← Back to MPs

MP profile

Luke Akehurst MP

Labour · North Durham

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
North Durham
Party
Labour
MP since
2024
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

3current committee memberships
1 committee membershipprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • North Durham

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour

Current committee memberships

Administration Estimate Audit and Risk Assurance Committee

House of Commons · Other

Member · since 4 March 2025

Finance Committee (Commons)

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Domestic

Member · since 20 January 2025

Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill

House of Commons · (HC) Motion of the House - Ad-hoc

Member · since 9 February 2026
Previous parliamentary career

Previous committee memberships

  • Armed Forces Commissioner Bill

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests8
Categories represented3
Published GBP values0
No explicit GBP monetary values appear in this MP's current published register.

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Visits outside the UK1

International visit to Estonia between 12 October 2025 and 15 October 2025

Registered 16 October 2025

Country
Estonia
Destination
Tallinn and Narva
Purpose
Study tour: participation in Common Threats, Joint Defence, UK - Estonia - Israel Strategic Mission
Start Date
2025-10-12
End Date
2025-10-15
Name
ELNET UK
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
4th Floor, 6 Princes Street, London W1B 2LG
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Flights (£724 for two people), two rooms hotel accommodation for three nights (£730), meals for 3.5 days (£608 for two people) and minibus travel in country (£196 for two people). I travelled with my Parliamentary Assistant (£1,129 per person)
Value
£2,258
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Shareholdings2

Shares in Labour to Win Ltd

Registered 22 July 2024

Shareholding Threshold
(i) Shareholdings: over 15% of issued share capital
Organisation Name
Labour to Win Ltd
Organisation Description
Political organisation within the Labour Party

Shares in Labour First Ltd

Registered 22 July 2024

Shareholding Threshold
(i) Shareholdings: over 15% of issued share capital
Organisation Name
Labour First Ltd
Organisation Description
Political organisation within the Labour Party
Miscellaneous5

Member, British-American Parliamentary Group Executive Committee. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 8 January 2025

Arose On
2024-10-30
Description
Member, British-American Parliamentary Group Executive Committee. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Director, Labour to Win Ltd. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 3 August 2024

Description
Director, Labour to Win Ltd. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Director/Secretary, Labour First Ltd. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 3 August 2024

Description
Director/Secretary, Labour First Ltd. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Trustee, Friends of Labour Students. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 3 August 2024

Description
Trustee, Friends of Labour Students. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

PLP Representative on Labour Party National Executive Committee.

Registered 22 July 2024

Arose On
2024-07-17
Description
PLP Representative on Labour Party National Executive Committee.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Formal role with a party organisation
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted Aye
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted No
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill

Second Reading

21 May 2026 · Division 6

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill should receive a Second Reading and continue to its next stage in Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (p) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 4

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the Opposition's motion for an Address in response to the King's Speech, regretting the absence of a Defence Readiness Bill and related defence planning commitments.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (l) — defence policy

20 May 2026 · Division 3

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the King's Speech Address debate to express regret that the Gracious Speech did not include a Defence Readiness Bill and to call for specific defence policy actions.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems

6 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Defence Investment Plan

30 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Supporting British Pensioners

29 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Defence Spending and Readiness

23 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech3 interventions

Armed Forces Bill

22 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech4 interventions
View 5 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Written question 26254

Tabled 1 September 2026 · Ministry of Defence · UIN 26254

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, what proportion of the funding allocated in the Defence Investment Plan to Directed Energy Weapons will be spent on (a) laser-directed energy weapons, including DragonFire, and (b) Radio Frequency Directed Energy

Palestine: Education

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office · UIN 23590

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs, what information his Department holds regarding the independent audit of the revised Palestinian Authority curriculum, including the experts contracted and the scope of their

Syria: Education and Reconstruction

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office · UIN 23591

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs, what arrangements his Department has put in place to monitor significant changes to the Syrian national curriculum; and how the findings of any monitoring will inform the UK'

Electronic Warfare and Unmanned Air Systems: Procurement

Tabled 14 July 2026 · Ministry of Defence · UIN 18814

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, with reference to the Defence Investment Plan published on 30 June 2026, what milestones have been set for the delivery of counter-drone and electromagnetic warfare capabilities.

View answer · 22 July 2026

Answered by: Luke Pollard

The pace of technological innovation and development of uncrewed aerial systems means the threat is in a state of constant change. To keep pace with this rapid evolution of the threat, counter drone capability needs to focus on spiral development, flexibi...

Revenue and Customs: Criminal Investigation

Tabled 14 July 2026 · Treasury · UIN 18812

Answered

To ask the Chancellor of the Exchequer, what mechanisms exist to ensure independent oversight of allegations of serious misconduct or criminality involving HMRC investigators, including compliance with referral requirements and the effectiveness of arrang

View answer · 20 July 2026

Answered by: Dan Tomlinson

In England & Wales, the Independent Office for Police Conduct (IOPC) has the authority to investigate the most serious complaints and conduct matters in connection with the enforcement activities of HMRC. The statutory requirement for HMRC to refer su...

View 81 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

Radiotherapy road map to improved cancer treatment plan

EDM 747 · Tabled 3 September 2026 · 6 signatures

56th anniversary of the election of Salvador Allende

EDM 679 · Tabled 1 September 2026 · 4 signatures

Park View School, Chester-le-Street

EDM 666 · Tabled 1 September 2026 · 2 signatures

Deaths of PC Matthew Blades and PC Tom Clough

EDM 708 · Tabled 1 September 2026 · 44 signatures

View 27 more Early Day Motions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

North Durham is a constituency in the North East region of England. The seat has been held by Luke Akehurst (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

North Durham City of Durham Gateshead Central and Whickham Washington and Gateshead South Newcastle upon Tyne Central and West Blaydon and Consett Newcastle upon Tyne North Jarrow and Gateshead East Newcastle upon Tyne East and Wallsend Houghton and Sunderland South Newton Aycliffe and Spennymoor Cramlington and Killingworth Sunderland Central Tynemouth South Shields Darlington Easington Bishop Auckland Stockton West Hartlepool Stockton North Hexham Redcar Penrith and Solway Westmorland and Lonsdale England
North Durham Labour

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Hold
Majority5,873
Turnout56.8%41,565 votes cast
Electorate73,226

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top