← Back to MPs

MP profile

Bill Esterson MP

Labour · Sefton Central

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
Sefton Central
Party
Labour
MP since
2010
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

Constituency office

First Floor
Old Building
73 Liverpool Road
Crosby
L23 5SE

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Current rolesComing up · Today

Parliamentary Calendar

Coming up

Upcoming parliamentary business linked to this MP's current committees and, where available, Bills Parliament records them as proposing or sponsoring.

Committee

Energy Security and Net Zero Committee

Updated

Oral evidence · Wednesday 9 September 2026 · 08:45 BST

Room 16, Palace of Westminster

Committee items show scheduled business for committees the MP currently serves on and do not confirm individual attendance. Bill items are shown only where Parliament's Bills data records this MP as proposer or sponsor and Calendar Core has an official future stage. A scheduled stage does not mean that stage has happened. Future parliamentary business can change.

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

3current committee memberships
1 representation · 5 opposition posts · 9 committee membershipsprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Sefton Central
Constituency boundaries changed in 2024. Parliament records the current constituency separately from the constituency that existed before the 2024 General Election, even where the constituency name remained the same.

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour

Current committee memberships

Energy Security and Net Zero Committee

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Departmental

Chair · since 11 September 2024Member · since 11 September 2024

Liaison Committee (Commons)

House of Commons · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Domestic

Member · since 4 December 2024

National Security Strategy (Joint Committee)

Joint · (HC) Public Standing Orders - Cross-cutting

Member · since 2 December 2024
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Sefton Central

Previous opposition posts

  • Shadow Minister (Transport)
  • Shadow Minister (Business and Industrial Strategy)
  • Shadow Minister (International Trade)
  • Shadow Minister (Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy)
  • Shadow Minister (Business, Innovation and Skills)

Previous committee memberships

  • Automated Vehicles Bill [HL]
  • Trade (Australia and New Zealand) Bill
  • Professional Qualifications Bill [HL]
  • Subsidy Control Bill
  • Treasury Committee
  • Housing, Communities and Local Government Committee
  • Draft House of Lords Reform Bill (Joint Committee)
  • Education Committee
  • Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests5
Categories represented3
Published GBP values1

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salaryGifts / hospitality

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £2,000 — Gifts / hospitality · The Jockey Club - £2,000.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources1

The Jockey Club - £2,000.00

Registered 11 May 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two tickets with hospitality at Aintree Racecourse, (estimated value)
Value
£2,000
Received Date
2026-04-11
Accepted Date
2026-04-11
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
The Jockey Club
Donor Public Address
75 High Holborn, London WC1V 6LS
Donor Status
Unincorporated association
Visits outside the UK3

International visit to China between 24 May 2026 and 29 May 2026

Registered 17 June 2026

Country
China
Purpose
Part of the Great Britain-China Centre delegation.
Start Date
2026-05-24
End Date
2026-05-29
Name
Great Britain-China Centre
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
Kings Building, 16 Smith Square, London SW1P 3HQ
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
hotels, flights, food and ground transport
Value
£4,895
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes

International visit to Finland between 26 October 2025 and 28 October 2025

Registered 18 November 2025

Country
Finland
Purpose
To visit the Olkiluoto 3 Nuclear Power Plant, Onkalo Geological Disposal Facility and Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK)
Start Date
2025-10-26
End Date
2025-10-28
Appg
Nuclear Energy
Name
Nuclear Industry Association
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
4th Floor, York House, 23 Kingsway, London WC2B 6UJ
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Return flights to Helsinki, hotel accommodation, transport and meals
Value
£882.55
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes

International visit to Denmark between 22 October 2025 and 24 October 2025

Registered 13 November 2025

Country
Denmark
Destination
Copenhagen
Purpose
APPG visit to high-level meetings and site visits in Copenhagen cross-channel cooperation for decarbonising heat and energy.
Start Date
2025-10-22
End Date
2025-10-24
Appg
PRASEG
Name
Parliamentary Renewable & Sustainable Energy Group (PRASEG)
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
PRASEG, 10 Dean Farrar Street, London SW1H 0DX
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Accommodation, return flights, subsistence, ground transport
Value
£1,185
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Shareholdings1

Shares in Bill Esterson Campaigns Ltd

Registered 14 October 2016

Shareholding Threshold
(i) Shareholdings: over 15% of issued share capital
Registrable Date
2016-09-26
Organisation Name
Bill Esterson Campaigns Ltd
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

Voted Aye
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — goods vehicle VED review

1 July 2026 · Division 48

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 5 to require a Treasury review of the temporary goods vehicle VED (road freight tax) rates and reporting to Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunals Extension of Jurisdiction (England and Wales) (Amendment) Order 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 45

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunals Extension of Jurisdiction (England and Wales) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Voted No
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

Voted No
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]

Royal Albert Hall Bill [Lords]: Revival

15 June 2026 · Division 23

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the promoter should be given leave to proceed with the Royal Albert Hall Bill in the current Session.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 148 — appeals decided on the merits

10 June 2026 · Division 21

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to change the appeals process in the Railways Bill so that the Office of Rail and Road decides appeals on the merits of the case.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 143 — railcard discounts

10 June 2026 · Division 20

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require Great British Railways to continue offering discounted rail fares for UK veterans, armed forces personnel and their families, and for young people aged 26 to 30 under Amendment 143.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 1 — Passengers’ Charter

10 June 2026 · Division 19

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to insert New Clause 1, which would require a “Passengers' Charter” to set standards and improvement plans for rail passenger experience.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026

Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026

9 June 2026 · Division 18

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 12 — financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 16

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 12, which would cap the amount of financial assistance available under the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Act.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

Amendment 12 — sunset extension

8 June 2026 · Division 12

No recorded vote
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 12 to prevent the Bill's ‘sunset' on principal transfer powers being extended.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 13 — single living accommodation standards

2 June 2026 · Division 10

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13 to the Armed Forces Bill, which would amend the Renters' Rights Act 2025 to set defence housing standards for single living accommodation.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 6 — ECHR derogation for overseas operations

2 June 2026 · Division 9

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to consider whether to make an ECHR derogation for significant overseas operations under the Human Rights Act 1998.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — immigration application fee waiver

2 June 2026 · Division 8

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to include New Clause 5, which would waive fees for applications for indefinite leave to remain by spouses and dependants of serving or discharged armed forces personnel.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Defence Investment Plan

2 June 2026 · Division 7

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on a new clause that would require the Secretary of State to lay a Defence Investment Plan before both Houses of Parliament within one month of the Act being passed.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill

Second Reading

21 May 2026 · Division 6

No recorded vote
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill should receive a Second Reading and continue to its next stage in Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (p) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 4

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the Opposition's motion for an Address in response to the King's Speech, regretting the absence of a Defence Readiness Bill and related defence planning commitments.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (l) — defence policy

20 May 2026 · Division 3

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the King's Speech Address debate to express regret that the Gracious Speech did not include a Defence Readiness Bill and to call for specific defence policy actions.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

No recorded vote
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Direction of Government

1 September 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

National Energy System Operator: Blackout Risk

15 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Nuclear Energy Sites: Scotland

7 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

Civil Service Pensions

6 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 supplementary question

School Rebuilding Programme: Sefton

22 June 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 question1 supplementary question
View 1 more spoken contribution records

Opening this section loads the next 30 records.

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

ME/CFS: Health Services

Tabled 24 June 2026 · Department of Health and Social Care · UIN 12659

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, with reference to the action in the ME/CFS Final Delivery Plan to explore whether a specialised service should be prescribed for people with very severe ME/CFS, whether his Department has made an a

View answer · 3 July 2026

Answered by: Mrs Sharon Hodgson

Integrated care boards (ICBs) are expected to commission services for people with myalgic encephalomyelitis/chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS) across all levels of severity, including those with severe and very severe ME/CFS, in line with national standard...

Parking Offences: Sefton

Tabled 23 June 2026 · Department for Transport · UIN 12091

Answered

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, with reference to the report entitled BCP Council: Increased Penalty Charge Notice and Associated Charges Trial, published in February 2026, whether her Department will be extending the trials of increased Pena

View answer · 1 July 2026

Answered by: Simon Lightwood

The DfT is not running a trial. As stated in the report entitled "BCP Council: Increased Penalty Charge Notice and Associated Charges Trial", the Department for Transport authorised BCP Council in July 2025 to trial increased PCN levels aligned ...

Tax Avoidance

Tabled 15 June 2026 · Treasury · UIN 9554

Answered

To ask the Chancellor of the Exchequer, what assessment she has made of whether people who previously settled Loan Charge liabilities with HMRC will be offered equivalent terms to those available under the new settlement opportunity following the McCann R

View answer · 23 June 2026

Answered by: Dan Tomlinson

At Budget 2024, the Government committed to a new independent review of the loan charge. The purpose of the review was to bring the matter to a close for people who have not settled and paid their Loan Charge liabilities. The Government has accepted all b...

Tax Avoidance

Tabled 15 June 2026 · Treasury · UIN 9553

Answered

To ask the Chancellor of the Exchequer, what estimates she has made of the number of how many taxpayers with outstanding Loan Charge liabilities HMRC expects to be eligible for the new settlement opportunity following the McCann Review; and how many have

View answer · 23 June 2026

Answered by: Dan Tomlinson

At Budget 2024, the Government committed to a new independent review of the loan charge. The purpose of the review was to bring the matter to a close for people who have not settled and paid their Loan Charge liabilities. The Government has accepted all b...

Real Estate Investment Trusts: Taxation

Tabled 15 May 2026 · Treasury · UIN 1674

Answered

To ask the Chancellor of the Exchequer, how much HMRC paid in (a) withheld tax repayments and (b) rebates relating to UK Real Estate Investment Trust distributions to non-UK residents in financial years (i) 2023-24 and (ii) 2024-25; and what compliance an

View answer · 26 May 2026

Answered by: Dan Tomlinson

HMRC does not routinely publish data on withheld tax repayments relating to Real Estate Investment Trust distributions, the specific figures requested are not readily available in a single dataset. Repayments are administered through a number of different...

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Sefton Central is a constituency in the North West region of England. The seat has been held by Bill Esterson (Labour) since July 2024.

Where is this constituency?

Sefton Central Bootle Wallasey Liverpool Walton Liverpool Riverside Birkenhead West Lancashire Wirral West Southport Liverpool West Derby Liverpool Wavertree Knowsley Liverpool Garston Ellesmere Port and Bromborough Fylde St Helens North Widnes and Halewood South Ribble St Helens South and Whiston Runcorn and Helsby Wigan Makerfield Chorley Warrington North Warrington South Bolton West Leigh and Atherton Blackburn Worsley and Eccles Bolton North East Ribble Valley Rossendale and Darwen Bolton South and Walkden Altrincham and Sale West Tatton Hyndburn Stretford and Urmston England
Sefton Central Labour

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2024 General Election

Held on 4 July 2024

Winning partyLabourLab Hold
Majority18,282
Turnout63.9%47,449 votes cast
Electorate74,284

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top