← Back to MPs

MP profile

Liam Byrne MP

Labour · Birmingham Hodge Hill and Solihull North

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Party
Labour
MP since
2004
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Current rolesComing up · Today

Parliamentary Calendar

Coming up

Upcoming parliamentary business linked to this MP's current committees and, where available, Bills Parliament records them as proposing or sponsoring.

Committee

Liaison Sub-Committee on Core Tasks of Select Committees

Formal meeting (private meeting)

Updated

Private meeting · Thursday 10 September 2026 · 09:30 BST

The Wilson Room, Portcullis House

Committee items show scheduled business for committees the MP currently serves on and do not confirm individual attendance. Bill items are shown only where Parliament's Bills data records this MP as proposer or sponsor and Calendar Core has an official future stage. A scheduled stage does not mean that stage has happened. Future parliamentary business can change.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

6current committee memberships
2 representations · 9 government posts · 5 opposition posts · 12 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Birmingham Hodge Hill and Solihull North

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour

Current committee memberships

Business and Trade Committee

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Departmental

Chair · since 11 September 2024Member · since 11 September 2024

Business and Trade Sub-Committee on Economic Security, Arms and Export Controls

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Departmental

Chair · since 5 March 2025Member · since 5 March 2025

Liaison Committee (Commons)

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Domestic

Member · since 4 December 2024

Liaison Sub-Committee on Core Tasks of Select Committees

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Domestic

Member · since 23 June 2026

Liaison Sub-Committee on National Policy Statements

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Domestic

Member · since 11 June 2025

National Security Strategy (Joint Committee)

Joint · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Cross-cutting

Member · since 2 December 2024
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Birmingham, Hodge Hill
  • Birmingham, Hodge Hill

Previous government posts

  • Chief Secretary to the Treasury
  • Minister for the Cabinet Office and Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster
  • Minister of State (HM Treasury) (also in the Home Office)
  • Minister of State (Regional Affairs) (West Midlands)
  • Minister of State (Home Office) (Borders and Immigration)
  • Minister of State (Home Office) (Immigration and Asylum)
  • Minister of State (Home Office) (Immigration, Citizenship and Nationality)
  • Minister of State (Home Office)
  • Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department of Health) (Care Services)

Previous opposition posts

  • Shadow Minister (Digital, Culture, Media and Sport) (Digital Economy)
  • Shadow Minister (Business, Innovation and Skills)
  • Shadow Secretary of State for Work and Pensions
  • Shadow Minister (Cabinet Office)
  • Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury

Previous committee memberships

  • Strategic Litigation Against Public Participation Bill
  • National Security Strategy (Joint Committee)
  • Liaison Sub-Committee on Scrutiny of Strategic Thinking in Government
  • Business and Trade Committee
  • Business and Trade Sub-Committee on National Security and Investment
  • Liaison Committee (Commons)
  • Liaison Sub-Committee on National Policy Statements
  • Economic Crime and Corporate Transparency Bill
  • Committees on Arms Export Controls
  • Foreign Affairs Committee
  • International Trade Committee
  • European Scrutiny Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests3
Categories represented2
Published GBP values3

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salaryEmployment / earnings

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £4,100 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 13 January 2026 - £4,100.00
  2. £4,100 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 31 March 2026 - £4,100.00
  3. £820 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 02 July 2026 - £820.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Employment and earnings1

Writing a book - Head of Zeus – UK

Job Title
Writing a book
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
Head of Zeus – UK
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Public Address
5-8 Hardwick Street, London EC1R 4RG
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 02 July 2026 - £820.00

Registered 7 July 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-07-02
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Audio narration for book.
Value
£820
Hours worked
12.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 31 March 2026 - £4,100.00

Registered 22 April 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-03-31
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Further advance on a book.
Value
£4,100
Hours worked
0.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 13 January 2026 - £4,100.00

Registered 3 February 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-01-13
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Further advance of £4,100 on book contract from Zeus.
Value
£4,100
Hours worked
0.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No
Visits outside the UK2

International visit to China between 24 May 2026 and 30 May 2026

Registered 9 June 2026

Country
China
Purpose
To attend the 14th UK-China Senior Leadership Forum.
Start Date
2026-05-24
End Date
2026-05-30
Name
Great Britain China Centre
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
Kings Buildings, 16 Smith Square, London SW1P 3HQ
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Hotels, flights, food and transport
Value
£4,738
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes

International visit to South Korea between 13 April 2026 and 17 April 2026

Registered 7 May 2026

Country
South Korea
Purpose
To give keynote address at the fourth Annual Meeting of Asian Parliamentary Budget Officials.
Start Date
2026-04-13
End Date
2026-04-17
Name
OECD
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
2 rue André Pascal, 75116 Paris, France
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Flight (£5,100) and hotel (£335)
Value
£5,435
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted Aye
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted No
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Agriculture (Delinked Payments) (Reductions) (England) Regulations 2026

Agriculture (Delinked Payments) (Reductions) (England) Regulations 2026

3 June 2026 · Division 11

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Agriculture (Delinked Payments) (Reductions) (England) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 13 — single living accommodation standards

2 June 2026 · Division 10

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13 to the Armed Forces Bill, which would amend the Renters' Rights Act 2025 to set defence housing standards for single living accommodation.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 6 — ECHR derogation for overseas operations

2 June 2026 · Division 9

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to consider whether to make an ECHR derogation for significant overseas operations under the Human Rights Act 1998.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — immigration application fee waiver

2 June 2026 · Division 8

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to include New Clause 5, which would waive fees for applications for indefinite leave to remain by spouses and dependants of serving or discharged armed forces personnel.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Defence Investment Plan

2 June 2026 · Division 7

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on a new clause that would require the Secretary of State to lay a Defence Investment Plan before both Houses of Parliament within one month of the Act being passed.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Voted No
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

UK-Switzerland Enhanced Free Trade Agreement

14 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

NATO Summit

9 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Foreign Interference in UK Politics

6 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Topical Questions

2 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Steel Tariffs

17 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question
View 3 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Public Transport: West Midlands

Tabled 15 July 2026 · Department for Transport · UIN 18970

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, what assessment she has made of the potential impact of public transport connectivity on levels of regional inequality in the West Midlands.

Trams: Birmingham

Tabled 15 July 2026 · Department for Transport · UIN 18969

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, whether the next spending review will include provision for completing the East Birmingham tram extension.

View answer · 1 September 2026

Answered by: Keir Mather

Extensions to the Birmingham Metro are being delivered by West Midlands Combined Authority (WMCA). WMCA has been allocated £2.4 billion of Transport for City Regions (TCR) funding for the period up until 2031/32. This funding settlement is devolved, and i...

Minerals: Trade Agreements

Tabled 6 July 2026 · Department for Business and Trade · UIN 15925

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Business and Trade, if he will publish the full text of each of the UK’s critical minerals memoranda of understanding, dialogues, and other bilateral agreements, including wider initiatives such as supply chain resilience

View answer · 14 July 2026

Answered by: Chris McDonald

A full list of the UK’s agreements, dialogues and memoranda of understanding on critical minerals is available on the webpage for the Business and Trade Sub-Committee on Economic Security, Arms and Export Controls (published 23 June 2026). Where appropria...

High Speed Two: Land

Tabled 2 July 2026 · Department for Transport · UIN 15278

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, what the total cost to the public purse has been of HS2 Ltd holding the Washwood Heath RSMD site since acquisition.

View answer · 10 July 2026

Answered by: Simon Lightwood

BBV has been working on the Washwood Heath Depot site since September 2020. The contract for the design and construction of the Washwood Heath Depot and Network Integrated Control Centre was awarded on 30th April 2026 to the TWA Joint Venture. Total costs...

High Speed Two: Land

Tabled 2 July 2026 · Department for Transport · UIN 15276

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, when HS2 Ltd plans to publish its final land specification for the Washwood Heath RSMD site.

View answer · 7 July 2026

Answered by: Simon Lightwood

Subject to Taylor Woodrow-Aureos (depot D&B contractor) confirmation, it is currently proposed that an updated Schedule 17 application (including final plans) will be submitted Q2/Q3 of 2027.

View 66 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

Communications blackout and human rights in Azad Jammu and Kashmir

EDM 310 · Tabled 8 June 2026 · 49 signatures

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Birmingham Hodge Hill and Solihull North is a constituency in the West Midlands region of England. The seat has been held by Liam Byrne (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Birmingham Hodge Hill and Solihull North Birmingham Yardley Birmingham Erdington Sutton Coldfield Solihull West and Shirley Birmingham Hall Green and Moseley Birmingham Ladywood Meriden and Solihull East Birmingham Perry Barr Birmingham Selly Oak Birmingham Edgbaston North Warwickshire and Bedworth Aldridge-Brownhills Birmingham Northfield Smethwick West Bromwich Bromsgrove Coventry North West Tipton and Wednesbury Nuneaton Coventry South England
Birmingham Hodge Hill and Solihull North Labour

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Hold
Majority1,566
Turnout43.9%34,136 votes cast
Electorate77,737

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top