← Back to MPs

MP profile

Dan Carden MP

Labour · Liverpool Walton

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
Liverpool Walton
Party
Labour
MP since
2017
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

Constituency office

Office 10
Clock Tower Building
25 New Hall
Longmoor Lane
Liverpool
L10 1LD

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Current rolesComing up · 15 Sep

Parliamentary Calendar

Coming up

Upcoming parliamentary business linked to this MP's current committees and, where available, Bills Parliament records them as proposing or sponsoring.

Committee

Foreign Affairs Committee

Formal meeting (private meeting)

Private meeting · Tuesday 15 September 2026 · 10:00 BST

Committee items show scheduled business for committees the MP currently serves on and do not confirm individual attendance. Bill items are shown only where Parliament's Bills data records this MP as proposer or sponsor and Calendar Core has an official future stage. A scheduled stage does not mean that stage has happened. Future parliamentary business can change.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

1current committee membership
1 representation · 3 opposition posts · 12 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Liverpool Walton

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour

Current committee memberships

Foreign Affairs Committee

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Departmental

Member · since 21 October 2024
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Liverpool, Walton

Previous opposition posts

  • Shadow Financial Secretary (Treasury)
  • Shadow Secretary of State for International Development
  • Shadow Minister (International Development)

Previous committee memberships

  • Finance (No.2) Bill
  • Finance Bill
  • Foreign Affairs Sub-Committee on the Overseas Territories
  • Foreign Affairs Committee
  • Online Safety Bill
  • Public Accounts Committee
  • Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill (2021)
  • Environmental Audit Committee
  • Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill (2021)
  • Statutory Instruments (Joint Committee)
  • Statutory Instruments (Select Committee)
  • Procedure Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests16
Categories represented5
Published GBP values8

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salaryEmployment / earningsSupport for MP activitiesGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £5,000 — Support for MP activities · Mr Alan Halsall - £5,000.00
  2. £5,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 25 June 2026 - £5,000.00
  3. £3,400 — Support for MP activities · Arab Investments Limited - £3,400.00
  4. £3,000 — Employment / earnings · Agreement starting 01 April 2025 - £3,000.00
  5. £1,458 — Employment / earnings · Agreement starting 27 August 2025 - £1,458.00
  6. £1,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment expected for services on 17 June 2026 - £1,000.00
  7. £850 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 29 January 2026 - £850.00
  8. £460 — Gifts / hospitality · The Jockey Club Racecourses Limited - £460.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Employment and earnings5

Speaking engagements - Arab Investments Limited

Registered 22 July 2026

Job Title
Speaking engagements
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
Arab Investments Limited
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Public Address
11 Berkeley Street, London W1J 8DS
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 25 June 2026 - £5,000.00

Registered 22 July 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-06-25
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Speaking engagement with business leaders
Value
£5,000
Hours worked
4.00
Hours details
estimated
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Speaking engagements - Norton Rose Fulbright LLP

Registered 13 July 2026

Job Title
Speaking engagements
Start Date
2026-06-17
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
Norton Rose Fulbright LLP
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Nature Of Business
Law firm
Payer Public Address
3 More London Riverside, London SE1 2AQ
Related payments / entries

Payment expected for services on 17 June 2026 - £1,000.00

Registered 13 July 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
No
Received Date
2026-06-17
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Speaking at breakfast event for law firms
Value
£1,000
Hours worked
2.00
Hours details
estimated
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Writing articles - Associated Newspapers Ltd (ANMFS Ltd)

Registered 2 February 2026

Job Title
Writing articles
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
Associated Newspapers Ltd (ANMFS Ltd)
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Public Address
Northcliffe House, 2 Derry Street, London W8 5TT
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 29 January 2026 - £850.00

Registered 2 February 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-01-29
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Article published in the Mail on Sunday on 4th January 2026
Value
£850
Hours worked
4.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
Yes
Donatee Paid By
Donated by the Member to the recipient
Donatee Type
Charity

Advisor - Green Rock Robotics INC.

Registered 19 September 2025

Job Title
Advisor
Start Date
2025-08-27
End Date
2027-08-26
Is Until Further Notice
Yes
Payer Name
Green Rock Robotics INC.
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Nature Of Business
Robotics and aviation
Payer Public Address
3150 N Sheffield Ave #201 Chicago IL 60657 USA
Related payments / entries

Agreement starting 27 August 2025 - £1,458.00

Registered 19 September 2025 · 1.2 Employment and earnings - Ongoing paid employment

Regularity Of Payment
Monthly
Start Date
2025-08-27
End Date
2027-08-26
Period for hours worked
Monthly
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Share options of 0.1% (valued at £35,000 in total)
Value
£1,458
Hours worked
5.00
Hours details
approximately
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Member of the Advisory Board of Steps Together Group - Steps Together Group Ltd

Registered 30 April 2025

Job Title
Member of the Advisory Board of Steps Together Group
Start Date
2025-04-01
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
Steps Together Group Ltd
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Nature Of Business
Addiction rehabilitation and treatment services
Payer Public Address
Rear Ground Floor, Hygeia Building, 66-68 College Road, Harrow, Middlesex HA1 1BE
Related payments / entries

Agreement starting 01 April 2025 - £3,000.00

Registered 30 April 2025 · 1.2 Employment and earnings - Ongoing paid employment

Regularity Of Payment
Monthly
Start Date
2025-04-01
Period for hours worked
Monthly
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
(£36,000 per annum)
Value
£3,000
Hours worked
12.00
Hours details
approximately
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No
Donations and other support (including loans) for activities as an MP2

Arab Investments Limited - £3,400.00

Registered 28 June 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Sponsoring a dinner in central London for 40 guests
Value
£3,400
Received Date
2026-06-04
Accepted Date
2026-06-04
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Arab Investments Limited
Donor Public Address
11 Berkeley Street, London W1J 8DS
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Arab Investments Limited
Donor Company Identifier
01671921
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Mr Alan Halsall - £5,000.00

Registered 24 May 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Paid to my campaign fund
Value
£5,000
Received Date
2026-04-28
Accepted Date
2026-04-28
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Mr Alan Halsall
Donor Status
Individual
Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources1

The Jockey Club Racecourses Limited - £460.00

Registered 7 May 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
attendance and hospitality for two people at the Grand National at Aintree racecourse for me and my partner
Value
£460
Received Date
2026-04-11
Accepted Date
2026-04-11
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
The Jockey Club Racecourses Limited
Donor Public Address
75 High Holborn, London WC1V 6LS
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
The Jockey Club Racecourses Limited
Donor Company Identifier
02909409
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Visits outside the UK4

International visit to India between 11 March 2026 and 14 March 2026

Registered 9 April 2026

Country
India
Purpose
To attend and speak at NXT 2026 Conference.
Start Date
2026-03-11
End Date
2026-03-14
Name
Direct News Private Limited
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
275 Piccadilly House, Captain Gaur Marg, Delhi 110065
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Outbound flight (£950), accommodation (£780) and return flight (£3746.30)
Value
£5,476.30
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes

International visit to United Arab Emirates between 27 January 2026 and 01 February 2026

Registered 23 February 2026

Country
United Arab Emirates
Purpose
Cross-party visit to engage with parliamentarians and civic society representatives.
Start Date
2026-01-27
End Date
2026-02-01
Appg
United Arab Emirates
Name
Embassy of the United Arab Emirates
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
1-2 Grosvenor Crescent, London SW1X 7EE
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Flights (£4095), food and accommodation (£2920) and in-country transport (£2349)
Value
£9,364
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes

International visit to Qatar between 04 December 2025 and 09 December 2025

Registered 30 December 2025

Country
Qatar
Destination
Doha
Purpose
To attend the Doha Forum and participate in meetings with senior Qatari government representatives and others.
Start Date
2025-12-04
End Date
2025-12-09
Name
Doha Forum
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
Ministry of Foreign Affairs Almirqab Tower West Bay Doha Qatar
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Flights, accommodation and food £5957
Value
£5,957
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes

International visit to Germany between 12 November 2025 and 14 November 2025

Registered 26 November 2025

Country
Germany
Purpose
To attend the Tiergarten Conference in Berlin.
Start Date
2025-11-12
End Date
2025-11-14
Name
Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
Hiroshimastraße 28, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Flights (£268.71) and accommodation (£191.29)
Value
£460
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Miscellaneous4

Executive Member and President of the Board of Young Parliamentarians of the Inter-Parliamentary Union. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 1 November 2023

Arose On
2023-03-13
Description
Executive Member and President of the Board of Young Parliamentarians of the Inter-Parliamentary Union. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Treasurer and Executive Member of the British Group of the Inter-Parliamentary Union. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 1 November 2023

Arose On
2022-11-30
Description
Treasurer and Executive Member of the British Group of the Inter-Parliamentary Union. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Member of the Commission on Alcohol Harm, established by the Alcohol Harm Alliance (a consortium of over 50 non-governmental organisations) to promote evidence based policies to reduce the harm caused by alcohol.

Registered 7 July 2021

Arose On
2021-06-24
Description
Member of the Commission on Alcohol Harm, established by the Alcohol Harm Alliance (a consortium of over 50 non-governmental organisations) to promote evidence based policies to reduce the harm caused by alcohol.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Other

Unpaid director of Addiction Recovery Now Ltd, a company limited by guarantee. The company researches addiction issues and seeks to promote visible recovery in society.

Registered 24 August 2021

Arose On
2021-07-28
Description
Unpaid director of Addiction Recovery Now Ltd, a company limited by guarantee. The company researches addiction issues and seeks to promote visible recovery in society.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

No recorded vote
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 43

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

Amendment 11 — Defence Housing Service budget

22 June 2026 · Division 36

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 11, which would have required the Defence Housing Service to operate within a budget set out in the Defence Investment Plan.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 22 — impact of Defence Investment Plan delays

22 June 2026 · Division 35

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should publish an assessment of the impact of delays to the Defence Investment Plan.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 11 — ECHR derogation for overseas operations

22 June 2026 · Division 34

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Secretary of State should be required to authorise an ECHR derogation for significant overseas military operations.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 4 — settlement fee waiver for service families

22 June 2026 · Division 33

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to waive indefinite-leave-to-remain fees for spouses or children of serving or former armed forces members who had served for four or more years.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted No
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill

Second Reading

21 May 2026 · Division 6

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill should receive a Second Reading and continue to its next stage in Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (p) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 4

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the Opposition's motion for an Address in response to the King's Speech, regretting the absence of a Defence Readiness Bill and related defence planning commitments.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (l) — defence policy

20 May 2026 · Division 3

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the King's Speech Address debate to express regret that the Gracious Speech did not include a Defence Readiness Bill and to call for specific defence policy actions.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King’s Speech: Amendment (i) — energy security

Amendment (i) — energy security

19 May 2026 · Division 1

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on a Conservative amendment to the King’s Speech motion on energy security.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Future of British Horseracing

7 July 2026 · House of Commons · Westminster Hall

1 speech1 intervention

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Animal Experiments: Research

Tabled 14 July 2026 · Department for Science, Innovation and Technology · UIN 18685

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Science, Innovation and Technology, what assessment her Department has made of the potential merits of adopting the legislative framework championed by Animal Free Research UK known as Herbie's Law.

View answer · 17 July 2026

Answered by: Kanishka Narayan

The Government has assessed that the UK’s existing legal framework already requires animals to be used in science only where no validated alternative exists. Through the Replacing Animals in Science strategy, we are accelerating the development, validatio...

Fractures: Health Services

Tabled 14 July 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 18686

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, what progress is being made towards establishing Fracture Liaison Services across all NHS trusts by 2030.

View answer · 20 July 2026

Answered by: Mrs Sharon Hodgson

Our 10-Year Health Plan committed to rolling out Fracture Liaison Services by 2030, and outlines our vision for a more devolved health service.We are acting across the whole pathway of fracture prevention. This includes improving access to diagnosis, supp...

Nigeria: Abduction

Tabled 23 June 2026 · Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office · UIN 12223

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs, whether she has had discussions with her Nigerian counterpart on the recent kidnapping of schoolchildren and teachers in Oyo State.

View answer · 1 July 2026

Answered by: Chris Elmore

I refer the Hon Member to the statement I made to the House on 27 November 2025 (HCWS1105), where I addressed the security challenges facing Nigeria due to the activities of terrorist groups and criminal bandits, and set out how the UK is supporting the N...

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Liverpool Walton is a constituency in the North West region of England. The seat has been held by Dan Carden (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Liverpool Walton Liverpool West Derby Bootle Liverpool Riverside Knowsley Liverpool Wavertree Liverpool Garston West Lancashire Birkenhead Sefton Central Widnes and Halewood Wallasey St Helens North Wirral West St Helens South and Whiston Makerfield Wigan Warrington North Warrington South Tatton England
Liverpool Walton Labour

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Hold
Majority20,245
Turnout53.2%36,886 votes cast
Electorate69,317

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top