← Back to MPs

MP profile

Mark Sewards MP

Labour · Leeds South West and Morley

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Party
Labour
MP since
2024
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Current rolesComing up · 15 Sep

Parliamentary Calendar

Coming up

Upcoming parliamentary business linked to this MP's current committees and, where available, Bills Parliament records them as proposing or sponsoring.

Committee

Education Committee

‘Every Child Achieving and Thriving’ White Paper

Updated

Oral evidence · Tuesday 15 September 2026 · 09:30 BST

The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

Committee items show scheduled business for committees the MP currently serves on and do not confirm individual attendance. Bill items are shown only where Parliament's Bills data records this MP as proposer or sponsor and Calendar Core has an official future stage. A scheduled stage does not mean that stage has happened. Future parliamentary business can change.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

1current committee membership
1 committee membershipprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Leeds South West and Morley

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour

Current committee memberships

Education Committee

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Departmental

Member · since 21 October 2024
Previous parliamentary career

Previous committee memberships

  • Non-Domestic Rating (Multipliers and Private Schools) Bill

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests7
Categories represented3
Published GBP values3

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salarySupport for MP activitiesGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £3,000 — Support for MP activities · Neural Voice AI - £3,000.00
  2. £480 — Gifts / hospitality · Leeds United Football Club - £480.00
  3. £386.86 — Gifts / hospitality · The Premier League - £386.86

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Donations and other support (including loans) for activities as an MP1

Neural Voice AI - £3,000.00

Registered 1 September 2025

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
The creation and hosting of an AI voice assistant
Value
£3,000
Received Date
2025-08-05
Accepted Date
2025-08-05
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Neural Voice AI
Donor Public Address
8 Newcastle Close, Drighlington, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom, BD11 1DF
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Neural Voice AI
Donor Company Identifier
15208364
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources2

Leeds United Football Club - £480.00

Registered 6 May 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Single ticket, with hospitality in the Chairman's Suite,to watch Premier League home fixture LUFC vs Wolves
Value
£480
Received Date
2026-04-18
Accepted Date
2026-04-18
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Leeds United Football Club
Donor Public Address
Elland Road, Leeds LS11 0ES
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Leeds United Football Club
Donor Company Identifier
06233875
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

The Premier League - £386.86

Registered 18 February 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Ticket and hospitality for Leeds v Arsenal Football Match at Elland Rd Stadium, Leeds
Value
£386.86
Received Date
2026-01-31
Accepted Date
2026-01-31
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
The Premier League
Donor Public Address
Brunel Building, 57 North Wharf Road, London W2 1HQ
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
The Premier League
Donor Company Identifier
02719699
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Visits outside the UK4

International visit to Egypt between 16 August 2026 and 21 August 2026

Registered 2 September 2026

Country
Egypt
Purpose
Cross-party visit to Egypt to engage with international organisations and political and civil society stakeholders on shared UK-Egypt priorities, in the UK’s national interest.
Start Date
2026-08-16
End Date
2026-08-21
Name
Coalition for Global Prosperity (CGP)
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
1 Horse Guards Avenue, London SW1A 2HU
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
flights + visas (£965.88), transport (£171.37), accommodation (£690.28), food and miscellaneous (£191.37)
Value
£2,018.90
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes

International visit to Brunei between 24 May 2026 and 29 May 2026

Registered 22 June 2026

Country
Brunei
Purpose
Armed Forces Parliamentary Scheme educational visit to Brunei
Start Date
2026-05-24
End Date
2026-05-29
Name
Armed Forces Parliamentary Trust
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
Armed Forces Parliamentary Trust, c/o Houses of Parliament, London SW1A 1AA
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Outward flight to Brunei, as part of the AFPS programme
Value
£551.29
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes

International visit to Israel between 25 January 2026 and 29 January 2026

Registered 13 February 2026

Country
Israel
Country
Bahrain
Purpose
Delegation to Israel and the Kingdom of Bahrain. Meetings with politicians, academics, activists and diplomats.
Start Date
2026-01-25
End Date
2026-01-29
Name
Labour Friends of Israel Ltd
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
BM LFI, London WC1N 3XX
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Transport, accommodation and meals
Value
£2,950
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes

International visit to Ukraine between 10 September 2025 and 15 September 2025

Registered 6 October 2025

Country
Ukraine
Destination
Kyiv
Purpose
Parliamentary Delegation to attend the YES Conference.
Start Date
2025-09-10
End Date
2025-09-15
Name
UK Friends of Ukraine
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
81 High Street, Cosham, Portsmouth, England, PO6 3BL
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Pass for Yes Conference, Transfers, food & drink
Value
£770.04
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted Aye
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — goods vehicle VED review

1 July 2026 · Division 48

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 5 to require a Treasury review of the temporary goods vehicle VED (road freight tax) rates and reporting to Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 4 — settlement fee waiver for service families

22 June 2026 · Division 33

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to waive indefinite-leave-to-remain fees for spouses or children of serving or former armed forces members who had served for four or more years.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted No
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Voted No
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King’s Speech: Amendment (i) — energy security

Amendment (i) — energy security

19 May 2026 · Division 1

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on a Conservative amendment to the King’s Speech motion on energy security.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Direction of Government

1 September 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

National Security

15 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech

Extreme Heat: Preparedness

14 July 2026 · House of Commons · Westminster Hall

1 intervention

Business of the House

9 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Draft Trade (Mobile Roaming) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · House of Commons · General Committees

1 intervention
View 27 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Written question 26273

Tabled 1 September 2026 · Home Office · UIN 26273

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, what assessment she has made of the potential merits of establishing a dedicated digital online reporting mechanism for victims of transnational repression.

Written question 26272

Tabled 1 September 2026 · Department for Transport · UIN 26272

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, what recent discussions she has had with the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency on waiting times for learner driver tests and approved driving instructor qualification tests.

Written question 26271

Tabled 1 September 2026 · Department for Transport · UIN 26271

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, what the average time is between the recruitment of a driving examiner and that examiner conducting practical driving tests.

Written question 26270

Tabled 1 September 2026 · Department for Transport · UIN 26270

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, what recent progress her Department has made on reducing waiting times for practical driving tests.

Air Pollution

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs · UIN 23725

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, what mechanisms are available for members of the public to report concerns about (a) persistent aircraft trails, (b) air quality and (c) atmospheric pollution.

View 102 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

No supported Early Day Motions are currently stored within this coverage period.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Leeds South West and Morley is a constituency in the Yorkshire and The Humber region of England. The seat has been held by Mark Sewards (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Leeds South West and Morley Leeds West and Pudsey Dewsbury and Batley Leeds Central and Headingley Spen Valley Leeds South Bradford East Leeds North East Leeds North West Ossett and Denby Dale Bradford South Wakefield and Rothwell Huddersfield Bradford West Shipley Leeds East Barnsley North Halifax Normanton and Hemsworth Colne Valley Keighley and Ilkley Pontefract, Castleford and Knottingley Wetherby and Easingwold Calder Valley Oldham East and Saddleworth Skipton and Ripon Doncaster North Selby York Outer England
Leeds South West and Morley Labour

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Gain
Majority8,423
Turnout56.0%40,209 votes cast
Electorate71,854

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top