← Back to MPs

MP profile

Charlie Maynard MP

Liberal Democrat · Witney

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
Witney
Party
Liberal Democrat
MP since
2024
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

Constituency office

Office of Charlie Maynard MP
Elmfield House
New Yatt Road
Witney
Oxfordshire
OX28 1PB

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Current roles
  • Party spokespersonLiberal Democrat Spokesperson (Chief Secretary to the Treasury)

    Opposition Department · Since 1 October 2025

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

2current committee memberships
5 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Witney

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Liberal Democrat

Current committee memberships

Business and Trade Committee

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Departmental

Member · since 28 October 2024

Business and Trade Sub-Committee on Economic Security, Arms and Export Controls

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Departmental

Member · since 5 March 2025
Previous parliamentary career

Previous committee memberships

  • Absent Voting (Elections in Scotland and Wales) Bill
  • Committee of Selection
  • Water (Special Measures) Bill [HL]
  • Statutory Instruments (Joint Committee)
  • Statutory Instruments (Select Committee)

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests20
Categories represented5
Published GBP values16

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salarySupport for MP activitiesGifts / hospitalityOverseas gifts / benefits

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £23,410.80 — Gifts / hospitality · Marriott Harrison LLP - £23,410.80
  2. £20,077.20 — Gifts / hospitality · Marriott Harrison LLP - £20,077.20
  3. £14,000 — Overseas gift / benefit · Ailsa Roell - £14,000.00
  4. £12,500 — Support for MP activities · Alasdair Breach - £12,500.00
  5. £12,500 — Support for MP activities · Alasdair Breach - £12,500.00
  6. £12,500 — Support for MP activities · Alasdair Breach - £12,500.00
  7. £12,500 — Support for MP activities · Al Breach - £12,500.00
  8. £10,000 — Support for MP activities · Bradley Wickens - £10,000.00
  9. £10,000 — Support for MP activities · Christopher Brotherton - £10,000.00
  10. £7,272 — Gifts / hospitality · Marriott Harrison - £7,272.00
  11. £6,300 — Gifts / hospitality · William Day - £6,300.00
  12. £5,135.40 — Gifts / hospitality · Marriott Harrison LLP - £5,135.40
  13. £4,200 — Gifts / hospitality · William Day - £4,200.00
  14. £4,200 — Gifts / hospitality · William Day - £4,200.00
  15. £2,925 — Gifts / hospitality · Matthew Rice - £2,925.00
  16. £366 — Gifts / hospitality · Richard McBrien - £366.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Donations and other support (including loans) for activities as an MP6

Christopher Brotherton - £10,000.00

Registered 4 April 2026

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£10,000
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Christopher Brotherton
Donor Status
Individual

Bradley Wickens - £10,000.00

Registered 6 March 2026

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£10,000
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Bradley Wickens
Donor Status
Individual

Al Breach - £12,500.00

Registered 6 March 2026

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£12,500
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Al Breach
Donor Status
Individual

Alasdair Breach - £12,500.00

Registered 29 December 2025

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£12,500
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Alasdair Breach
Donor Status
Individual

Alasdair Breach - £12,500.00

Registered 29 December 2025

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£12,500
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Alasdair Breach
Donor Status
Individual

Alasdair Breach - £12,500.00

Registered 29 December 2025

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£12,500
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Alasdair Breach
Donor Status
Individual
Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources9

Matthew Rice - £2,925.00

Registered 23 December 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Food: £2,275, venue hire: £500, staffing: £150
Value
£2,925
Received Date
2025-12-10
Accepted Date
2025-12-10
Received End Date
2025-12-10
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Matthew Rice
Donor Status
Individual

Richard McBrien - £366.00

Registered 23 December 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Wine purchase for fundraising event
Value
£366
Received Date
2025-12-10
Accepted Date
2025-12-10
Received End Date
2025-12-10
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Richard McBrien
Donor Status
Individual

Marriott Harrison LLP - £5,135.40

Registered 12 November 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Pro bono legal services
Value
£5,135.40
Received Date
2025-10-16
Accepted Date
2025-10-16
Received End Date
2025-11-12
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Marriott Harrison LLP
Donor Public Address
80 Cheapside, London EC2V 6EE
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Marriott Harrison LLP
Donor Company Identifier
OC372774
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Marriott Harrison - £7,272.00

Registered 16 October 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Pro bono legal services
Value
£7,272
Received Date
2025-09-23
Accepted Date
2025-09-23
Received End Date
2025-10-15
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Marriott Harrison
Donor Public Address
80 Cheapside, London EC2V 6EE
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Marriott Harrison
Donor Company Identifier
OC372774
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

William Day - £4,200.00

Registered 16 October 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Pro bono legal services
Value
£4,200
Received Date
2025-09-23
Accepted Date
2025-09-23
Received End Date
2025-10-14
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
William Day
Donor Status
Individual

Marriott Harrison LLP - £20,077.20

Registered 24 September 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Pro bono legal services
Value
£20,077.20
Received Date
2025-09-01
Accepted Date
2025-09-19
Received End Date
2025-09-19
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Marriott Harrison LLP
Donor Public Address
80 Cheapside, London EC2V 6EE
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Marriott Harrison LLP
Donor Company Identifier
OC372774
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

William Day - £4,200.00

Registered 24 September 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Pro bono legal services
Value
£4,200
Received Date
2025-08-27
Accepted Date
2025-09-22
Received End Date
2025-09-22
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
William Day
Donor Status
Individual

William Day - £6,300.00

Registered 17 September 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Pro bono legal services
Value
£6,300
Received Date
2025-08-07
Accepted Date
2025-08-07
Received End Date
2025-08-26
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
William Day
Donor Status
Individual

Marriott Harrison LLP - £23,410.80

Registered 17 September 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Pro bono legal advice
Value
£23,410.80
Received Date
2025-08-11
Accepted Date
2025-08-11
Received End Date
2025-08-31
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Marriott Harrison LLP
Donor Public Address
80 Cheapside, London EC2V 6EE
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Marriott Harrison LLP
Donor Company Identifier
OC372774
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Gifts and benefits from sources outside the UK1

Ailsa Roell - £14,000.00

Registered 12 September 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Free accommodation in a family member’s flat since my election. The estimated rental value is £3,500 per month
Value
£14,000
Received Date
2025-07-09
Accepted Date
2025-07-09
Received End Date
2025-10-31
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Ailsa Roell
Donor Status
Individual
Land and property (within or outside the UK)3

Property in Upstate New York

Registered 1 August 2024

Is Sole Owner
No
Location
Upstate New York
Property Description
House
Property Owner Details
co-owned with my wife
Registrable Rental Income
Yes
Rental Income Details
the rental income is paid to me and my wife
Number Of Properties
1
Is Land
No
Is Any Rental Income Paid To Another Person
Yes
Country
United States
Property Type
Residential

Property in London

Registered 1 August 2024

Is Sole Owner
No
Location
London
Property Description
Flat
Property Owner Details
co-owned with wife
Registrable Rental Income
Yes
Rental Income Details
rental income is paid to me and my wife
Number Of Properties
1
Is Land
No
Is Any Rental Income Paid To Another Person
Yes
Country
United Kingdom
Property Type
Residential

Property in Hampshire

Registered 1 August 2024

Is Sole Owner
No
Location
Hampshire
Property Description
House
Property Owner Details
Co-owned with three family members
Registrable Rental Income
Yes
Rental Income Details
rental income is paid by one family member to three family members
Number Of Properties
1
Is Land
No
Is Any Rental Income Paid To Another Person
Yes
Country
United Kingdom
Property Type
Residential
Shareholdings1

Shares in BDA Partners

Registered 1 August 2024

Shareholding Threshold
(i) Shareholdings: over 15% of issued share capital
Organisation Name
BDA Partners
Organisation Description
Asia focussed advisory firm
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 10 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Health Bill

Puberty blockers for under-18s

8 September 2026 · Division 69

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 142 to the Health Bill, requiring regulations to prevent puberty blockers being prescribed, supplied or used in clinical trials for under-18s in gender-related treatment, unless both Houses approved a trial.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (72 divisions in coverage)

72 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 13 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Health Bill

Puberty blockers for under-18s

8 September 2026 · Division 69

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 142 to the Health Bill, requiring regulations to prevent puberty blockers being prescribed, supplied or used in clinical trials for under-18s in gender-related treatment, unless both Houses approved a trial.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

No recorded vote
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — goods vehicle VED review

1 July 2026 · Division 48

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 5 to require a Treasury review of the temporary goods vehicle VED (road freight tax) rates and reporting to Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunals Extension of Jurisdiction (England and Wales) (Amendment) Order 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 45

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunals Extension of Jurisdiction (England and Wales) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Defence spending and readiness — Prime Minister’s amendment

Defence spending and readiness — Prime Minister’s amendment

23 June 2026 · Division 38

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion on Defence spending and readiness - Prime Minister's Amendment.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 13 — self-directed conduct offences

17 June 2026 · Division 31

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on a proposal (Amendment 13) to create new offences for conduct that is self-directed and prepared in relation to a designated body under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted No
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill

Allocation of Time — timetable for further consideration

17 June 2026 · Division 28

No recorded vote
Procedural voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Allocation of Time motion for the National Security (State Threats) Bill, setting the timetable for its further consideration in the House.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted Aye
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 12 — financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 16

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 12, which would cap the amount of financial assistance available under the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Act.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

Amendment 12 — sunset extension

8 June 2026 · Division 12

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 12 to prevent the Bill's ‘sunset' on principal transfer powers being extended.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill

Second Reading

21 May 2026 · Division 6

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill should receive a Second Reading and continue to its next stage in Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (p) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 4

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the Opposition's motion for an Address in response to the King's Speech, regretting the absence of a Defence Readiness Bill and related defence planning commitments.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King’s Speech: Amendment (i) — energy security

Amendment (i) — energy security

19 May 2026 · Division 1

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on a Conservative amendment to the King’s Speech motion on energy security.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

UK Financial Services

1 September 2026 · House of Commons · Westminster Hall

1 speech

Future of Thames Water

14 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech2 interventions

Iran Conflict: Ceasefire

9 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Israeli Settlements: Trade Ban

9 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech

NATO Summit

9 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question
View 11 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Affordable Homes Guarantee Scheme

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government · UIN 25016

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government, what portion of the Affordable Homes Guarantee Scheme is currently awarded to for-profit registered providers and what portion to not-for-profit registered providers; whether the

Children: Maintenance

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department for Work and Pensions · UIN 25008

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions, what plans are in place to speed up processes at the Child Maintenance Service, including the resolution of complaints up to and including the scheduling of tribunal hearings.

Civil Servants: Workplace Pensions

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Cabinet Office · UIN 25011

Awaiting answer

To ask the Minister for the Cabinet Office, whether any concerns were identified regarding Capita's suitability to administer the CSPS during the procurement and approval processes.

Civil Servants: Workplace Pensions

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Cabinet Office · UIN 25010

Awaiting answer

To ask the Minister for the Cabinet Office, what the value is of payments withheld from Capita in connection with its administration of the CSPS; and what conditions must be met for the release of those payments.

Civil Servants: Workplace Pensions

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Cabinet Office · UIN 25009

Awaiting answer

To ask the Minister for the Cabinet Office, what the cost is of the recovery programme in relation to the Civil Service Pension Scheme being administered by Capita.

View 26 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

Publication of Legal Advice on Local Government Reorganisation

EDM 763 · Tabled 7 September 2026 · 31 signatures

Retirement of Godfrey Asare and Margaret Labulo from the Members' Tea Room

EDM 617 · Tabled 15 July 2026 · 38 signatures

International Court of Justice's July 2024 Advisory Opinion on the Occupied Palestinian Territories

EDM 614 · Tabled 15 July 2026 · 64 signatures

View 6 more Early Day Motions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Witney is a constituency in the South East region of England. The seat has been held by Charlie Maynard (Liberal Democrat) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Witney Oxford West and Abingdon Didcot and Wantage Swindon North Newbury Oxford East Banbury Bicester and Woodstock Swindon South Reading West and Mid Berkshire East Wiltshire Kenilworth and Southam Henley and Thame North West Hampshire Chippenham North Cotswolds Stratford-on-Avon Mid Buckinghamshire Warwick and Leamington Basingstoke Reading Central Cheltenham South Northamptonshire Tewkesbury South Cotswolds Earley and Woodley Romsey and Southampton North Melksham and Devizes Wycombe Buckingham and Bletchley Wokingham Winchester North East Hampshire Redditch Gloucester Salisbury Droitwich and Evesham Daventry East Hampshire Maidenhead South West Wiltshire Bracknell Northampton South Milton Keynes Central Aldershot Stroud Worcester Milton Keynes North Chesham and Amersham Aylesbury West Worcestershire Farnham and Bordon Slough Thornbury and Yate Bath Surrey Heath Beaconsfield Dunstable and Leighton Buzzard Forest of Dean Windsor Woking Hemel Hempstead Harpenden and Berkhamsted Mid Bedfordshire Bristol North East Filton and Bradley Stoke Runnymede and Weybridge Godalming and Ash South West Hertfordshire Frome and East Somerset Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner Bristol East Uxbridge and South Ruislip Spelthorne Hayes and Harlington North East Somerset and Hanham Luton North Watford Luton South and South Bedfordshire Bristol Central Feltham and Heston Guildford Bristol South Bedford Ealing Southall North Bedfordshire Ealing North Harrow West Bristol North West St Albans Esher and Walton Brentford and Isleworth Twickenham Harrow East Brent West Hertsmere Hitchin Ealing Central and Acton Richmond Park Kingston and Surbiton North Somerset Brent East Hendon Epsom and Ewell Hammersmith and Chiswick Welwyn Hatfield Chipping Barnet Putney Queen's Park and Maida Vale Dorking and Horley Finchley and Golders Green Stevenage North Herefordshire Wimbledon Chelsea and Fulham Kensington and Bayswater Wells and Mendip Hills Sutton and Cheam Hampstead and Highgate Hereford and South Herefordshire Tooting Reigate Battersea Southgate and Wood Green Mitcham and Morden Hornsey and Friern Barnet Holborn and St Pancras Carshalton and Wallington Cities of London and Westminster Islington North Clapham and Brixton Hill Newport East Monmouthshire Vauxhall and Camberwell Green Islington South and Finsbury Streatham and Croydon North Enfield North Tottenham Edmonton and Winchmore Hill Dulwich and West Norwood Hackney North and Stoke Newington Croydon West Hackney South and Shoreditch Croydon South Bermondsey and Old Southwark Peckham North East Hertfordshire Bethnal Green and Stepney Broxbourne Lewisham West and East Dulwich Weston-super-Mare Croydon East Poplar and Limehouse Beckenham and Penge East Surrey Torfaen St Neots and Mid Cambridgeshire Hertford and Stortford South Cambridgeshire Bridgwater Brecon, Radnor and Cwm Tawe England
Witney Liberal Democrat

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLiberal DemocratLD Gain
Majority4,339
Turnout67.0%50,584 votes cast
Electorate75,448

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top