← Back to MPs

MP profile

Mrs Kemi Badenoch MP

Conservative · North West Essex

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
North West Essex
Party
Conservative
MP since
2017
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

Parliamentary office

House of Commons
London
SW1A 0AA

The phone number provided is for the UK Parliament Contact Centre. When you call, a member of the team will attempt to put you through to the Member's office.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Current roles
  • Opposition roleLeader of HM Official Opposition

    HM Official Opposition · Since 2 November 2024

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

No current committee memberships recordedin Parliament's current Biography record
1 representation · 8 government posts · 2 opposition posts · 1 other parliamentary post · 5 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • North West Essex

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Conservative

Other parliamentary posts

  • Leader of the Conservative Party
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Saffron Walden

Previous government posts

  • President of the Board of Trade
  • Secretary of State for Business and Trade
  • Minister for Women and Equalities
  • Secretary of State for International Trade and President of the Board of Trade
  • Minister of State (Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office) (jointly with Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities)
  • Minister for Equalities
  • Exchequer Secretary (HM Treasury)
  • Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Education)

Previous opposition posts

  • Shadow Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities
  • Shadow Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing, Communities & Local Government

Previous other posts

  • Vice-Chair, Conservative Party

Previous committee memberships

  • Local Government (Disqualification) Bill
  • Speaker's Committee on the Electoral Commission
  • Elections Bill
  • Public Accounts Committee
  • Justice Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests18
Categories represented4
Published GBP values13

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salarySupport for MP activitiesGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £60,000 — Support for MP activities · Philip Charles Harris - £60,000.00
  2. £50,000 — Support for MP activities · J.C. Bamford Excavators Ltd - £50,000.00
  3. £41,812.50 — Support for MP activities · Charles Keymer - £41,812.50
  4. £10,000 — Support for MP activities · Watt Trading Ltd - £10,000.00
  5. £10,000 — Support for MP activities · James Mellon - £10,000.00
  6. £10,000 — Support for MP activities · RNIE Group LTD - £10,000.00
  7. £10,000 — Support for MP activities · Giles Davies - £10,000.00
  8. £7,548.55 — Gifts / hospitality · Neil Record - £7,548.55
  9. £1,360 — Gifts / hospitality · The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club Limited - £1,360.00
  10. £1,250 — Gifts / hospitality · Global Media & Entertainment Ltd - £1,250.00
  11. £1,000 — Support for MP activities · Rachel Anderson - £1,000.00
  12. £960 — Gifts / hospitality · Carlton Club - £960.00
  13. £390.14 — Gifts / hospitality · BBC Studios Ltd - £390.14

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Donations and other support (including loans) for activities as an MP8

Charles Keymer - £41,812.50

Registered 27 November 2025

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Financial support to cover the cost of salary for a member of staff for the Leader of the Opposition. Three monthly instalments of £4,312.50 and one instalment of £25,875 for the period September 2025 to May 2026.
Value
£41,812.50
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Charles Keymer
Donor Status
Individual

J.C. Bamford Excavators Ltd - £50,000.00

Registered 12 November 2025

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
In support of my role as Leader of the Conservative Party
Value
£50,000
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
J.C. Bamford Excavators Ltd
Donor Public Address
Lakeside Works, Rocester, Uttoxeter, ST14 5JP
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
J.C. Bamford Excavators Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
00561597
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Philip Charles Harris - £60,000.00

Registered 9 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
in support of my role of Leader of the Opposition (paid in monthly donations of £5,000)
Value
£60,000
Received Date
2026-07-01
Accepted Date
2026-07-01
Received End Date
2027-06-30
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Philip Charles Harris
Donor Status
Individual

Rachel Anderson - £1,000.00

Registered 8 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£1,000
Received Date
2026-07-07
Accepted Date
2026-07-07
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Rachel Anderson
Donor Status
Individual

Giles Davies - £10,000.00

Registered 16 March 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
In support of my role as Leader of the Opposition
Value
£10,000
Received Date
2026-03-12
Accepted Date
2026-03-12
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Giles Davies
Donor Status
Individual

RNIE Group LTD - £10,000.00

Registered 16 February 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
In support of the role of Leader of the Opposition
Value
£10,000
Received Date
2026-02-09
Accepted Date
2026-02-09
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
RNIE Group LTD
Donor Public Address
4th Floor Cumberland House, 15-17 Cumberland Place, Southampton, Hampshire, United Kingdom, SO15 2BG
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
RNIE Group LTD
Donor Company Identifier
12801386
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

James Mellon - £10,000.00

Registered 27 January 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
In support of my role as Leader of the Opposition
Value
£10,000
Received Date
2026-01-27
Accepted Date
2026-01-27
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
James Mellon
Donor Status
Individual

Watt Trading Ltd - £10,000.00

Registered 19 January 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
In support of my role as Leader of the Conservative Party
Value
£10,000
Received Date
2026-01-09
Accepted Date
2026-01-09
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Watt Trading Ltd
Donor Public Address
C/O Bpb Accountancy Ltd Paulton House, Old Mills, Paulton, United Kingdom, BS39 7SX
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Watt Trading Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
12906443
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources5

The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club Limited - £1,360.00

Registered 13 July 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Hospitality and two tickets for attendance at Wimbledon Championship for myself and one guest
Value
£1,360
Received Date
2026-07-11
Accepted Date
2026-07-11
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club Limited
Donor Public Address
Church Road, Wimbledon, SW19 5AE
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club Limited
Donor Company Identifier
7546718
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

BBC Studios Ltd - £390.14

Registered 3 June 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
I attended the 100 birthday celebration in honour of Sir David Attenborough at The Royal Albert Hall hosted by the BBC with a guest. The notional value of the tickets was £98.18 each and hospitality was valued at £96.89 per head
Value
£390.14
Received Date
2026-05-08
Accepted Date
2026-05-08
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
BBC Studios Ltd
Donor Public Address
1 Television Centre, 101 Wood Lane, London W12 7FA
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
BBC Studios Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
04463546
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Carlton Club - £960.00

Registered 19 May 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Honorary membership value of which is currently £960 per annum
Value
£960
Received Date
2024-12-11
Accepted Date
2024-12-18
Received End Date
2029-04-11
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Carlton Club
Donor Public Address
69 St James’s Street, London, SW1A 1PJ
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Carlton Club
Donor Company Identifier
00573221
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Neil Record - £7,548.55

Registered 11 March 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Accommodation and hospitality for me and four members of my family, with an estimated value of £7548.55 provided by Mr Record at his private residence
Value
£7,548.55
Received Date
2026-02-13
Accepted Date
2026-02-13
Received End Date
2026-02-18
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Neil Record
Donor Status
Individual

Global Media & Entertainment Ltd - £1,250.00

Registered 12 December 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Five tickets to the Jingle Bell Ball for myself and four members of my family
Value
£1,250
Received Date
2025-12-07
Accepted Date
2025-12-07
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Global Media & Entertainment Ltd
Donor Public Address
30 Leicester Square, London WC2H 7LA
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Global Media & Entertainment Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
06251684
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Visits outside the UK1

International visit to United States between 17 October 2025 and 20 October 2025

Registered 12 November 2025

Country
United States
Purpose
To participate in a conference organised by the Hoover Institute.
Start Date
2025-10-17
End Date
2025-10-20
Name
Hoover Institution
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
434 Galvez Mall, Stanford University, CA 94305 USA
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Accommodation for myself and two staff members (£4116.00). On 11 December Hoover reimbursed (£23,363.96), for flights for myself and two staff members, originally made by the Conservative Party
Value
£27,479.96
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Miscellaneous4

A Person with Significant Control of C&UCO Properties. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 27 November 2024

Arose On
2024-11-02
Description
A Person with Significant Control of C&UCO Properties. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Formal role with a party organisation

A Person with Significant Control of the Conservative Party Foundation. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 27 November 2024

Arose On
2024-11-02
Description
A Person with Significant Control of the Conservative Party Foundation. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Formal role with a party organisation

A Person with Significant Control of C&UCO Management Limited. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 27 November 2024

Arose On
2024-11-02
Description
A Person with Significant Control of C&UCO Management Limited. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Formal role with a party organisation

A Person with Significant Control of C&UCO Services Limited. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 27 November 2024

Arose On
2024-11-02
Description
A Person with Significant Control of C&UCO Services Limited. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Formal role with a party organisation
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 10 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Health Bill

Puberty blockers for under-18s

8 September 2026 · Division 69

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 142 to the Health Bill, requiring regulations to prevent puberty blockers being prescribed, supplied or used in clinical trials for under-18s in gender-related treatment, unless both Houses approved a trial.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (72 divisions in coverage)

72 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 13 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Health Bill

Puberty blockers for under-18s

8 September 2026 · Division 69

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 142 to the Health Bill, requiring regulations to prevent puberty blockers being prescribed, supplied or used in clinical trials for under-18s in gender-related treatment, unless both Houses approved a trial.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted No
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 19 — Attorney General consent for prosecutions

14 July 2026 · Division 58

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether prosecutions for the Bill’s offence of misleading the public should require the consent of the Attorney General.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 3 — safe disclosure to inquiries

14 July 2026 · Division 56

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether public authorities or officials assisting an inquiry, investigation or inquest should have to demonstrate that relevant people can safely disclose information.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted Aye
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — goods vehicle VED review

1 July 2026 · Division 48

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 5 to require a Treasury review of the temporary goods vehicle VED (road freight tax) rates and reporting to Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 43

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Defence spending and readiness — Prime Minister’s amendment

Defence spending and readiness — Prime Minister’s amendment

23 June 2026 · Division 38

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion on Defence spending and readiness - Prime Minister's Amendment.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 22 — impact of Defence Investment Plan delays

22 June 2026 · Division 35

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should publish an assessment of the impact of delays to the Defence Investment Plan.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 13 — self-directed conduct offences

17 June 2026 · Division 31

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on a proposal (Amendment 13) to create new offences for conduct that is self-directed and prepared in relation to a designated body under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 8 — hostile activity planned in the UK

17 June 2026 · Division 30

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should explicitly cover hostile activity that is planned in the UK but carried out outside the UK.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill

Allocation of Time — timetable for further consideration

17 June 2026 · Division 28

No recorded vote
Procedural voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Allocation of Time motion for the National Security (State Threats) Bill, setting the timetable for its further consideration in the House.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 148 — appeals decided on the merits

10 June 2026 · Division 21

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to change the appeals process in the Railways Bill so that the Office of Rail and Road decides appeals on the merits of the case.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 143 — railcard discounts

10 June 2026 · Division 20

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require Great British Railways to continue offering discounted rail fares for UK veterans, armed forces personnel and their families, and for young people aged 26 to 30 under Amendment 143.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 1 — Passengers’ Charter

10 June 2026 · Division 19

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to insert New Clause 1, which would require a “Passengers' Charter” to set standards and improvement plans for rail passenger experience.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026

Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026

9 June 2026 · Division 18

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 12 — financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 16

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 12, which would cap the amount of financial assistance available under the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Act.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

Amendment 12 — sunset extension

8 June 2026 · Division 12

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 12 to prevent the Bill's ‘sunset' on principal transfer powers being extended.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 13 — single living accommodation standards

2 June 2026 · Division 10

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13 to the Armed Forces Bill, which would amend the Renters' Rights Act 2025 to set defence housing standards for single living accommodation.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 6 — ECHR derogation for overseas operations

2 June 2026 · Division 9

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to consider whether to make an ECHR derogation for significant overseas operations under the Human Rights Act 1998.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — immigration application fee waiver

2 June 2026 · Division 8

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to include New Clause 5, which would waive fees for applications for indefinite leave to remain by spouses and dependants of serving or discharged armed forces personnel.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill

Second Reading

21 May 2026 · Division 6

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill should receive a Second Reading and continue to its next stage in Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (p) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 4

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the Opposition's motion for an Address in response to the King's Speech, regretting the absence of a Defence Readiness Bill and related defence planning commitments.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (l) — defence policy

20 May 2026 · Division 3

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the King's Speech Address debate to express regret that the Gracious Speech did not include a Defence Readiness Bill and to call for specific defence policy actions.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Voted Aye
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Engagements

2 September 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

6 supplementary questions

Direction of Government

1 September 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Engagements

15 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

6 supplementary questions

Engagements

1 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

6 supplementary questions

Engagements

24 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

6 supplementary questions
View 6 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

No written questions are currently stored within this coverage period.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

North West Essex is a constituency in the East of England region of England. The seat has been held by Mrs Kemi Badenoch (Conservative) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

North West Essex Harlow Braintree Hertford and Stortford Chelmsford Brentwood and Ongar South Cambridgeshire Cambridge Basildon and Billericay Epping Forest Romford Hornchurch and Upminster North East Hertfordshire Broxbourne West Suffolk Witham Ilford North South Basildon and East Thurrock Ilford South Dagenham and Rainham Rayleigh and Wickford Ely and East Cambridgeshire Thurrock Maldon Chingford and Woodford Green Barking Castle Point Leyton and Wanstead East Ham St Neots and Mid Cambridgeshire Enfield North West Ham and Beckton Erith and Thamesmead Walthamstow Bexleyheath and Crayford Edmonton and Winchmore Hill Dartford Southend East and Rochford Stratford and Bow Southend West and Leigh Tottenham Stevenage Old Bexley and Sidcup Greenwich and Woolwich Southgate and Wood Green Hackney North and Stoke Newington Rochester and Strood Gravesham Poplar and Limehouse Welwyn Hatfield Hackney South and Shoreditch Bethnal Green and Stepney Eltham and Chislehurst Hornsey and Friern Barnet Islington North Islington South and Finsbury Colchester Lewisham North Bermondsey and Old Southwark Lewisham East Peckham Holborn and St Pancras Orpington Chipping Barnet Hitchin South Suffolk Cities of London and Westminster Hampstead and Highgate Chatham and Aylesford Lewisham West and East Dulwich Finchley and Golders Green Vauxhall and Camberwell Green Gillingham and Rainham Sevenoaks Bury St Edmunds and Stowmarket Dulwich and West Norwood Beckenham and Penge Hertsmere Bromley and Biggin Hill Hendon Clapham and Brixton Hill Queen's Park and Maida Vale South West Norfolk Tonbridge Battersea Kensington and Bayswater Streatham and Croydon North Harwich and North Essex Croydon East St Albans Brent East North East Cambridgeshire Chelsea and Fulham Croydon West Tooting Huntingdon Harrow East Mitcham and Morden Hammersmith and Chiswick Brent West Ealing Central and Acton Putney Sittingbourne and Sheppey Luton South and South Bedfordshire Croydon South Wimbledon Carshalton and Wallington Luton North Harrow West Watford Richmond Park Sutton and Cheam Faversham and Mid Kent Ealing North Bedford Brentford and Isleworth Ealing Southall North Bedfordshire Harpenden and Berkhamsted South West Hertfordshire Kingston and Surbiton Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner Mid Bedfordshire Clacton Twickenham Hemel Hempstead Uxbridge and South Ruislip Ipswich Epsom and Ewell North West Cambridgeshire Feltham and Heston Hayes and Harlington Esher and Walton Dunstable and Leighton Buzzard Central Suffolk and North Ipswich Spelthorne Waveney Valley Aylesbury Beaconsfield Chesham and Amersham Runnymede and Weybridge Canterbury Slough Corby and East Northamptonshire Wellingborough and Rushden Windsor Milton Keynes Central Milton Keynes North Herne Bay and Sandwich Woking Suffolk Coastal Maidenhead Surrey Heath Buckingham and Bletchley Kettering East Thanet Wycombe Bracknell Northampton South Northampton North Aldershot Mid Buckinghamshire Wokingham Daventry Earley and Woodley Reading Central South Northamptonshire Henley and Thame North East Hampshire Lowestoft Oxford East Reading West and Mid Berkshire Bicester and Woodstock South Leicestershire Didcot and Wantage Rugby Banbury North West Hampshire England
North West Essex Conservative

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyConservativeCon Hold
Majority2,610
Turnout68.2%54,386 votes cast
Electorate79,698

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top