← Back to MPs

MP profile

Alberto Costa MP

Conservative · South Leicestershire

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Party
Conservative
MP since
2015
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Current rolesComing up · 15 Sep

Parliamentary Calendar

Coming up

Upcoming parliamentary business linked to this MP's current committees and, where available, Bills Parliament records them as proposing or sponsoring.

Committee

Administration Committee

General Election Planning

Updated

Oral evidence · Tuesday 15 September 2026 · 10:00 BST

Room 15, Palace of Westminster

Committee items show scheduled business for committees the MP currently serves on and do not confirm individual attendance. Bill items are shown only where Parliament's Bills data records this MP as proposer or sponsor and Calendar Core has an official future stage. A scheduled stage does not mean that stage has happened. Future parliamentary business can change.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

5current committee memberships
1 representation · 1 opposition post · 5 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • South Leicestershire
Constituency boundaries changed in 2024. Parliament records the current constituency separately from the constituency that existed before the 2024 General Election, even where the constituency name remained the same.

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Conservative

Current committee memberships

Administration Committee

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Domestic

Member · since 25 November 2024

Committee of Privileges

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Domestic

Chair · since 5 November 2024Member · since 28 October 2024

Committee on Standards

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Domestic

Chair · since 11 September 2024Member · since 11 September 2024

Liaison Committee (Commons)

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Domestic

Member · since 4 December 2024

Speaker's Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority

House of Commons · Other

Member · since 20 November 2024
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • South Leicestershire

Previous opposition posts

  • Shadow Solicitor General

Previous committee memberships

  • Criminal Justice Bill
  • Scottish Affairs Committee
  • Committee of Privileges
  • Committee on Standards
  • Justice Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests29
Categories represented6
Published GBP values21

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salarySupport for MP activitiesGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £5,000 — Support for MP activities · Heather Craven - £5,000.00
  2. £4,276.56 — Support for MP activities · Tratos UK Limited - £4,276.56
  3. £4,276.55 — Support for MP activities · Tratos UK Limited - £4,276.55
  4. £2,500 — Support for MP activities · Heather Craven - £2,500.00
  5. £1,800 — Support for MP activities · Michael Fry - £1,800.00
  6. £828 — Gifts / hospitality · Italian Embassy in London - £828.00
  7. £192.38 — Gifts / hospitality · All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £192.38
  8. £160 — Gifts / hospitality · Italian Embassy in London - £160.00
  9. £140 — Gifts / hospitality · Italian Embassy in London - £140.00
  10. £140 — Gifts / hospitality · Italian Embassy in London - £140.00
  11. £70 — Gifts / hospitality · Italian Embassy in London - £70.00
  12. £41.40 — Gifts / hospitality · All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £41.40
  13. £35.90 — Gifts / hospitality · All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £35.90
  14. £32.40 — Gifts / hospitality · All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £32.40
  15. £19.20 — Gifts / hospitality · All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £19.20
  16. £15.20 — Gifts / hospitality · All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £15.20
  17. £11 — Gifts / hospitality · All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £11.00
  18. £9.80 — Gifts / hospitality · All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £9.80
  19. £6.45 — Gifts / hospitality · All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £6.45
  20. £5.48 — Gifts / hospitality · All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £5.48
  21. £3.80 — Gifts / hospitality · All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £3.80

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Donations and other support (including loans) for activities as an MP5

Heather Craven - £5,000.00

Registered 14 April 2026

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
For my campaign fund, held by my local party association.
Value
£5,000
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Heather Craven
Donor Status
Individual

Heather Craven - £2,500.00

Registered 14 April 2026

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
For my local party association.
Value
£2,500
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Heather Craven
Donor Status
Individual

Tratos UK Limited - £4,276.56

Registered 4 March 2026

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Direct mail and printing costs for a constituency-wide newsletter. The total cost was split across two payments; this entry relates to the second and final payment.
Value
£4,276.56
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Tratos UK Limited
Donor Public Address
50 Randles Road, Knowsley Business Park, Prescot, Merseyside L34 9HX
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Tratos UK Limited
Donor Company Identifier
01524815
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Tratos UK Limited - £4,276.55

Registered 9 February 2026

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Direct mail and printing costs for a constituency-wide newsletter. The total cost was split across two payments; this entry relates to the first payment.
Value
£4,276.55
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Tratos UK Limited
Donor Public Address
50 Randles Road Knowsley Business Park Prescot Merseyside L34 9HX
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Tratos UK Limited
Donor Company Identifier
01524815
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Michael Fry - £1,800.00

Registered 6 October 2025

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
pro bono legal advice on planning, provided to me, to a maximum value of £1,500 (+VAT)
Value
£1,800
Received Date
2025-09-14
Accepted Date
2025-09-14
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Michael Fry
Donor Status
Individual
Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources16

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £41.40

Registered 5 June 2026

Appg
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two taxi journeys, to and from the Residence of the Italian Ambassador, for a dinner hosted by the Italian Embassy. The outward journey was shared with a member of my staff and an APPG member; the return journey was shared with an APPG member
Value
£41.40
Received Date
2026-05-19
Accepted Date
2026-05-19
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Donor Public Address
c/o House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
APPG Bank Account

Italian Embassy in London - £160.00

Registered 5 June 2026

Appg
APPG Italy
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Dinner provided to me and a member of my staff (in my capacity as Chair of the APPG Italy), alongside other APPG members
Value
£160
Received Date
2026-05-19
Accepted Date
2026-05-19
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Italian Embassy in London
Donor Public Address
4-5 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6JP
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
Italian Embassy in London

Italian Embassy in London - £140.00

Registered 2 April 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
My member of staff and their guest attended a reception at the Italian Embassy in London, at which refreshments were provided. The approximate value for two people is outlined below
Value
£140
Received Date
2026-03-19
Accepted Date
2026-03-19
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Italian Embassy in London
Donor Public Address
4-5 Buckingham Gate, London, SW1E 6JP
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
Italian Embassy in London

Italian Embassy in London - £70.00

Registered 1 April 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
My member of staff attended a reception at the Italian Embassy in London, at which refreshments were provided. The approximate value per person is declared below. The threshold for registration was reached on 10 March 2026
Value
£70
Received Date
2026-02-02
Accepted Date
2026-02-02
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Italian Embassy in London
Donor Public Address
4-5 Buckingham Gate, London, SW1E 6JP
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
Italian Embassy in London

Italian Embassy in London - £140.00

Registered 27 March 2026

Appg
APPG Italy
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Approximate value of refreshments provided to me and a member of staff following an APPG meeting
Value
£140
Received Date
2026-02-09
Accepted Date
2026-02-09
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Italian Embassy in London
Donor Public Address
4-5 Buckingham Gate, London, SW1E 6JP
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
Italian Embassy in London

Italian Embassy in London - £828.00

Registered 27 March 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Approximate value of refreshments for myself and 45 guests following the ceremony at which I was conferred the title of Officer of the Order of the Star of Italy
Value
£828
Received Date
2026-03-10
Accepted Date
2026-03-10
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Italian Embassy in London
Donor Public Address
4-5 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6JP
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
Italian Embassy in London

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £6.45

Registered 25 March 2026

Appg
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Provision of lunch for a staff member in connection with my duties as Chair of the APPG on Italy
Value
£6.45
Received Date
2026-02-13
Accepted Date
2026-02-13
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Donor Public Address
c/o House of Commons London SW1A 0AA
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
APPG Bank Account

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £192.38

Registered 25 March 2026

Appg
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Provision of drinks for myself and 45 guests in connection with my award of Officer of the Order of the Star of Italy
Value
£192.38
Received Date
2026-03-10
Accepted Date
2026-03-10
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Donor Public Address
c/o House of Commons London SW1A 0AA
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
APPG Bank Account

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £3.80

Registered 25 March 2026

Appg
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Taxi fare for me and a member of staff in my capacity as Chair of the APPG Italy
Value
£3.80
Received Date
2026-02-09
Accepted Date
2026-02-09
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Donor Public Address
c/o House of Commons London SW1A 0AA
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
APPG Bank Account

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £35.90

Registered 25 March 2026

Appg
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Provision of refreshments for a meeting held in my capacity as Chair of the APPG Italy
Value
£35.90
Received Date
2026-02-24
Accepted Date
2026-02-24
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Donor Public Address
c/o House of Commons London SW1A 0AA
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
APPG Bank Account

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £9.80

Registered 25 March 2026

Appg
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Provision of refreshments for a meeting held in my capacity as Chair of the APPG Italy
Value
£9.80
Received Date
2026-01-21
Accepted Date
2026-01-21
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Donor Public Address
c/o House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
APPG Bank Account

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £11.00

Registered 25 March 2026

Appg
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Taxi fare in connection with my role as Chair of the APPG Italy
Value
£11
Received Date
2026-02-09
Accepted Date
2026-02-09
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Donor Public Address
c/o House of Commons London SW1A 0AA
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
APPG Bank Account

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £19.20

Registered 25 March 2026

Appg
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Taxi fare in connection with my award of Officer of the Order of the Star of Italy
Value
£19.20
Received Date
2026-03-10
Accepted Date
2026-03-10
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Donor Public Address
c/o House of Commons London SW1A 0AA
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
APPG Bank Account

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £15.20

Registered 25 March 2026

Appg
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Provision of refreshments for a meeting held in my capacity as Chair of the APPG Italy
Value
£15.20
Received Date
2026-01-19
Accepted Date
2026-01-19
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Donor Public Address
c/o House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
APPG Bank Account

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £5.48

Registered 25 March 2026

Appg
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Provision of refreshments for a meeting held in my capacity as Chair of the APPG Italy
Value
£5.48
Received Date
2026-01-28
Accepted Date
2026-01-28
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Donor Public Address
c/o House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
APPG Bank Account

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy - £32.40

Registered 25 March 2026

Appg
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Provision of refreshments for myself and a member of staff during a meeting held in my capacity as Chair of the APPG Italy
Value
£32.40
Received Date
2026-03-17
Accepted Date
2026-03-17
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Donor Public Address
c/o House of Commons London SW1A 0AA
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
APPG Bank Account
Visits outside the UK1

International visit to Italy between 05 October 2025 and 12 October 2025

Registered 29 October 2025

Country
Italy
Purpose
As Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy, the group received an invite from the Chair of the British Friendship Group in the Italian Parliament, as well as an additional invite to visit two factories run by an Anglo-Italian business. The visit to the Italian Parliament was organised by the Italian Interparliamentary Union. The Group met with over 40 senior Italian MPs and Senators (including chairs of Italian parliamentary select committees) in both Houses of the Italian Parliament, as well as undertaking meetings with representatives of the British expat community and at the British School at Rome. Some members of the group also visited two factories run by an Anglo-Italian business company.
Start Date
2025-10-05
End Date
2025-10-12
Appg
APPG Italy
Name
Italian IPU Group
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
Protocol Office, Chamber of Deputies, Piazza del Parlamento 24, 00186 Rome
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Lunch for me and a member of my staff (£95.52). Tour of the Colosseum for myself, a member of my staff and one guest (£169.80)
Value
£265.32
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Name
All Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Flights for a staff member and a guest (£368.15), meals for myself, my staff member and a guest (£270.87), transport for myself, my staff member and a guest (£250.21), other incidental costs (£100.21)
Value
£989.44
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Name
Dr Maurizio Bragagni
Is Private Individual
Yes
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
For myself, my staff member and one guest: Transport (£284.45), accommodation (£156.30), meals (£273.57) & other costs (£26.07)
Value
£740.39
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Name
Italian Parliament
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
Camera dei Deputati Palazzo Montecitorio - Piazza Montecitorio 00186 - Rome (Italy)
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Presentation of symbolic, parliamentary items exchanged between me, as Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Italy, and the various senior Italian select committee chairs we met. Estimated value of ceremonial items is
Value
£275
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Land and property (within or outside the UK)2

Residential in London

Registered 2 June 2015

Is Sole Owner
No
Location
London
Property Description
Flat
Property Owner Details
owned jointly with my wife
Registrable Rental Income
Yes
Rental Income Start Date
2016-06-01
Number Of Properties
1
Is Land
No
Is Any Rental Income Paid To Another Person
No
Country
United Kingdom
Property Type
Residential

Residential in Glasgow

Registered 2 June 2015

Is Sole Owner
Yes
Location
Glasgow
Property Description
Flat
Registrable Rental Income
Yes
Rental Income Start Date
2016-06-01
Number Of Properties
1
Is Land
No
Is Any Rental Income Paid To Another Person
No
Country
United Kingdom
Property Type
Residential
Miscellaneous4

I received the title of Officer of the Order of the Star of Italy on Tuesday 10 March 2026.

Registered 19 March 2026

Arose On
2026-03-10
Description
I received the title of Officer of the Order of the Star of Italy on Tuesday 10 March 2026.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Other

I am an executive committee member of the Lutterworth and District Action Group (unpaid).

Registered 21 October 2025

Arose On
2025-10-04
Description
I am an executive committee member of the Lutterworth and District Action Group (unpaid).
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Non-practising solicitor and notary public in Scotland.

Registered 22 October 2015

Arose On
2016-10-31
Description
Non-practising solicitor and notary public in Scotland.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Non-practising solicitor in England and Wales; member of the Law Society of England and Wales.

Registered 22 October 2015

Arose On
2019-07-18
Description
Non-practising solicitor in England and Wales; member of the Law Society of England and Wales.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role
Family members employed1

Dr Maria Psatha employed

Registered 20 April 2016

Job Title
Office Manager
Working Pattern
Full time
Person Name
Dr Maria Psatha
Family Member Relationship Level
Related to member directly
Family Relation Type
Spouse
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted No
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted Aye
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 3 — safe disclosure to inquiries

14 July 2026 · Division 56

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether public authorities or officials assisting an inquiry, investigation or inquest should have to demonstrate that relevant people can safely disclose information.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted Aye
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — goods vehicle VED review

1 July 2026 · Division 48

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 5 to require a Treasury review of the temporary goods vehicle VED (road freight tax) rates and reporting to Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunals Extension of Jurisdiction (England and Wales) (Amendment) Order 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 45

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunals Extension of Jurisdiction (England and Wales) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 22 — impact of Defence Investment Plan delays

22 June 2026 · Division 35

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should publish an assessment of the impact of delays to the Defence Investment Plan.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted Aye
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted Aye
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 1 — Passengers’ Charter

10 June 2026 · Division 19

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to insert New Clause 1, which would require a “Passengers' Charter” to set standards and improvement plans for rail passenger experience.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026

Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026

9 June 2026 · Division 18

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 12 — financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 16

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 12, which would cap the amount of financial assistance available under the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Act.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 13 — single living accommodation standards

2 June 2026 · Division 10

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13 to the Armed Forces Bill, which would amend the Renters' Rights Act 2025 to set defence housing standards for single living accommodation.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Voted Aye
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Direction of Government

1 September 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

High Streets Organised Crime Unit

13 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Immigration and Asylum Bill

13 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech

Steel Tariffs

17 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Electronic Cigarettes and Tobacco: Licensing

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 21180

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, whether she has made an assessment of the potential merits of reviewing the timetable for introducing a retail licensing scheme for tobacco, vape and nicotine retailers.

Iron and Steel: Imports

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department for Business, Innovation, Science and Trade · UIN 21178

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Business, Innovation, Science and Trade, what assessment he has made of the potential impact of the revised steel safeguard quota arrangements on stock availability and supply chain resilience for UK manufacturers during

Iron and Steel: Safeguard Measures

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department for Business, Innovation, Science and Trade · UIN 21177

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Business, Innovation, Science and Trade, whether he plans to review the operation of the steel safeguard measures prior to the next annual review.

Members: Correspondence

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Home Office · UIN 21181

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, whether she plans to respond to the correspondence from the hon. Member for South Leicestershire regarding the case of Twana Jamal, referred to during Home Office Oral Questions on 13 July 2026.

Mobile Phones: Fraud

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department for Business, Innovation, Science and Trade · UIN 21179

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Business, Innovation, Science and Trade, what steps his Department is taking to improve the accountability of mobile network operators where people are victims of fraud.

View 9 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

No supported Early Day Motions are currently stored within this coverage period.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

South Leicestershire is a constituency in the East Midlands region of England. The seat has been held by Alberto Costa (Conservative) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

South Leicestershire Leicester South Leicester West Rugby Harborough, Oadby and Wigston Leicester East Mid Leicestershire Hinckley and Bosworth Loughborough Daventry Coventry East North West Leicestershire Nuneaton Coventry South Northampton North Coventry North West Rushcliffe South Northamptonshire Melton and Syston Northampton South Warwick and Leamington Kettering South Derbyshire North Warwickshire and Bedworth Kenilworth and Southam Meriden and Solihull East Wellingborough and Rushden Tamworth Birmingham Hodge Hill and Solihull North Birmingham Yardley Sutton Coldfield Corby and East Northamptonshire Solihull West and Shirley Rutland and Stamford Birmingham Erdington Stratford-on-Avon Lichfield Birmingham Hall Green and Moseley Birmingham Ladywood Birmingham Perry Barr Birmingham Selly Oak Aldridge-Brownhills Grantham and Bourne Birmingham Edgbaston North Bedfordshire Birmingham Northfield West Bromwich Smethwick Walsall and Bloxwich Cannock Chase Bromsgrove Redditch Burton and Uttoxeter Tipton and Wednesbury Halesowen North West Cambridgeshire Wolverhampton South East Wolverhampton North East Huntingdon Droitwich and Evesham Stone, Great Wyrley and Penkridge West Worcestershire South Holland and The Deepings England
South Leicestershire Conservative

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyConservativeCon Hold
Majority5,506
Turnout65.4%51,359 votes cast
Electorate78,511

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top