← Back to MPs

MP profile

Priti Patel MP

Conservative · Witham

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
Witham
Party
Conservative
MP since
2010
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

No current committee memberships recordedin Parliament's current Biography record
1 representation · 4 government posts · 1 opposition post · 6 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Witham
Constituency boundaries changed in 2024. Parliament records the current constituency separately from the constituency that existed before the 2024 General Election, even where the constituency name remained the same.

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Conservative
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Witham

Previous government posts

  • Home Secretary
  • Secretary of State for International Development
  • Minister of State (Department for Work and Pensions) (Cabinet)
  • Exchequer Secretary (HM Treasury)

Previous opposition posts

  • Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs

Previous committee memberships

  • Commonwealth Parliamentary Association and International Committee of the Red Cross (Status) Bill [HL]
  • Committees on Arms Export Controls
  • Foreign Affairs Committee
  • Draft Deregulation Bill (Joint Committee)
  • Public Administration Committee
  • Members' Expenses Committee

Career data last collected 2 November 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register26 October 2026
Published parent interests12
Categories represented3
Published GBP values6

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salaryGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £6,450 — Gifts / hospitality · Silverstone Circuits Limited - £6,450.00
  2. £750 — Gifts / hospitality · The Duke of Richmond and Gordon CBE DL - £750.00
  3. £598 — Gifts / hospitality · Clarion Defence (UK) Ltd - £598.00
  4. £500 — Gifts / hospitality · The Arsenal Football Club Ltd - £500.00
  5. £360 — Gifts / hospitality · Middle East Association - £360.00
  6. £95 — Gifts / hospitality · Embassy of Bahrain - £95.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources6

The Duke of Richmond and Gordon CBE DL - £750.00

Registered 4 August 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Three tickets including hospitality for myself and family members, to attend the Goodwood Festival of Speed as guests of the Duke of Richmond (cost per ticket £100 and a £300 donation was made by me to charity for the value of the three tickets). Cost of hospitality estimated (£150 per person)
Value
£750
Received Date
2026-07-12
Accepted Date
2026-07-12
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
The Duke of Richmond and Gordon CBE DL
Donor Status
Individual

Silverstone Circuits Limited - £6,450.00

Registered 8 July 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Three tickets with hospitality to attend the Grand Prix at Silverstone for myself and two members of my family (value £2,150 per ticket/person) on 5 July 2026
Value
£6,450
Received Date
2026-07-05
Accepted Date
2026-07-05
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Silverstone Circuits Limited
Donor Public Address
Silverstone Circuit, Towcester, Northamptonshire NN12 8TN
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Silverstone Circuits Limited
Donor Company Identifier
00882843
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

The Arsenal Football Club Ltd - £500.00

Registered 1 June 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
One matchday ticket and hospitality in the Directors' Box at the Emirates Stadium for myself (approximate)
Value
£500
Received Date
2026-05-18
Accepted Date
2026-05-18
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
The Arsenal Football Club Ltd
Donor Public Address
Highbury House, 75 Drayton Park, London N5 1BU
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
The Arsenal Football Club Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
00109244
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Embassy of Bahrain - £95.00

Registered 3 January 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Christmas gift
Value
£95
Received Date
2025-12-09
Accepted Date
2025-12-09
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Embassy of Bahrain
Donor Public Address
30 Belgrave Square, London SW1X 8QB
Donor Status
Other
Donor Other Details
Embassy

Middle East Association - £360.00

Registered 25 December 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two tickets to attend the Middle East Association's Gala Dinner on 27 November 2025 in my capacity as Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs, accompanied by a CCHQ advisor. Tickets valued at £150 each plus VAT
Value
£360
Received Date
2025-11-27
Accepted Date
2025-11-27
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Middle East Association
Donor Public Address
17 Hanover Square, London W1S 1BN
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Middle East Association
Donor Company Identifier
11378572
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Clarion Defence (UK) Ltd - £598.00

Registered 9 October 2025

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
In my capacity as Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs, two tickets (value £299 each) were provided to enable myself and an adviser from CCHQ to attend DSEI on 11 September 2025
Value
£598
Received Date
2025-09-11
Accepted Date
2025-09-11
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Clarion Defence (UK) Ltd
Donor Public Address
69-79 Fulham High Street, London, SW6 3JW
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Clarion Defence (UK) Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
06567404
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Visits outside the UK5

International visit to United States between 22 February 2026 and 27 February 2026

Registered 20 March 2026

Country
United States
Destination
Washington DC
Purpose
In my capacity as Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs, this was a visit to strengthen transatlantic relations and to discuss UK-US foreign policy priorities, challenges and opportunities with Members of Congress and policymakers.
Start Date
2026-02-22
End Date
2026-02-27
Name
Coalition for Global Prosperity
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
1 Horse Guards Avenue, London, SW1A 2HU
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Local transport (£1,694.12) and food/miscellaneous (£1,065) provided to me and CCHQ staff accompanying me; and flights (£2,052.90) for one member of CCHQ staff accompanying me
Value
£4,837.02
Is Sole Beneficiary
No

International visit to Germany between 12 February 2026 and 15 February 2026

Registered 11 March 2026

Country
Germany
Destination
Munich
Purpose
Attendance at the Munich Security Conference in my capacity as Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs, to attend and take part in meetings and discussions. (A CCHQ political adviser accompanied me on this trip.)
Start Date
2026-02-12
End Date
2026-02-15
Name
Munich Security Conference
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
Karolinenplatz 3, 80333 München, Germany
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Complimentary airport transfer service (between the airport, hotel, and return) for me and a Conservative Party adviser on 12 and 15 February 2026 (value has been estimated)
Value
£420
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Name
Warsaw Security Forum
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
6 Oleandrów, 00-629 Warsaw, Poland
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Dinner provided at a dinner and discussion, held at the Munich Security Conference on 14 February 2026
Value
£269
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Name
International Democracy Union
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
IDU Franz Josef Strauß Haus Mies-van-der-Rohe-Str. 1 80807 Munich Germany
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Refreshments provided to myself and a CCHQ adviser at a dinner and discussion, held at the Munich Security Conference on 13 February 2026
Value
£120
Is Sole Beneficiary
No

International visit to United States between 02 December 2025 and 06 December 2025

Registered 5 January 2026

Country
United States
Destination
Washington DC
Purpose
To attend the IDU Forum in my capacity as Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs and as an Executive Vice Chairman of the IDU.
Start Date
2025-12-02
End Date
2025-12-06
Name
International Democracy Union
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
International Democracy Union IDU Franz Josef Strauß Haus Mies-van-der-Rohe-Str. 1 80807 Munich Germany
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Discount on costs provided to the Conservative and Unionist Party for me and a member of Party staff accommodation (£220), two tickets provided to attend the IDU Forum were (approx £150) and two tickets for a dinner (approx £75), value £445
Value
£445
Is Sole Beneficiary
No

International visit to Israel between 21 November 2025 and 25 November 2025

Registered 19 December 2025

Country
Israel
Purpose
A visit in my capacity as Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs to meet with politicians, diplomats and the families of Israeli hostages, and to receive briefings on the security situation.
Start Date
2025-11-21
End Date
2025-11-25
Name
Conservative Friends of Israel Ltd
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
CFI, PO Box 72288, London SW1P 9LB
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Accommodation (£460), transport and tour guide (£1,130), total value £1,590. I was accompanied by two staff members: Flights (£947), accommodation (£290), transport and tour guide (£1,130), total value £2,367 each
Value
£6,324
Is Sole Beneficiary
No

International visit to Bahrain between 30 October 2025 and 03 November 2025

Registered 27 November 2025

Country
Bahrain
Destination
Manama
Purpose
To attend the Manama Dialogue and associated meetings in my capacity as the Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs, accompanied by a CCHQ Adviser.
Start Date
2025-10-30
End Date
2025-11-03
Name
Bahrain Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
PO Box 547, Government Road, Manama.
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Flights, accommodation, hospitality and travel provided to myself and to a CCHQ adviser. Return flights (estimated value of £6,312 for two people return travel); Hotel Accommodation (estimated value of £3,600), Food (£300 estimated), Travel within country including airport transfers (£87 estimated)
Value
£10,299
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Miscellaneous1

A Director of the Conservative Friends of America. This is an unpaid role.

Registered 11 January 2023

Arose On
2023-01-11
Description
A Director of the Conservative Friends of America. This is an unpaid role.
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 4 November 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

View full voting record (116 divisions in coverage)

116 divisions shown

2026
November 2026 — 11 divisions
October 2026 — 30 divisions

Draft Town and Country Planning (Fees for Applications, Deemed Applications, Requests and Site Visits) (England) (Amendment and Transitional Provision) Regulations 2026

Planning application fees regulations

27 October 2026 · Division 105

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve draft regulations concerning fees for planning applications, deemed applications, requests and site visits in England.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Withdrawal Agreement (Windsor Framework and Governance) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

21 October 2026 · Division 103

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Withdrawal Agreement (Windsor Framework and Governance) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Code of Practice on Access and Unfair Practices During the Recognition and Derecognition Process

Draft code on union recognition processes

21 October 2026 · Division 102

No recorded vote
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on the draft Code of Practice covering access and unfair practices during trade union recognition and derecognition processes.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Railways (Interoperability in Northern Ireland) (Convention on International Carriage by Rail) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Railways (Interoperability in Northern Ireland) (Convention on International Carriage by Rail) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

21 October 2026 · Division 101

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Railways (Interoperability in Northern Ireland) (Convention on International Carriage by Rail) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Highways (Financing) Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

15 October 2026 · Division 87

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to reject the Highways (Financing) Bill at Second Reading over concerns about its financing powers, road-charging provisions and the delivery and cost of the Lower Thames Crossing.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism (Calculation of CBAM Rate and Determination of Carbon Price Relief) Regulations 2026

14 October 2026 · Division 84

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism (Calculation of CBAM Rate and Determination of Carbon Price Relief) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Courts and Tribunals Bill Report Stage

Legal aid funding for serious magistrates' court cases

13 October 2026 · Division 78

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 18 to provide Crown Court-level legal aid funding where a magistrates' court case could result in more than 12 months' imprisonment.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

September 2026 — 15 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Health Bill

Puberty blockers for under-18s

8 September 2026 · Division 69

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 142 to the Health Bill, requiring regulations to prevent puberty blockers being prescribed, supplied or used in clinical trials for under-18s in gender-related treatment, unless both Houses approved a trial.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Health Bill

Hughes Report response

7 September 2026 · Division 67

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 145 to the Health Bill, requiring the Secretary of State to publish the Government's response to the Hughes Report within 30 days of the Act being passed.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Health Bill

Maternity safety standards

7 September 2026 · Division 66

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on New Clause 6, which would have required the Secretary of State to create a scheme aimed at ensuring every NHS maternity unit achieved a good or outstanding CQC rating.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted No
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted Aye
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 3 — safe disclosure to inquiries

14 July 2026 · Division 56

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether public authorities or officials assisting an inquiry, investigation or inquest should have to demonstrate that relevant people can safely disclose information.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted Aye
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted No
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 37 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 43

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (Credit Limit) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

Amendment 11 — Defence Housing Service budget

22 June 2026 · Division 36

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 11, which would have required the Defence Housing Service to operate within a budget set out in the Defence Investment Plan.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 22 — impact of Defence Investment Plan delays

22 June 2026 · Division 35

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should publish an assessment of the impact of delays to the Defence Investment Plan.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 11 — ECHR derogation for overseas operations

22 June 2026 · Division 34

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Secretary of State should be required to authorise an ECHR derogation for significant overseas military operations.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 4 — settlement fee waiver for service families

22 June 2026 · Division 33

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to waive indefinite-leave-to-remain fees for spouses or children of serving or former armed forces members who had served for four or more years.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted Aye
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted Aye
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 1 — Passengers’ Charter

10 June 2026 · Division 19

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to insert New Clause 1, which would require a “Passengers' Charter” to set standards and improvement plans for rail passenger experience.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Voted Aye
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

Amendment 12 — sunset extension

8 June 2026 · Division 12

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 12 to prevent the Bill's ‘sunset' on principal transfer powers being extended.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 13 — single living accommodation standards

2 June 2026 · Division 10

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13 to the Armed Forces Bill, which would amend the Renters' Rights Act 2025 to set defence housing standards for single living accommodation.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Voted Aye
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King’s Speech: Amendment (i) — energy security

Amendment (i) — energy security

19 May 2026 · Division 1

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on a Conservative amendment to the King’s Speech motion on energy security.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Iran Conflict: Ceasefire

9 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

2 supplementary questions

NATO Summit

9 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question1 intervention

Sudan

25 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

2 supplementary questions

Topical Questions

16 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

2 supplementary questions

UK-US Relationship

16 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question
View 5 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Chagos Islands: Sovereignty

Tabled 8 September 2026 · Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office · UIN 27913

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs, with reference to the changes to the Green Book social time discounting rate to 3% announced by the Chancellor of the Exchequer, if she will take steps to revise the estimate

View answer · 14 September 2026

Answered by: Uma Kumaran

The value of payments under the UK-Mauritius Treaty were set out by the UK government at the time of signature and have not changed. No payments are due under the terms of the UK-Mauritius agreement until the Treaty has been ratified. Full details of the ...

A12

Tabled 7 September 2026 · Department for Transport · UIN 27436

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, what estimate she has made of the total costs of cancelling the A12 Widening Scheme.

View answer · 15 September 2026

Answered by: Justin Madders

The current estimate was disclosed in the Department's 2025-26 Annual Accounts, representing costs incurred up to the end of the 2025-26 financial year. Any further costs will be calculated in due course.

Chagos Islands: Sovereignty

Tabled 7 September 2026 · Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office · UIN 27440

Awaiting answer

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs, whether (a) he, (b) his ministers and (c) his officials have had discussions and meetings with his counterpart in Mauritius to discuss the Chagos Archipelago since 20 July 20

Essex Police: Finance

Tabled 7 September 2026 · Home Office · UIN 27437

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, what estimate she has made of the level of grant funding to Essex Police in each of the next five years.

View answer · 10 September 2026

Answered by: Sarah Jones

In 2026-27 Essex Police will receive up to £457.2 million of funding, an increase of up to £20.3 million compared to 2025-26, which equates to a 4.7% cash increase and 2.6% real terms increase.The Police Funding Settlement is an annual process. Funding al...

General Practitioners: Training

Tabled 7 September 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 27438

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, If she has plans to increase the number of GP training places at Anglia Ruskin University.

View answer · 11 September 2026

Answered by: Karin Smyth

The Government keeps the total number of medical school places under close review to ensure it meets England’s workforce requirements, and decisions on training numbers will be considered as part of the forthcoming 10 Year Workforce Plan.General practice ...

View 36 more written questions

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

No supported Early Day Motions are currently stored within this coverage period.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Witham is a constituency in the East of England region of England. The seat has been held by Priti Patel (Conservative) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Witham Maldon Colchester Braintree Chelmsford Southend East and Rochford Rayleigh and Wickford Harwich and North Essex Southend West and Leigh South Suffolk Castle Point Basildon and Billericay North West Essex Rochester and Strood Clacton South Basildon and East Thurrock West Suffolk Sittingbourne and Sheppey Bury St Edmunds and Stowmarket Brentwood and Ongar Ipswich Harlow Hornchurch and Upminster Gravesham Thurrock Romford Central Suffolk and North Ipswich Dagenham and Rainham Dartford Hertford and Stortford South Cambridgeshire Ilford South Bexleyheath and Crayford Epping Forest Ely and East Cambridgeshire Waveney Valley Ilford North Barking Erith and Thamesmead Cambridge Old Bexley and Sidcup West Ham and Beckton East Ham Suffolk Coastal Chingford and Woodford Green Leyton and Wanstead Broxbourne Greenwich and Woolwich Eltham and Chislehurst Walthamstow North East Hertfordshire Stratford and Bow Enfield North Poplar and Limehouse Edmonton and Winchmore Hill Lewisham East Tottenham Hackney North and Stoke Newington Bethnal Green and Stepney Lewisham North St Neots and Mid Cambridgeshire Hackney South and Shoreditch Bermondsey and Old Southwark Peckham Southgate and Wood Green Lewisham West and East Dulwich Islington South and Finsbury Islington North Hornsey and Friern Barnet Dulwich and West Norwood Vauxhall and Camberwell Green Cities of London and Westminster Holborn and St Pancras Stevenage Welwyn Hatfield Hampstead and Highgate Clapham and Brixton Hill Streatham and Croydon North Chipping Barnet Finchley and Golders Green Battersea Tooting Kensington and Bayswater Queen's Park and Maida Vale Hendon Chelsea and Fulham Hertsmere Brent East Hitchin Putney Hammersmith and Chiswick Ealing Central and Acton St Albans Brent West Harrow East Richmond Park Huntingdon Harrow West Ealing North Brentford and Isleworth Luton South and South Bedfordshire Watford Ealing Southall Twickenham Luton North Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner South West Hertfordshire Uxbridge and South Ruislip Harpenden and Berkhamsted Feltham and Heston Bedford Hayes and Harlington North Bedfordshire Mid Bedfordshire Spelthorne England
Witham Conservative

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyConservativeCon Hold
Majority5,145
Turnout64.1%50,603 votes cast
Electorate78,991

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 9 October 2026.

Scroll to Top