← Back to MPs

MP profile

Alex Sobel MP

Labour (Co-op) · Leeds Central and Headingley

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Party
Labour (Co-op)
MP since
2017
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

1current committee membership
1 representation · 2 opposition posts · 10 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Leeds Central and Headingley

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour

Current committee memberships

Human Rights (Joint Committee)

Joint · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Cross-cutting

Member · since 13 November 2024
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Leeds North West

Previous opposition posts

  • Shadow Minister (Environment, Food and Rural Affairs)
  • Shadow Minister (Digital, Culture, Media and Sport)

Previous committee memberships

  • Culture, Media and Sport Committee
  • Culture, Media and Sport Sub-committee on Online Harms and Disinformation
  • Shark Fins Bill
  • Retained EU Law (Revocation and Reform Bill)
  • Highgate Cemetery Bill Committee
  • Highgate Cemetery Bill Committee
  • Monken Hadley Common Bill Unopposed Bill Committee
  • Environmental Audit Committee
  • Backbench Business Committee
  • Environmental Audit Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests11
Categories represented3
Published GBP values6

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salarySupport for MP activitiesGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £24,072 — Support for MP activities · Joseph Rowntree Foundation - £24,072.00
  2. £3,432 — Gifts / hospitality · BPI - £3,432.00
  3. £1,314 — Gifts / hospitality · Music Publishers Association - £1,314.00
  4. £660 — Gifts / hospitality · BPI - £660.00
  5. £500 — Gifts / hospitality · Football Association Ltd - £500.00
  6. £340 — Gifts / hospitality · Leeds United FC - £340.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Donations and other support (including loans) for activities as an MP1

Joseph Rowntree Foundation - £24,072.00

Registered 31 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Research services provided for two and a half days a week for up to a year between 17 August 2026 - 16 August 2027 (value stated is the maximum)
Value
£24,072
Received Date
2026-07-14
Accepted Date
2026-07-15
Received End Date
2027-07-15
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Joseph Rowntree Foundation
Donor Public Address
The Garden House, Water End, York YO30 6WQ
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Joseph Rowntree Foundation
Donor Company Identifier
357963
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources5

Music Publishers Association - £1,314.00

Registered 1 June 2026

Appg
Music
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
One ticket and hospitality for the Ivor Novello Awards
Value
£1,314
Received Date
2026-05-21
Accepted Date
2026-05-21
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Music Publishers Association
Donor Public Address
107 Gray's Inn Road, London WC1X 8TZ
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Music Publishers Association
Donor Company Identifier
00140248
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Football Association Ltd - £500.00

Registered 1 June 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two tickets and hospitality for the FA Cup Semi Final between Leeds Utd and Chelsea FC
Value
£500
Received Date
2026-04-26
Accepted Date
2026-04-26
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Football Association Ltd
Donor Public Address
Wembley Stadium, Wembley, London HA9 0WS
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Football Association Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
00077797
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Leeds United FC - £340.00

Registered 12 April 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Ticket for Leeds Utd v Brentford match
Value
£340
Received Date
2026-03-20
Accepted Date
2026-03-20
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Leeds United FC
Donor Public Address
Elland Rd, Leeds LS11 0ES
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Leeds United FC
Donor Company Identifier
06233875
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

BPI - £3,432.00

Registered 15 March 2026

Appg
Music
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
two tickets and hospitality for the Brit Awards at Co-op Live, Manchester
Value
£3,432
Received Date
2026-02-28
Accepted Date
2026-02-28
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
BPI
Donor Public Address
Unit 4/4a, Tileyard Studios, Tileyard Road, London N7 9AH
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
BPI
Donor Company Identifier
01132389
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

BPI - £660.00

Registered 22 October 2025

Appg
Music
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
2 floor tickets and dinner for the Mercury Music Prize at the Utilita Arena, Newcastle
Value
£660
Received Date
2025-10-16
Accepted Date
2025-10-16
Received End Date
2025-10-16
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
BPI
Donor Public Address
Unit 4/4a, Tileyard Studios, Tileyard Road, London N7 9AH
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
BPI
Donor Company Identifier
01132389
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Miscellaneous5

Member of Executive Committee of the British Group of the Inter Parliamentary Union

Registered 28 November 2025

Arose On
2025-11-26
Description
Member of Executive Committee of the British Group of the Inter Parliamentary Union
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Trustee of Leeds International Aid Fund. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 6 November 2025

Arose On
2025-10-30
Description
Trustee of Leeds International Aid Fund. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Vice Chair of the Climate and Nature Crisis Caucus. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 11 September 2025

Arose On
2025-07-15
Description
Vice Chair of the Climate and Nature Crisis Caucus. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

A visiting Parliamentary Fellow at St Anthonys College, Oxford. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 14 March 2024

Arose On
2023-12-04
Description
A visiting Parliamentary Fellow at St Anthonys College, Oxford. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

A director (unpaid) of Transform Labour Ltd (formally Transform Europe (Campaign) Ltd). This is a dormant company, limited by guarantee, which applied for dissolution on 28 June 2023.

Registered 28 July 2023

Arose On
2019-07-02
Description
A director (unpaid) of Transform Labour Ltd (formally Transform Europe (Campaign) Ltd). This is a dormant company, limited by guarantee, which applied for dissolution on 28 June 2023.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Bills

These are bills in the Project Open Gov Bills Tracker where Parliament's Bills API identifies this MP as a proposer or sponsor. This relationship does not imply that the MP is the only person involved in the Bill.

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted Aye
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 43

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Customs (Tariff and Miscellaneous Amendments) (No. 4) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 40

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Customs (Tariff and Miscellaneous Amendments) (No. 4) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted No
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 148 — appeals decided on the merits

10 June 2026 · Division 21

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to change the appeals process in the Railways Bill so that the Office of Rail and Road decides appeals on the merits of the case.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 143 — railcard discounts

10 June 2026 · Division 20

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require Great British Railways to continue offering discounted rail fares for UK veterans, armed forces personnel and their families, and for young people aged 26 to 30 under Amendment 143.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 1 — Passengers’ Charter

10 June 2026 · Division 19

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to insert New Clause 1, which would require a “Passengers' Charter” to set standards and improvement plans for rail passenger experience.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Voted No
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Strategic Lawsuits Against Public Participation

1 September 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

2 speeches

State of Climate and Nature

13 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Israeli Settlements: Trade Ban

9 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech

Antisemitism: University Campuses

30 June 2026 · House of Commons · Westminster Hall

1 intervention
View 11 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Disabled Students' Allowances

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department for Education · UIN 21375

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, whether her Department plans to undertake further engagement with (a) disabled students, (b) suppliers of specialist assistive technology and (c) other stakeholders before implementing changes to Disabled Stude

Heat Networks

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department for Energy Security and Net Zero · UIN 21379

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero, with reference to the ADE: Heat Networks Cost of Heat Research, what estimate her Department has made of the potential cost impact on consumers of not capturing heat wasted from data centres

Heat Networks

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department for Energy Security and Net Zero · UIN 21378

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero, with reference to the ADE: Heat Networks Cost of Heat Research, what consideration she has given to the role of strategic zoning in reducing the cost of heat for consumers.

Heat Networks

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department for Energy Security and Net Zero · UIN 21377

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero, what assessment her Department has made of the potential merits of the ADE: Heat Networks Cost of Heat Research recommendation for a targeted electricity discount.

Heat Networks

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department for Energy Security and Net Zero · UIN 21376

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero, with reference to the findings of the ADE: Heat Networks Cost of Heat Research, if she will bring forward legislative proposals to create a level playing field on carbon for the heat network

View 40 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

Government response to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman report on communication of changes to women’s state pension age

EDM 263 · Tabled 2 June 2026 · 99 signatures

Draft Code of Practice on Services, public functions and associations

EDM 240 · Tabled 1 June 2026 · 172 signatures

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Leeds Central and Headingley is a constituency in the Yorkshire and The Humber region of England. The seat has been held by Alex Sobel (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Leeds Central and Headingley Leeds West and Pudsey Leeds North East Leeds South West and Morley Leeds South Leeds North West Bradford East Spen Valley Wakefield and Rothwell Bradford South Leeds East Shipley Bradford West Halifax Keighley and Ilkley Pontefract, Castleford and Knottingley Wetherby and Easingwold Skipton and Ripon Calder Valley Selby England
Leeds Central and Headingley Labour (Co-op)

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Hold
Majority8,422
Turnout44.8%31,595 votes cast
Electorate70,554

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top