← Back to MPs

MP profile

John Whitby MP

Labour · Derbyshire Dales

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
Derbyshire Dales
Party
Labour
MP since
2024
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Current rolesComing up · Today

Parliamentary Calendar

Coming up

Upcoming parliamentary business linked to this MP's current committees and, where available, Bills Parliament records them as proposing or sponsoring.

Committee

Environmental Audit Committee

Progress on climate change mitigation

Updated

Oral evidence · Wednesday 9 September 2026 · 14:00 BST

The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

Committee

Environmental Audit Committee

Air Pollution in England

Oral evidence · Monday 14 September 2026 · 13:45 BST

The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

Committee items show scheduled business for committees the MP currently serves on and do not confirm individual attendance. Bill items are shown only where Parliament's Bills data records this MP as proposer or sponsor and Calendar Core has an official future stage. A scheduled stage does not mean that stage has happened. Future parliamentary business can change.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

1current committee membership
1 committee membershipprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Derbyshire Dales

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour

Current committee memberships

Environmental Audit Committee

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Cross-cutting

Member · since 28 October 2024
Previous parliamentary career

Previous committee memberships

  • Tobacco and Vapes Bill

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests2
Categories represented2
Published GBP values0
No explicit GBP monetary values appear in this MP's current published register.

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Employment and earnings1

Fostering - Derby City Council Social Services

Registered 3 March 2025

Job Title
Fostering
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
Derby City Council Social Services
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Nature Of Business
Local Authority
Payer Public Address
Derby City Council, Council House, Corporation Street Derby DE1 2FS
Miscellaneous1

Derby City Councillor, (unpaid since 10 October 2024 and previously registered under Category 1)

Registered 19 July 2024

Description
Derby City Councillor, (unpaid since 10 October 2024 and previously registered under Category 1)
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

No recorded vote
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted No
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

Amendment 12 — sunset extension

8 June 2026 · Division 12

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 12 to prevent the Bill's ‘sunset' on principal transfer powers being extended.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (p) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 4

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the Opposition's motion for an Address in response to the King's Speech, regretting the absence of a Defence Readiness Bill and related defence planning commitments.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (l) — defence policy

20 May 2026 · Division 3

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the King's Speech Address debate to express regret that the Gracious Speech did not include a Defence Readiness Bill and to call for specific defence policy actions.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Universal Credit: Care Leavers

29 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 question1 supplementary question

UNESCO World Heritage Sites

18 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 question1 supplementary question

Topical Questions

16 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 question1 supplementary question
View 6 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Craniocervical Instability: Diagnosis

Tabled 1 June 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 5561

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, what assessment his department has made into the potential use of upright MRI scans to diagnose Craniocervical Instability, particularly as it relates to Ehlers-Danlos syndrome.

View answer · 8 June 2026

Answered by: Mrs Sharon Hodgson

Diagnostic investigations for suspected craniocervical instability in patients with Ehlers Danlos syndromes, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography, are available through existing National Health Service pathways. Access to mor...

Heat Networks: Data Centres

Tabled 13 May 2026 · Department for Energy Security and Net Zero · UIN 1035

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero, what steps he is taking to encourage the integration of data centres into local heat network zoning plans.

View answer · 22 May 2026

Answered by: Martin McCluskey

The Department is looking at how waste heat from data centres can be used to support the development of large scale, strategic heat networks. Through heat network zoning, certain buildings and heat sources, including data centres, can be required to conne...

Waste Heat Recovery: Data Centres

Tabled 13 May 2026 · Department for Energy Security and Net Zero · UIN 1036

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero, what assessment he has made of the potential implications for his Department's policies of policy measures adopted in Germany to improve energy efficiency and waste heat utilisation in data c

View answer · 22 May 2026

Answered by: Martin McCluskey

To address the growing energy demands of AI, the AI Energy Council was established. The Council offers expert insights into preparing the UK’s energy system to manage AI’s energy footprint, as well as harnessing AI’s potential within a modern energy syste...

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

Bank holiday for celebrations if England win the 2026 FIFA World Cup

EDM 190 · Tabled 21 May 2026 · 27 signatures

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Derbyshire Dales is a constituency in the East Midlands region of England. The seat has been held by John Whitby (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Derbyshire Dales Derby North North East Derbyshire Mid Derbyshire Amber Valley Staffordshire Moorlands Derby South Sheffield Hallam Burton and Uttoxeter Chesterfield High Peak South Derbyshire Sheffield Central Sheffield Heeley Lichfield Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough Sheffield South East Bolsover Penistone and Stocksbridge Erewash Stoke-on-Trent South Ashfield Tamworth Rotherham North West Leicestershire Broxtowe Stoke-on-Trent Central Macclesfield Nottingham North and Kimberley Hazel Grove Cannock Chase Stalybridge and Hyde Barnsley South Rother Valley Mansfield Colne Valley Nottingham South Barnsley North Stoke-on-Trent North North Warwickshire and Bedworth Ossett and Denby Dale Sutton Coldfield Aldridge-Brownhills Gorton and Denton Hinckley and Bosworth Huddersfield Cheadle Nottingham East Ashton-under-Lyne Oldham East and Saddleworth Dewsbury and Batley Stockport Walsall and Bloxwich Loughborough Rawmarsh and Conisbrough Birmingham Erdington Stone, Great Wyrley and Penkridge Nuneaton Sherwood Forest Gedling Congleton Newcastle-under-Lyme Spen Valley Birmingham Perry Barr Birmingham Hodge Hill and Solihull North Mid Leicestershire Wolverhampton North East Manchester Central Rushcliffe Wakefield and Rothwell Normanton and Hemsworth Stafford Oldham West, Chadderton and Royton Birmingham Yardley Manchester Withington Manchester Rusholme Wolverhampton South East Birmingham Ladywood Leeds South West and Morley West Bromwich Tipton and Wednesbury Bradford South Halifax Blackley and Middleton South Wythenshawe and Sale East Doncaster Central Rochdale Meriden and Solihull East Coventry North West Smethwick Birmingham Hall Green and Moseley Leicester West Leeds South Wolverhampton West Bradford East Coventry East Birmingham Edgbaston Doncaster North Solihull West and Shirley Leeds West and Pudsey Bradford West Pontefract, Castleford and Knottingley Dudley Calder Valley Birmingham Selly Oak Coventry South Salford Crewe and Nantwich Leeds Central and Headingley Heywood and Middleton North Birmingham Northfield Bassetlaw Halesowen Bury South Stretford and Urmston Tatton Leeds East Leicester South Leicester East Leeds North East Shipley Altrincham and Sale West Rugby Stourbridge Leeds North West Kingswinford and South Staffordshire South Leicestershire Bromsgrove Bury North Worsley and Eccles Keighley and Ilkley Newark Bolton South and Walkden Mid Cheshire Selby Melton and Syston Burnley The Wrekin Harborough, Oadby and Wigston Bolton North East Telford Wyre Forest Doncaster East and the Isle of Axholme Warrington South Leigh and Atherton Warrington North Rossendale and Darwen Hyndburn Pendle and Clitheroe Bolton West Wetherby and Easingwold Chester South and Eddisbury Makerfield Blackburn Wigan Daventry Chorley St Helens South and Whiston Runcorn and Helsby St Helens North Widnes and Halewood Lincoln Goole and Pocklington Ribble Valley South Shropshire Kettering Scunthorpe Grantham and Bourne Rutland and Stamford Liverpool Garston South Ribble Gainsborough Sleaford and North Hykeham Knowsley Preston North Shropshire Wrexham Shrewsbury Liverpool West Derby Liverpool Wavertree Ellesmere Port and Bromborough Chester North and Neston West Lancashire Liverpool Walton Corby and East Northamptonshire Brigg and Immingham Liverpool Riverside Alyn and Deeside Southport Bootle Birkenhead Lancaster and Wyre Fylde North Herefordshire Wirral West Kingston upon Hull West and Haltemprice Bridlington and The Wolds Sefton Central Wallasey Kingston upon Hull North and Cottingham North West Cambridgeshire Blackpool South Blackpool North and Fleetwood Kingston upon Hull East Clwyd East Peterborough Huntingdon Great Grimsby and Cleethorpes South Holland and The Deepings Beverley and Holderness Louth and Horncastle Boston and Skegness North East Cambridgeshire Clwyd North Montgomeryshire and Glyndwr Brecon, Radnor and Cwm Tawe Bangor Aberconwy Dwyfor Meirionnydd Ely and East Cambridgeshire North West Norfolk South West Norfolk West Suffolk Ceredigion Preseli England
Derbyshire Dales Labour

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Gain
Majority350
Turnout69.9%51,272 votes cast
Electorate73,324

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top