← Back to MPs

MP profile

Sir Julian Smith MP

Conservative · Skipton and Ripon

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
Skipton and Ripon
Party
Conservative
MP since
2010
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

No current committee memberships recordedin Parliament's current Biography record
1 representation · 5 government posts · 3 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Skipton and Ripon
Constituency boundaries changed in 2024. Parliament records the current constituency separately from the constituency that existed before the 2024 General Election, even where the constituency name remained the same.

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Conservative
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Skipton and Ripon

Previous government posts

  • Secretary of State for Northern Ireland
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury and Chief Whip
  • Treasurer of HM Household (Deputy Chief Whip, House of Commons)
  • Vice Chamberlain (HM Household) (Whip, House of Commons)
  • Assistant Whip (HM Treasury)

Previous committee memberships

  • British Citizenship (Northern Ireland) Bill
  • Committee of Selection
  • Scottish Affairs Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests5
Categories represented5
Published GBP values11

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salaryEmployment / earningsSupport for MP activitiesGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £9,610.55 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 24 September 2025 - £9,610.55
  2. £6,738.28 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 15 May 2026 - £6,738.28
  3. £6,223.45 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 01 September 2026 - £6,223.45
  4. £2,000 — Support for MP activities · Wenningdale Leisure Ltd - £2,000.00
  5. £1,127.38 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 05 November 2025 - £1,127.38
  6. £1,049.41 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 17 December 2025 - £1,049.41
  7. £964.25 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 01 October 2025 - £964.25
  8. £760 — Gifts / hospitality · Carlton Club - £760.00
  9. £489.20 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 14 January 2026 - £489.20
  10. £385.51 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 08 December 2025 - £385.51
  11. £90.62 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 17 October 2025 - £90.62

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Employment and earnings1

Chair - International Finance Facility for Education

Registered 28 January 2025

Job Title
Chair
Start Date
2025-01-28
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
International Finance Facility for Education
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
Yes
Payer Nature Of Business
IFFED is a Geneva-based foundation providing a financing engine for global education.
Payer Public Address
Route de Chene 30A, c/o L&S Trust Services SA, 1208 Geneve
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 01 September 2026 - £6,223.45

Registered 4 September 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-09-01
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
payment for work undertaken and expenses incurred April 2026-August 2026
Value
£6,223.45
Hours worked
65.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 15 May 2026 - £6,738.28

Registered 10 June 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-05-15
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
payment for work undertaken and expenses incurred December 2025-April 2026
Value
£6,738.28
Hours worked
69.50
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 14 January 2026 - £489.20

Registered 15 January 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-01-14
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Payment received for expenses incurred in December 2025
Value
£489.20
Hours worked
0.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 17 December 2025 - £1,049.41

Registered 15 January 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-12-17
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Travel paid for a trip to Bern December 2025
Value
£1,049.41
Hours worked
0.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 08 December 2025 - £385.51

Registered 15 December 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-12-08
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Incidental expenses reimbursment, incurred end Oct- Nov 2025
Value
£385.51
Hours worked
0.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 05 November 2025 - £1,127.38

Registered 12 November 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-11-05
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Return travel between London and Zurich plus accommodation.
Value
£1,127.38
Hours worked
0.00
Hours details
I have not specified the number of hours because this expenses payment related to attendance at a voluntary board meeting in my capacity as Chair
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 17 October 2025 - £90.62

Registered 31 October 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-10-17
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Expenses reimbursed for attending a voluntary Board meeting.
Value
£90.62
Hours worked
0.00
Hours details
I have not specified the number of hours because this expense payment related to attendance at a voluntary board meeting in my capacity as Chair
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 01 October 2025 - £964.25

Registered 15 October 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-10-01
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Return travel between London and Geneva plus accommodation
Value
£964.25
Hours worked
0.00
Hours details
I have not specified the number of hours because this expenses payment related to attendance at a voluntary board meeting in my capacity as Chair
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No

Payment received on 24 September 2025 - £9,610.55

Registered 30 September 2025 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2025-09-24
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Payment for hours worked January-July 2025 and expenses incurred
Value
£9,610.55
Hours worked
99.00
Is Ultimate Payer Different
No
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Is Payment Donated
No
Donations and other support (including loans) for activities as an MP1

Wenningdale Leisure Ltd - £2,000.00

Registered 15 June 2026

Donation Source
(a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation
Payment Type
Monetary
Value
£2,000
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Wenningdale Leisure Ltd
Donor Public Address
Dalton House, 9 Dalton Square, Lancaster, LA1 1WD
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Wenningdale Leisure Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
06993978
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources1

Carlton Club - £760.00

Registered 19 January 2018

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Honorary membership for life (value provided is that in 2024)
Value
£760
Received Date
2017-12-22
Accepted Date
2018-01-18
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Carlton Club
Donor Public Address
69 St James’ Street, London SW1A 1PJ
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Carlton Club
Donor Company Identifier
00573221
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Land and property (within or outside the UK)1

Property in London

Registered 23 April 2013

Start Date
2016-08-04
Is Sole Owner
No
Location
London
Property Description
A second property was sold on 14 February 2025 and a third property was sold on 28 February 2025).
Property Owner Details
co-owned with a family member
Registrable Rental Income
Yes
Rental Income Details
rental income is paid to my partner and I
Rental Income Start Date
2016-08-04
Number Of Properties
1
Is Land
No
Is Any Rental Income Paid To Another Person
Yes
Country
United Kingdom
Property Type
Residential
Miscellaneous1

Visiting Professor in Practice, LSE, Mediation and Facilitation Initiative based in the Centre for Analysis for Risk and Regulation (CARR). This is an unpaid role.

Registered 7 September 2026

Arose On
2026-09-01
Description
Visiting Professor in Practice, LSE, Mediation and Facilitation Initiative based in the Centre for Analysis for Risk and Regulation (CARR). This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 10 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Health Bill

Puberty blockers for under-18s

8 September 2026 · Division 69

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 142 to the Health Bill, requiring regulations to prevent puberty blockers being prescribed, supplied or used in clinical trials for under-18s in gender-related treatment, unless both Houses approved a trial.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (72 divisions in coverage)

72 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 13 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Health Bill

Puberty blockers for under-18s

8 September 2026 · Division 69

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 142 to the Health Bill, requiring regulations to prevent puberty blockers being prescribed, supplied or used in clinical trials for under-18s in gender-related treatment, unless both Houses approved a trial.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted No
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted Aye
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 3 — safe disclosure to inquiries

14 July 2026 · Division 56

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether public authorities or officials assisting an inquiry, investigation or inquest should have to demonstrate that relevant people can safely disclose information.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted Aye
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 22 — impact of Defence Investment Plan delays

22 June 2026 · Division 35

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should publish an assessment of the impact of delays to the Defence Investment Plan.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted Aye
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted Aye
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 1 — Passengers’ Charter

10 June 2026 · Division 19

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to insert New Clause 1, which would require a “Passengers' Charter” to set standards and improvement plans for rail passenger experience.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026

Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026

9 June 2026 · Division 18

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 13 — single living accommodation standards

2 June 2026 · Division 10

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13 to the Armed Forces Bill, which would amend the Renters' Rights Act 2025 to set defence housing standards for single living accommodation.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill

Second Reading

21 May 2026 · Division 6

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill should receive a Second Reading and continue to its next stage in Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Voted Aye
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Rewiring the State

2 September 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

National Energy System Operator: Blackout Risk

15 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Business of the House

14 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Health of Children and Young People

14 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Points of Order

14 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 point of order
View 10 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Autism: Diagnosis

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 20008

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, if she will make an assessment of the impact of the quality of autism assessments on demand for reassessments.

Autism: Diagnosis

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 20007

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, if she will take steps to ensure that all autism assessments result in a detailed report of the assessment, to allow sufficient evidence for a second opinion.

Autism: Diagnosis

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 20006

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, what steps she is taking to ensure that the National Institute for Health and Social Care Excellence recommendation of an autism assessment within 3 months of referral is fulfilled.

Autism: Diagnosis

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 20005

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, what assessment she has made of the impact of face-to-face rather than remote autism assessments on the quality of such assessments.

Autism: Diagnosis

Tabled 28 August 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 20004

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, if she will make an assessment of the potential merits of encouraging autism assessment providers to conduct face-to-face autism assessments.

View 80 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Skipton and Ripon is a constituency in the Yorkshire and The Humber region of England. The seat has been held by Sir Julian Smith (Conservative) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Skipton and Ripon Keighley and Ilkley Shipley Bradford West Pendle and Clitheroe Halifax Calder Valley Richmond and Northallerton Leeds North West Bradford East Burnley Bradford South Leeds West and Pudsey Rochdale Spen Valley Leeds Central and Headingley Huddersfield Colne Valley Leeds South West and Morley Oldham East and Saddleworth Hyndburn Heywood and Middleton North Leeds North East Harrogate and Knaresborough Dewsbury and Batley Oldham West, Chadderton and Royton Ribble Valley Leeds South Bury North Rossendale and Darwen Blackley and Middleton South Stalybridge and Hyde Ashton-under-Lyne Bury South Manchester Central Blackburn Bishop Auckland Ossett and Denby Dale Wakefield and Rothwell Bolton North East Darlington Morecambe and Lunesdale Salford Penistone and Stocksbridge Bolton South and Walkden Leeds East High Peak Wetherby and Easingwold Barnsley North Bolton West Worsley and Eccles Chorley Normanton and Hemsworth Stockton West Preston Leigh and Atherton Newton Aycliffe and Spennymoor Pontefract, Castleford and Knottingley Lancaster and Wyre Wigan Barnsley South Westmorland and Lonsdale Makerfield South Ribble Stockton North Middlesbrough and Thornaby East Penrith and Solway York Central Selby York Outer St Helens North Doncaster North Fylde Rawmarsh and Conisbrough Southport West Lancashire Blackpool North and Fleetwood Thirsk and Malton Doncaster Central Knowsley Blackpool South Redcar Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland Bootle Goole and Pocklington Sefton Central Doncaster East and the Isle of Axholme Bassetlaw Barrow and Furness Scarborough and Whitby Bridlington and The Wolds Whitehaven and Workington Scunthorpe Brigg and Immingham Kingston upon Hull North and Cottingham Kingston upon Hull West and Haltemprice Gainsborough Kingston upon Hull East Beverley and Holderness England
Skipton and Ripon Conservative

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyConservativeCon Hold
Majority1,650
Turnout67.5%53,450 votes cast
Electorate79,238

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top