Approximate to include speeches
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 26 August 2025 - £1,000.00

Registered 4 September 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-08-26
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
12.00
Hours details
approximate
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Media appearances - GB News

Registered 27 March 2025

Job Title
Media appearances
Start Date
2025-03-14
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
GB News
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Nature Of Business
Television news channel
Payer Public Address
Riverbank House 2 Swan Lane, London EC4R 3TT
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 14 August 2026 - £1,150.00

Registered 24 August 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-08-14
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,150
Hours worked
30.00
Hours details
appearances and approximate research time
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 14 July 2026 - £1,050.00

Registered 21 July 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-07-14
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,050
Hours worked
40.00
Hours details
estimated including research time
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 12 June 2026 - £1,200.00

Registered 15 June 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-06-12
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,200
Hours worked
40.00
Hours details
estimated, this includes research on current news
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 18 May 2026 - £400.00

Registered 29 May 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-05-18
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£400
Hours worked
18.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 18 April 2026 - £950.00

Registered 11 May 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-04-18
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£950
Hours worked
40.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 16 March 2026 - £645.00

Registered 31 March 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-03-16
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
approximate various appearances
Value
£645
Hours worked
30.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 13 February 2026 - £1,350.00

Registered 5 March 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-02-13
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
8 programme appearances
Value
£1,350
Hours worked
40.00
Hours details
estimated including preparation time, travel and appearances
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 16 January 2026 - £650.00

Registered 27 January 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-01-16
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£650
Hours worked
20.00
Hours details
Estimated as time required for research and travel
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 15 December 2025 - £1,000.00

Registered 6 January 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-12-15
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
35.00
Hours details
estimated research time and travel
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 14 November 2025 - £1,250.00

Registered 1 December 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-11-14
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,250
Hours worked
20.00
Hours details
estimated based on research required
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 30 September 2025 - £950.00

Registered 17 October 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-09-30
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Appeared on five programmes
Value
£950
Hours worked
30.00
Hours details
estimated as does not include preparation time
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 12 September 2025 - £750.00

Registered 24 September 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-09-12
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
for programmes I was invited to appear on during August and September 2025
Value
£750
Hours worked
25.00
Hours details
Research on current news items required
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 15 August 2025 - £1,650.00

Registered 4 September 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-08-15
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,650
Hours worked
30.00
Hours details
Estimated and includes in-depth research
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No
Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources1

Environmental Justice Foundation - £668.69

Registered 31 July 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Trip to Lyme Bay Fisheries and Conservation Reserve travel and accommodation provided exact costs
Value
£668.69
Received Date
2026-07-15
Accepted Date
2026-07-15
Received End Date
2026-07-16
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Environmental Justice Foundation
Donor Public Address
2nd Floor Gensurco House, 3-5 Spatfield Street, London EC1R 4QB
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
Registered Charity No 1088128
Visits outside the UK3

International visit to Seychelles between 27 May 2026 and 31 May 2026

Registered 15 June 2026

Country
Seychelles
Purpose
Participate in a Climate Parliament Conference on the renewable energy transition in the Seychelles.
Start Date
2026-05-27
End Date
2026-05-31
Name
Climate Parliament
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
167 - 169 Great Portland Street, 5th Floor, London W1W 5PF
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Flights and accommodation
Value
£1,757.38
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes

International visit to Indonesia between 24 March 2026 and 10 April 2026

Registered 17 April 2026

Country
Indonesia
Purpose
Study of Orangutans orphaned
Start Date
2026-03-24
End Date
2026-04-10
Appg
APPG International Conservation
Name
Borneo Orangutan Survival UK
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
483 Green Lanes, London N13 4BS
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Flights and accommodation
Value
£2,818
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes

International visit to United States between 25 October 2025 and 05 November 2025

Registered 18 November 2025

Country
United States
Destination
Washington
Country
Brazil
Destination
Rio de Janeiro
Purpose
Climate change conferences in Washington and Rio De Janeiro in preparation for COP 30
Start Date
2025-10-25
End Date
2025-11-05
Name
International Conservation Caucus Foundation
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
2nd Floor Parkgates Buoy New Road, Prestwich, Manchester, M25 0TL
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Accommodation Washington (£658)
Value
£658
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Name
Luminary Networks
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
4 Artisan Place, Harrow HA3 5DS
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Return flights UK to Washington (£2,086)
Value
£2,086
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Name
Climate Parliament
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
21 The Cliff, Brighton East Sussex BN2 5RF
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Return flights Washington to Rio De Janeiro (£1394.88), accommodation (£1730)
Value
£3,124.88
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Miscellaneous4

Unremunerated director of GLOBE International AISBL, an international non-profit network devoted to legislative leadership on sustainable development and climate change.

Registered 3 February 2016

Arose On
2016-01-07
Description
Unremunerated director of GLOBE International AISBL, an international non-profit network devoted to legislative leadership on sustainable development and climate change.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

A Member and Director of Together 2030, a company limited by guarantee. The company is a not for profit company and the position is entirely unpaid.

Registered 2 December 2021

Arose On
2021-11-18
Description
A Member and Director of Together 2030, a company limited by guarantee. The company is a not for profit company and the position is entirely unpaid.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Trustee of Climate Parliament, which aims to educate and inform legislators about climate change and policy options for promoting renewable energy. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 28 February 2019

Arose On
2019-02-04
Description
Trustee of Climate Parliament, which aims to educate and inform legislators about climate change and policy options for promoting renewable energy. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

A Member and Director of Stop Fire and Rehire Ltd, a company limited by guarantee set up to manage financial support for my Private Members Bill campaign. The company is a not for profit company and the position is entirely unpaid.

Registered 10 September 2021

Arose On
2021-07-06
Description
A Member and Director of Stop Fire and Rehire Ltd, a company limited by guarantee set up to manage financial support for my Private Members Bill campaign. The company is a not for profit company and the position is entirely unpaid.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role
Family members employed1

Caroline Smith employed

Job Title
Executive Officer
Working Pattern
Part time
Person Name
Caroline Smith
Family Member Relationship Level
Related to member directly
Family Relation Type
Spouse
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

No recorded vote
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 19 — Attorney General consent for prosecutions

14 July 2026 · Division 58

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether prosecutions for the Bill’s offence of misleading the public should require the consent of the Attorney General.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 3 — safe disclosure to inquiries

14 July 2026 · Division 56

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether public authorities or officials assisting an inquiry, investigation or inquest should have to demonstrate that relevant people can safely disclose information.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 13 — self-directed conduct offences

17 June 2026 · Division 31

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on a proposal (Amendment 13) to create new offences for conduct that is self-directed and prepared in relation to a designated body under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 8 — hostile activity planned in the UK

17 June 2026 · Division 30

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should explicitly cover hostile activity that is planned in the UK but carried out outside the UK.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill

Allocation of Time — timetable for further consideration

17 June 2026 · Division 28

No recorded vote
Procedural voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Allocation of Time motion for the National Security (State Threats) Bill, setting the timetable for its further consideration in the House.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 148 — appeals decided on the merits

10 June 2026 · Division 21

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to change the appeals process in the Railways Bill so that the Office of Rail and Road decides appeals on the merits of the case.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 143 — railcard discounts

10 June 2026 · Division 20

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require Great British Railways to continue offering discounted rail fares for UK veterans, armed forces personnel and their families, and for young people aged 26 to 30 under Amendment 143.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 1 — Passengers’ Charter

10 June 2026 · Division 19

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to insert New Clause 1, which would require a “Passengers' Charter” to set standards and improvement plans for rail passenger experience.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026

Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026

9 June 2026 · Division 18

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 12 — financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 16

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 12, which would cap the amount of financial assistance available under the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Act.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

Amendment 12 — sunset extension

8 June 2026 · Division 12

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 12 to prevent the Bill's ‘sunset' on principal transfer powers being extended.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill

Second Reading

21 May 2026 · Division 6

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill should receive a Second Reading and continue to its next stage in Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (p) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 4

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the Opposition's motion for an Address in response to the King's Speech, regretting the absence of a Defence Readiness Bill and related defence planning commitments.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (l) — defence policy

20 May 2026 · Division 3

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the King's Speech Address debate to express regret that the Gracious Speech did not include a Defence Readiness Bill and to call for specific defence policy actions.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Direction of Government

1 September 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Science Facilities and Laboratories

1 September 2026 · House of Commons · Westminster Hall

2 interventions

Business of the House

9 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Commonhold and Leasehold Reform: Managing Agents

2 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech
View 4 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Written question 25952

Tabled 1 September 2026 · Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs · UIN 25952

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, whether she plans to align the UK Air Quality Regulations (2010) with the EU Directive 2024/2881 on ambient air quality.

Written question 25951

Tabled 1 September 2026 · Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs · UIN 25951

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, what are the latest indicative estimates of when each of the UK's 43 reporting zones will become fully compliant with the nitrogen dioxide annual limit value based on DEFRA's national

Written question 25950

Tabled 1 September 2026 · Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs · UIN 25950

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, how many unique site visitors the Alert Bulletin page on the DEFRA UK AIR website received on each of the following dates: 25 May, 27 May, 9 July, 13 August, and 14 August 2026.

Written question 25949

Tabled 1 September 2026 · Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs · UIN 25949

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, how many deaths were attributable to ozone, fine particular matter (PM2.5) and PM10 during each of the heatwaves between May and August 2026 inclusive.

Written question 25948

Tabled 1 September 2026 · Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs · UIN 25948

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, whether consideration was given to sending press releases to news media and weather reporters before each of the following ozone episodes: a) 25 and 27 May, b) 25 June, c) 9 July, and

View 18 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Brent West is a constituency in London, England. The seat has been held by Barry Gardiner (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Brent West Ealing Central and Acton Brent East Harrow East Harrow West Ealing North Hendon Hammersmith and Chiswick Ealing Southall Queen's Park and Maida Vale Brentford and Isleworth Finchley and Golders Green Richmond Park Kensington and Bayswater Chipping Barnet Chelsea and Fulham Hertsmere Hampstead and Highgate Uxbridge and South Ruislip Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner Feltham and Heston Hayes and Harlington Holborn and St Pancras Battersea Hornsey and Friern Barnet Islington North Cities of London and Westminster South West Hertfordshire Southgate and Wood Green Islington South and Finsbury Vauxhall and Camberwell Green Tottenham Hackney North and Stoke Newington Hackney South and Shoreditch Bermondsey and Old Southwark Edmonton and Winchmore Hill Peckham Beaconsfield Windsor Chesham and Amersham England
Brent West Labour

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Hold
Majority3,793
Turnout51.7%41,376 votes cast
Electorate80,027

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top