← Back to MPs

MP profile

Dr Simon Opher MP

Labour · Stroud

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
Stroud
Party
Labour
MP since
2024
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

No current committee memberships recordedin Parliament's current Biography record
1 committee membershipprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Stroud

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour
Previous parliamentary career

Previous committee memberships

  • Terminally Ill Adults (End of Life) Bill

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests11
Categories represented5
Published GBP values7
Rectified entries are present. Parliament's rectification marker is shown against the relevant official records below. Project Open Gov does not treat the number of marked records as a count of separate standards cases.

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salaryEmployment / earningsSupport for MP activitiesGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £5,000 — Support for MP activities · Labour Together Limited - £5,000.00
  2. £4,500 — Support for MP activities · Unison - £4,500.00
  3. £3,000 — Support for MP activities · Unison - £3,000.00
  4. £1,560 — Gifts / hospitality · SXSW London - £1,560.00
  5. £1,550 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 23 March 2026 - £1,550.00
  6. £1,500 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 16 October 2025 - £1,500.00
  7. £900 — Employment / earnings · Payment expected for services on 11 June 2026 - £900.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Employment and earnings1

Locum Doctor - NHS

Registered 17 July 2024

Job Title
Locum Doctor
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
NHS
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Public Address
May Lane Surgery, Dursley, Glos GL11 4JN
Related payments / entries

Payment expected for services on 11 June 2026 - £900.00

Registered 17 June 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
No
Received Date
2026-06-11
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£900
Hours worked
9.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 23 March 2026 - £1,550.00

Registered 23 March 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-03-23
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,550
Hours worked
15.50
Hours details
five GP surgeries
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 16 October 2025 - £1,500.00

Registered 17 October 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-10-16
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Payment for work as a locum at three GP surgeries
Value
£1,500
Hours worked
20.00
Hours details
3 GP surgeries
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No
Donations and other support (including loans) for activities as an MP3

Unison - £3,000.00

Registered 28 August 2026

Rectified
Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£3,000
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Unison
Donor Public Address
UNISON Centre 130 Euston Road London NW1 2AY
Donor Status
Trade Union
Rectified
Parliament marks this entry as rectified.

This is a late entry to which the rectification procedure was applied on 1 September 2026. Paragraph 51 of the Procedural Protocol in respect of the Code of Conduct refers.

Unison - £4,500.00

Registered 28 August 2026

Rectified
Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£4,500
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Unison
Donor Public Address
UNISON Centre 130 Euston Road London NW1 2AY United Kingdom
Donor Status
Trade Union
Rectified
Parliament marks this entry as rectified.

This is a late entry to which the rectification procedure was applied on 1 September 2026. Paragraph 51 of the Procedural Protocol in respect of the Code of Conduct refers.

Labour Together Limited - £5,000.00

Registered 28 August 2026

Rectified
Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£5,000
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Labour Together Limited
Donor Public Address
Langley House Park Road East Finchley London N2 8EY United Kingdom
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Labour Together Limited
Donor Company Identifier
09630980
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Rectified
Parliament marks this entry as rectified.

This is a late entry to which the rectification procedure was applied on 1 September 2026. Paragraph 51 of the Procedural Protocol in respect of the Code of Conduct refers.

Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources1

SXSW London - £1,560.00

Registered 3 June 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
I received a complementary platinum pass for SXSW London conference, where I was a speaker
Value
£1,560
Received Date
2026-06-03
Accepted Date
2026-06-03
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
SXSW London
Donor Public Address
Second Floor, 67-71 Shoreditch High Street, London E1 6JJ
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
SXSW London
Donor Company Identifier
16034054
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Visits outside the UK2

International visit to Brazil between 13 April 2026 and 19 April 2026

Registered 20 April 2026

Country
Brazil
Purpose
Fact finding visit to observe work of Brazil's community health workers with Imperial College London.
Start Date
2026-04-13
End Date
2026-04-19
Name
Imperial College London
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
Exhibition Rd, South Kensington, London SW7 2AZ
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Flights (£2200), consumables (£200), taxis/transport (£50) and accommodation (£500)
Value
£2,950
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes

International visit to Palestine between 14 September 2025 and 16 September 2025

Registered 18 September 2025

Country
Palestine
Country
Jordan
Purpose
Fact finding visit organised by the Council for Arab-British Understanding
Start Date
2025-09-14
End Date
2025-09-16
Name
Caabu (Council for Arab-British Understanding)
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
1 Gough Square, London EC4A 3DE
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Flights, accommodation and food
Value
£1,050
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Miscellaneous4

Political Patron for CRAFT (the new body for the UK comedy industry). This is an unpaid role.

Registered 6 March 2026

Arose On
2026-03-06
Description
Political Patron for CRAFT (the new body for the UK comedy industry). This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Vice President of Cotswold Canal Trust. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 2 December 2025

Arose On
2025-11-29
Description
Vice President of Cotswold Canal Trust. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Vice Chair of the Climate and Nature Crisis Caucus. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 22 July 2025

Arose On
2025-07-15
Description
Vice Chair of the Climate and Nature Crisis Caucus. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Director of Prema Arts Centre, Uley. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 17 July 2024

Description
Director of Prema Arts Centre, Uley. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 10 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Health Bill

Puberty blockers for under-18s

8 September 2026 · Division 69

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 142 to the Health Bill, requiring regulations to prevent puberty blockers being prescribed, supplied or used in clinical trials for under-18s in gender-related treatment, unless both Houses approved a trial.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (72 divisions in coverage)

72 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 13 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Health Bill

Puberty blockers for under-18s

8 September 2026 · Division 69

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 142 to the Health Bill, requiring regulations to prevent puberty blockers being prescribed, supplied or used in clinical trials for under-18s in gender-related treatment, unless both Houses approved a trial.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted Aye
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 43

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted No
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Voted No
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Ceramics Industry

6 July 2026 · House of Commons · Westminster Hall

1 speech

Puberty Blockers

23 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 intervention

Progression of Bills through Parliament

8 June 2026 · House of Commons · Westminster Hall

1 speech3 interventions

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Written question 22148

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government · UIN 22148

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government, how much money from central government grants has been allocated to Gloucestershire Fire and Rescue Service in the 2026/27 financial year.

Written question 22147

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Home Office · UIN 22147

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, whether she plans to make Palestinians in Gaza eligible for the new Named Community Sponsorship route.

Education: Weather

Tabled 3 July 2026 · Department for Education · UIN 15773

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, whether her Department plans to produce its own climate adaptation strategy to address the impact of extreme weather on (a) education and (b) infrastructure.

View answer · 13 July 2026

Answered by: Josh MacAlister

The department takes the impact of extreme weather seriously and has published a climate risk assessment covering flooding and overheating here: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/impact-of-uk-climate-change-risk-on-the-delivery-of-education/summa...

Health: Climate Change

Tabled 3 July 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 15772

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, what steps his Department is taking to meet the Climate Change Committee’s proposed health targets for a well-adapted UK.

View answer · 20 July 2026

Answered by: Mrs Sharon Hodgson

The Department of Health and Social Care is working with the Department for Environment Food and Rural Affairs to develop the fourth National Adaptation Programme which will set out the Government’s strategy to adapt to the impacts of the changing climate...

Chiropractic: Lifelong Learning Entitlement

Tabled 26 June 2026 · Department for Education · UIN 13578

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, whether chiropractic integrated Master’s degree programmes currently eligible for Lifelong Learning Entitlement funding at Levels 4–6 will be considered for inclusion in the Additional Priority Entitlement.

View answer · 9 July 2026

Answered by: Josh MacAlister

The Lifelong Learning Entitlement (LLE) will replace and transform the existing student finance system for higher education (HE) at Levels 4 to 6. When launched, it will support individuals to learn, upskill and retrain across their working lives.The LLE ...

View 11 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

Deaths of PC Matthew Blades and PC Tom Clough

EDM 708 · Tabled 1 September 2026 · 44 signatures

Autonomy’s report entitled Cleaning Up Politics

EDM 567 · Tabled 13 July 2026 · 31 signatures

View 16 more Early Day Motions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Stroud is a constituency in the South West region of England. The seat has been held by Dr Simon Opher (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Stroud Gloucester Thornbury and Yate Forest of Dean South Cotswolds Filton and Bradley Stoke Bristol North East Cheltenham Bristol East Bristol Central Tewkesbury Bristol North West North Cotswolds North East Somerset and Hanham West Worcestershire Chippenham Melksham and Devizes North Somerset Hereford and South Herefordshire Monmouthshire Newport East Swindon South North Herefordshire Swindon North Torfaen East Wiltshire Stratford-on-Avon Newport West and Islwyn Cardiff East Witney Banbury Didcot and Wantage Brecon, Radnor and Cwm Tawe England
Stroud Labour

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Gain
Majority11,388
Turnout70.9%55,221 votes cast
Electorate77,905

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top