← Back to MPs

MP profile

Andy Burnham MP

Labour (Co-op) · Makerfield

View official Parliament profile ↗

At a glance

Constituency
Makerfield
Party
Labour (Co-op)
MP since
2026
House
House of Commons
Contact your MP

Use the official contact details below, or create a simple draft message to copy into your own email or contact form. Where an official email address is available, you can also open the finished draft in your own email application. Verified vote and constituency records can add factual context to the same private drafting tool.

View current contact details on Parliament ↗

Draft a message

Private by design. This tool runs in your browser. Project Open Gov does not submit, store or send what you type here.

Current roles
  • Government rolePrime Minister and First Lord of the Treasury

    Prime Minister, Cabinet Office · Since 20 July 2026

Parliamentary career

This section uses the official Parliament Biography record to show current and previous parliamentary roles and memberships.

No current committee memberships recordedin Parliament's current Biography record
2 representations · 5 government posts · 4 opposition posts · 1 committee membershipprevious parliamentary career

Current

Representation

  • Makerfield

Parliamentary party affiliation

  • Labour

Other parliamentary posts

  • Leader of the Labour Party
Previous parliamentary career

Previous representations

  • Leigh
  • Leigh

Previous government posts

  • Secretary of State for Health
  • Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport
  • Chief Secretary to the Treasury
  • Minister of State (Department of Health) (Delivery and Quality)
  • Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Home Office)

Previous opposition posts

  • Shadow Home Secretary
  • Shadow Secretary of State for Health
  • Shadow Secretary of State (Education and Election Co-ordinator)
  • Shadow Secretary of State for Health

Previous committee memberships

  • Health and Social Care Committee

Career data last collected 5 September 2026. Current committee details come from Parliament's Committees service; previous committee history comes from the Parliament Biography record. View the official Parliament career page ↗

Registered interests

This section reflects the interests currently published for this MP in the latest House of Commons Register of Members' Financial Interests. Project Open Gov does not apply its own date filter or remove entries that Parliament still publishes.

Latest register7 September 2026
Published parent interests33
Categories represented8
Published GBP values27

Published monetary values

The overview combines the explicit GBP values currently published by Parliament into one bubble for each type of monetary interest. Select a category to break that bubble into every published component. Circle area is proportional to value. The basic annual MP salary is shown only as a reference for scale.

Salary source: IPSA ↗
Basic MP salaryEmployment / earningsSupport for MP activitiesGifts / hospitalityOverseas gifts / benefits

The overview shows every monetary category for which Parliament publishes an explicit GBP value. Category bubbles are sums of the individual published values within that category; they are provided for visual comparison and are not described as personal income. Selecting a category shows every component used in that bubble. Small components carry their value where space permits. Every component can be selected to show its full value and description, and to jump to the exact register entry below.

View all published monetary entries used in this comparison
  1. £66,622.50 — Support for MP activities · Lord Sainsbury of Turville - £66,622.50
  2. £50,000 — Support for MP activities · Charlie Parsons Creative Ltd - £50,000.00
  3. £49,700 — Support for MP activities · Lord Sainsbury of Turville - £49,700.00
  4. £25,000 — Support for MP activities · Lord Sainsbury of Turville - £25,000.00
  5. £25,000 — Support for MP activities · Gary Lubner - £25,000.00
  6. £23,024.92 — Support for MP activities · Lord Sainsbury of Turville - £23,024.92
  7. £22,186 — Support for MP activities · ThinkLabour - £22,186.00
  8. £20,000 — Support for MP activities · Sacha Lord - £20,000.00
  9. £16,500 — Support for MP activities · Ernst & Young LLP - £16,500.00
  10. £10,000 — Support for MP activities · Shalni Arora - £10,000.00
  11. £9,619.20 — Support for MP activities · Sacha Lord - £9,619.20
  12. £5,771 — Support for MP activities · Sacha Lord - £5,771.00
  13. £5,000 — Support for MP activities · Fire Brigades Union - £5,000.00
  14. £5,000 — Support for MP activities · Fire Brigades Union - £5,000.00
  15. £5,000 — Support for MP activities · Communications Workers Union - £5,000.00
  16. £5,000 — Support for MP activities · UNISON - £5,000.00
  17. £3,800 — Gifts / hospitality · Sony Music Entertainment UK - £3,800.00
  18. £3,000 — Employment / earnings · Payment received on 10 August 2026 - £3,000.00
  19. £2,000 — Support for MP activities · Lord Blunkett - £2,000.00
  20. £1,520 — Gifts / hospitality · Glastonbury Festivals Ltd - £1,520.00
  21. £1,000 — Gifts / hospitality · PRS for Music LTD - £1,000.00
  22. £625 — Gifts / hospitality · Nordoff and Robbins Music Therapy - £625.00
  23. £500 — Gifts / hospitality · The Jockey Club Racecourse - £500.00
  24. £458 — Gifts / hospitality · Lancashire Cricket Club - £458.00
  25. £450 — Gifts / hospitality · RL Commercial - £450.00
  26. £431 — Gifts / hospitality · The Alliance Party of Northern Ireland - £431.00
  27. £340 — Overseas gift / benefit · Ambassador of Qatar - £340.00

Interests by category

Open a category to see the underlying records and any related payments or sub-entries published by Parliament.

Employment and earnings1

Royalties from published book - The Orion Publishing Group

Registered 2 September 2026

Job Title
Royalties from published book
Start Date
2026-08-10
Is Until Further Notice
No
Payer Name
The Orion Publishing Group
Payer Is Private Individual
No
Is Paid As Director Of Payer
No
Payer Nature Of Business
Publishing group
Payer Public Address
Carmelite House, 50 Victoria Embankment, London EC4Y 0DZ
Related payments / entries

Payment received on 10 August 2026 - £3,000.00

Registered 2 September 2026 · 1.1 Employment and earnings - Ad hoc payments

Payment Received
Yes
Received Date
2026-08-10
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
The payment is part of an advance payment for a book which was written before Mr Burnham was elected to Parliament
Value
£3,000
Hours worked
150.00
Hours details
The hours worked are an estimate
Is Ultimate Payer Different
Yes
Ultimate Payer Name
Hachette UK
Ultimate Payer Protected By Confidentiality
No
Ultimate Payer Address
Carmelite House, 50 Victoria Embankment, London EC4Y 0DZ
Ultimate Payer Nature Of Business
Publishing house
Is Payment Donated
No
Donations and other support (including loans) for activities as an MP17

Ernst & Young LLP - £16,500.00

Registered 20 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Donation in kind of a secondment to my team
Value
£16,500
Received Date
2026-07-01
Accepted Date
2026-07-01
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Ernst & Young LLP
Donor Public Address
1 More London Place, London SE1 2AF
Donor Status
Limited Liability Partnership

Charlie Parsons Creative Ltd - £50,000.00

Registered 17 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Donation towards my campaign for Labour leadership to cover staffing and contractor costs, travel, venue hire, digital platforms, social media support, message testing, polling and campaign set up.
Value
£50,000
Received Date
2026-06-25
Accepted Date
2026-06-25
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Charlie Parsons Creative Ltd
Donor Public Address
21 Meard Street, London, W1F 0EY
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Charlie Parsons Creative Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
5943538
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Sacha Lord - £20,000.00

Registered 17 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Donation towards my campaign for Labour leadership, to cover staffing and contractor costs, travel, venue hire, digital platforms, social media support, message testing, polling and campaign set up.
Value
£20,000
Received Date
2026-06-26
Accepted Date
2026-06-26
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Sacha Lord
Donor Status
Individual

ThinkLabour - £22,186.00

Registered 17 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Donation in kind of staffing and IT equipment to my office during the period 29 June - 17 July 2026
Value
£22,186
Received Date
2026-06-29
Accepted Date
2026-06-29
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
ThinkLabour
Donor Public Address
Langley House, 53 Theobald Street, Borehamwood, England, WD6 4RT
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
ThinkLabour
Donor Company Identifier
9630980
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Lord Sainsbury of Turville - £23,024.92

Registered 17 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Donation in kind of office space for my campaign for Labour leadership
Value
£23,024.92
Received Date
2026-06-22
Accepted Date
2026-06-22
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Lord Sainsbury of Turville
Donor Status
Individual

Sacha Lord - £5,771.00

Registered 17 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Donation to cover accommodation costs for members of my campaign team during the period 22 June to 20 July 2026
Value
£5,771
Received Date
2026-06-22
Accepted Date
2026-06-22
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Sacha Lord
Donor Status
Individual

Lord Sainsbury of Turville - £66,622.50

Registered 17 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Donation in kind to cover the costs of contractors working on my campaign for Labour leadership
Value
£66,622.50
Received Date
2026-06-22
Accepted Date
2026-06-22
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Lord Sainsbury of Turville
Donor Status
Individual

Sacha Lord - £9,619.20

Registered 17 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Donation to cover staffing for my campaign team
Value
£9,619.20
Received Date
2026-06-22
Accepted Date
2026-06-22
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Sacha Lord
Donor Status
Individual

Lord Sainsbury of Turville - £25,000.00

Registered 17 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Donation towards my campaign for leadership costs including staffing and contractor costs, travel, venue hire, digital platforms, social media support, message testing, polling and campaign set up
Value
£25,000
Received Date
2026-07-16
Accepted Date
2026-07-16
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Lord Sainsbury of Turville
Donor Status
Individual

Gary Lubner - £25,000.00

Registered 17 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Donation towards my campaign for Labour leadership to cover staffing and contractor costs, travel, venue hire, digital platforms, social media support, message testing, polling and campaign set up.
Value
£25,000
Received Date
2026-07-15
Accepted Date
2026-07-15
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Gary Lubner
Donor Status
Individual

Lord Sainsbury of Turville - £49,700.00

Registered 17 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Donation in kind to cover the costs of contractors working on policy and operations for my office
Value
£49,700
Received Date
2026-06-22
Accepted Date
2026-06-22
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Lord Sainsbury of Turville
Donor Status
Individual

Fire Brigades Union - £5,000.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Donation towards Mayoral campaigning
Value
£5,000
Received Date
2026-03-24
Accepted Date
2026-03-24
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Fire Brigades Union
Donor Public Address
Ken Cameron House, 171-173 Gray's Inn Road, London, WC1X 8UE
Donor Status
Trade Union

Communications Workers Union - £5,000.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Donation towards Mayoral campaigning
Value
£5,000
Received Date
2026-04-10
Accepted Date
2026-04-10
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Communications Workers Union
Donor Public Address
150 The Broadway, Wimbledon, London, SW19 1RX
Donor Status
Trade Union

Fire Brigades Union - £5,000.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Donation towards Mayoral campaigning
Value
£5,000
Received Date
2026-03-24
Accepted Date
2026-03-24
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Fire Brigades Union
Donor Public Address
North West Regional Office, The Lighthouse, Lower Mersey Street, Ellesmere Port, Cheshire, CH65 2AL
Donor Status
Trade Union

UNISON - £5,000.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Donation towards Mayoral campaigning
Value
£5,000
Received Date
2026-04-24
Accepted Date
2026-04-24
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
UNISON
Donor Public Address
UNISON Centre, 130 Euston Road, London, NW1 2AY
Donor Status
Trade Union

Shalni Arora - £10,000.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Donation towards Makerfield by-election campaign
Value
£10,000
Received Date
2026-06-01
Accepted Date
2026-06-01
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Shalni Arora
Donor Status
Individual

Lord Blunkett - £2,000.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Donation Source
(b) Any other support not included in Category 2(a)
Payment Type
Monetary
Payment Description
Donation towards Makerfield by-election campaign
Value
£2,000
Received Date
2026-05-26
Accepted Date
2026-05-26
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Lord Blunkett
Donor Status
Individual
Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources8

Sony Music Entertainment UK - £3,800.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Ticket for me and a guest to attend the BRIT Awards 2026 which were being hosted in Manchester
Value
£3,800
Received Date
2026-02-28
Accepted Date
2026-02-28
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Sony Music Entertainment UK
Donor Public Address
2 Canal Reach, London, N1C 4DB
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Sony Music Entertainment UK
Donor Company Identifier
01471066
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

The Alliance Party of Northern Ireland - £431.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Travel and accommodation costs for speaking at the annual Conference were covered by the Alliance Party
Value
£431
Received Date
2026-03-14
Accepted Date
2026-03-14
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
The Alliance Party of Northern Ireland
Donor Public Address
7 Farmley Road, Newtownabbey, BT36 7TY
Donor Status
Registered Party

The Jockey Club Racecourse - £500.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two tickets to attend Ladies Day 2026 at Aintree Racecourse
Value
£500
Received Date
2026-04-10
Accepted Date
2026-04-10
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
The Jockey Club Racecourse
Donor Public Address
The Jockey Club Racecourse Bond Company Plc Evesham Road, Prestbury, Cheltenham GL50 4SH
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
The Jockey Club Racecourse
Donor Company Identifier
08387189
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Nordoff and Robbins Music Therapy - £625.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Ticket to the O2 Silver Clef Awards where I was presenting an award at the ceremony
Value
£625
Received Date
2026-07-09
Accepted Date
2026-07-09
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Nordoff and Robbins Music Therapy
Donor Public Address
2 Lissenden Gardens, London NW5 1PQ
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Nordoff and Robbins Music Therapy
Donor Company Identifier
01514616
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Glastonbury Festivals Ltd - £1,520.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
4 tickets to Glastonbury Festival offered by Leftfield, Glastonbury, for myself and guests. I was speaking at the festival
Value
£1,520
Received Date
2025-06-28
Accepted Date
2025-06-28
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Glastonbury Festivals Ltd
Donor Public Address
Worthy Farm, Pilton, Shepton Mallet, Somerset BA4 4BY
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Glastonbury Festivals Ltd
Donor Company Identifier
02737866
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

RL Commercial - £450.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Ticket to Magic Weekend to watch Leigh Leopards v Warrington Wolves
Value
£450
Received Date
2026-07-04
Accepted Date
2026-07-04
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
RL Commercial
Donor Public Address
Rl Commercial Gate 13, Rowsley Street, Etihad Campus, Manchester M11 3FF
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
RL Commercial
Donor Company Identifier
13938431
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

Lancashire Cricket Club - £458.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Two tickets for myself and a guest to the Hundred Manchester Originals v London Spirit cricket match at Old Trafford Cricket ground
Value
£458
Received Date
2025-08-11
Accepted Date
2025-08-11
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
Lancashire Cricket Club
Donor Public Address
Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester M16 0PX
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
Lancashire Cricket Club
Donor Company Identifier
28451R
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House

PRS for Music LTD - £1,000.00

Registered 15 July 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Accommodation for two at Glastonbury Festival where I was speaking
Value
£1,000
Received Date
2025-06-28
Accepted Date
2025-06-28
Is Sole Beneficiary
No
Donor Name
PRS for Music LTD
Donor Public Address
Goldings House, 2 Hays Lane, London, United Kingdom, SE1 2HB
Donor Status
Company
Donor Company Name
PRS for Music LTD
Donor Company Identifier
03444246
Donor Company Identifier Source
Companies House
Visits outside the UK2

International visit to France between 09 March 2026 and 11 March 2026

Registered 16 July 2026

Country
France
Destination
Nice
Purpose
Speaking at the 2026 MIPIM conference
Start Date
2026-03-09
End Date
2026-03-11
Name
Marketing Manchester
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
Lee House, 90 Great Bridgewater Street, Manchester, M1 5JW
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Flights £1,000.69 Accomodation £1,000
Value
£2,000.69
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes

International visit to Spain between 27 April 2026 and 29 April 2026

Registered 16 July 2026

Country
Spain
Destination
Madrid
Purpose
Costs of attending an event I was speaking at hosted by Bloomberg CityLab
Start Date
2026-04-27
End Date
2026-04-29
Name
Bloomberg UK
Is Private Individual
No
Public Address
3 Queen Victoria Street, London, EC4N 4TQ
Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Flights £391.68 Accommodation £2,114
Value
£2,505.68
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Gifts and benefits from sources outside the UK1

Ambassador of Qatar - £340.00

Registered 16 July 2026

Payment Type
In kind
Payment Description
Hamper basket and Wedgewood tea set offered by Ambassador of Qatar to Court of St James
Value
£340
Received Date
2025-10-22
Accepted Date
2025-10-22
Is Sole Beneficiary
Yes
Donor Name
Ambassador of Qatar
Donor Status
Individual
Land and property (within or outside the UK)1

Property in London

Registered 16 July 2026

Is Sole Owner
No
Location
London
Property Owner Details
Co-owned with spouse
Registrable Rental Income
Yes
Number Of Properties
1
Is Land
No
Is Any Rental Income Paid To Another Person
No
Country
United Kingdom
Property Type
Residential
Shareholdings1

Shares in Office of Andy Burnham Ltd

Registered 16 July 2026

Shareholding Threshold
(i) Shareholdings: over 15% of issued share capital
Organisation Name
Office of Andy Burnham Ltd
Organisation Description
A private limited company with myself as the sole director for office purposes
Miscellaneous2

Unpaid sole Director of Andy Burnham for Leader Ltd, a private limited by guarantee company set up for the purposes of my leadership campaign

Registered 16 July 2026

Description
Unpaid sole Director of Andy Burnham for Leader Ltd, a private limited by guarantee company set up for the purposes of my leadership campaign
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role

Patron of the Greater Manchester Mayor's Charity

Registered 16 July 2026

Description
Patron of the Greater Manchester Mayor's Charity
Miscellaneous Interest Type
Unpaid role
How to read this section

The chart first groups explicit monetary values by type so different kinds of registered interest remain visually distinct. Select a category bubble to see every individual published value behind it. Project Open Gov does not combine all categories into one grand total or describe support, gifts or visit values as personal income. The salary reference is the basic annual MP salary of £98,599 from 1 April 2026 and is not itself a registered interest.

View this MP's official Register of Interests on Parliament ↗

Voting record

Project Open Gov voting coverage begins with the 2026–27 parliamentary session, which began on 13 May 2026. The earliest Commons division currently available is 19 May 2026, with records currently running to 9 September 2026. Earlier parliamentary sessions are not included; future sessions will be retained within this same record.

About “No recorded vote”. This means the official Commons division record does not show the MP as voting Aye or No, or acting as a teller. It does not by itself explain why there is no recorded vote.

Recent divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

View full voting record (71 divisions in coverage)

71 divisions shown

2026
September 2026 — 12 divisions

Draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

9 September 2026 · Division 72

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Plant Health, Seeds, Seed Potatoes and Plant Propagating Material (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

July 2026 — 17 divisions

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots for Statutory Trade Union Ballots

Draft Code of Practice on Electronic and Workplace Ballots

15 July 2026 · Division 60

No recorded vote
Other Commons motionMotion agreed

MPs voted to approve a draft Code of Practice governing how electronic and workplace ballots are used for statutory trade union ballots.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026

15 July 2026 · Division 59

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Trade Unions (Permissible Means of Voting) and Employment Rights (Unfair Dismissal) (Amendment) Order 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage

Amendment 199 — security and intelligence disclosures

14 July 2026 · Division 57

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the duty of candour could require certain security or intelligence information to be provided only with consent from the head of the relevant service or agency, subject to specified conditions.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Immigration and Asylum Bill

Reasoned amendment to Second Reading

13 July 2026 · Division 54

Voted No
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on the Opposition’s reasoned amendment to decline the Immigration and Asylum Bill a Second Reading, arguing that the Bill did not go far enough on illegal immigration, deportations, asylum, settlement and human-rights constraints.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 53

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Town and Country Planning (Discharge of Local Planning Authority Functions) (England) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 52

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Supply of Machinery (Safety) (Amendment etc.) and the EU Machinery Regulation (Enforcement etc. in Northern Ireland) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026

8 July 2026 · Division 51

No recorded vote
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Children’s Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 (Establishment of Schools) (Consequential Amendments) Regulations 2026.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners

7 July 2026 · Division 50

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion about the early release of prisoners, including concerns about whether people convicted of serious sexual offences would be released.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — goods vehicle VED review

1 July 2026 · Division 48

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 5 to require a Treasury review of the temporary goods vehicle VED (road freight tax) rates and reporting to Parliament.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — Electricity Generator Levy rate review

1 July 2026 · Division 47

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4, which would require the Treasury to review the impact of increasing the Electricity Generator Levy rate to 55% and report to Parliament by 31 March 2028.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — care workers’ mileage allowance

1 July 2026 · Division 46

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2 to the Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill, which would require a review of the approved mileage allowance rate paid to care workers who use a personal vehicle for work.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026

1 July 2026 · Division 44

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Employment Tribunal (Extension of Time Limits) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

June 2026 — 36 divisions

Draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026

24 June 2026 · Division 42

Voted Aye
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Climate Change Act 2008 (International Aviation and International Shipping) Regulations 2026.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Opposition Day: Defence spending and readiness — Prime Minister’s amendment

Defence spending and readiness — Prime Minister’s amendment

23 June 2026 · Division 38

No recorded vote
Opposition Day motionMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Opposition Day motion on Defence spending and readiness - Prime Minister's Amendment.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Report Stage

New Clause 4 — settlement fee waiver for service families

22 June 2026 · Division 33

No recorded vote
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to waive indefinite-leave-to-remain fees for spouses or children of serving or former armed forces members who had served for four or more years.

The official division record does not show a recorded vote for this MP. It does not state the reason.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

New Clause 3 — designation of the IRGC

17 June 2026 · Division 32

Not serving as an MP
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should include New Clause 3, which would require the Secretary of State to bring forward regulations to designate the IRGC as involved in foreign power threat activity within a month.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 13 — self-directed conduct offences

17 June 2026 · Division 31

Not serving as an MP
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on a proposal (Amendment 13) to create new offences for conduct that is self-directed and prepared in relation to a designated body under the Bill.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 8 — hostile activity planned in the UK

17 June 2026 · Division 30

Not serving as an MP
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Bill should explicitly cover hostile activity that is planned in the UK but carried out outside the UK.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill Committee

Amendment 3 — review after designation

17 June 2026 · Division 29

Not serving as an MP
Bill Committee voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to amend the Bill so that, after a body is designated, the Secretary of State must review whether further action should be taken against the body and connected persons and then report the outcome to Parliament.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

National Security (State Threats) Bill

Allocation of Time — timetable for further consideration

17 June 2026 · Division 28

Not serving as an MP
Procedural voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on an Allocation of Time motion for the National Security (State Threats) Bill, setting the timetable for its further consideration in the House.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026

16 June 2026 · Division 27

Not serving as an MP
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Clean Air Zones Central Services (Fees) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2026.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 3 — overseas information sharing and fair trials

16 June 2026 · Division 26

Not serving as an MP
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on Amendment 3, which would have restricted sharing information with overseas authorities where a fair trial cannot be guaranteed.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 14 — register of foreign powers

16 June 2026 · Division 25

Not serving as an MP
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether the Government should establish and maintain a register of foreign powers that the Secretary of State believes present a cyber-security risk to the UK, to inform the use of Part 4 powers.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 13 — Digital Sovereignty Strategy

16 June 2026 · Division 24

Not serving as an MP
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13, which would require the Government to publish a “Digital Sovereignty Strategy” to assess and mitigate risks to security and resilience from foreign interference and reliance on foreign-supplied technologies and to build domestic capacity.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 148 — appeals decided on the merits

10 June 2026 · Division 21

Not serving as an MP
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to change the appeals process in the Railways Bill so that the Office of Rail and Road decides appeals on the merits of the case.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

Amendment 143 — railcard discounts

10 June 2026 · Division 20

Not serving as an MP
Bill stage voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require Great British Railways to continue offering discounted rail fares for UK veterans, armed forces personnel and their families, and for young people aged 26 to 30 under Amendment 143.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Railways Bill Remaining Stages

New Clause 1 — Passengers’ Charter

10 June 2026 · Division 19

Not serving as an MP
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to insert New Clause 1, which would require a “Passengers' Charter” to set standards and improvement plans for rail passenger experience.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026

Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026

9 June 2026 · Division 18

Not serving as an MP
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) (Amendment) Order 2026.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 4 — compensation and financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 17

Not serving as an MP
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 4 to the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill, which would cap total compensation and financial assistance payable under the Act unless authorised by a Commons resolution.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 12 — financial assistance cap

9 June 2026 · Division 16

Not serving as an MP
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 12, which would cap the amount of financial assistance available under the Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Act.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 8 — contingent liabilities statement

8 June 2026 · Division 14

Not serving as an MP
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to make a statement to Parliament about the value of contingent liabilities before using the Bill's main powers to transfer (nationalise) steel undertakings.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Steel Industry (Nationalisation) Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Stakeholder Advisory Committee

8 June 2026 · Division 13

Not serving as an MP
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 2, which would require the Secretary of State to set up a stakeholder advisory committee and consult it before key public-interest decisions under the Bill.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Draft Agriculture (Delinked Payments) (Reductions) (England) Regulations 2026

Agriculture (Delinked Payments) (Reductions) (England) Regulations 2026

3 June 2026 · Division 11

Not serving as an MP
Statutory instrument voteMotion agreed

MPs voted on whether to approve the draft Agriculture (Delinked Payments) (Reductions) (England) Regulations 2026.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 13 — single living accommodation standards

2 June 2026 · Division 10

Not serving as an MP
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to add New Clause 13 to the Armed Forces Bill, which would amend the Renters' Rights Act 2025 to set defence housing standards for single living accommodation.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 6 — ECHR derogation for overseas operations

2 June 2026 · Division 9

Not serving as an MP
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to require the Secretary of State to consider whether to make an ECHR derogation for significant overseas operations under the Human Rights Act 1998.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 5 — immigration application fee waiver

2 June 2026 · Division 8

Not serving as an MP
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on whether to include New Clause 5, which would waive fees for applications for indefinite leave to remain by spouses and dependants of serving or discharged armed forces personnel.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Armed Forces Bill Committee

New Clause 2 — Defence Investment Plan

2 June 2026 · Division 7

Not serving as an MP
New Clause voteMotion negatived

MPs voted on a new clause that would require the Secretary of State to lay a Defence Investment Plan before both Houses of Parliament within one month of the Act being passed.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

May 2026 — 6 divisions

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (p) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 4

Not serving as an MP
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the Opposition's motion for an Address in response to the King's Speech, regretting the absence of a Defence Readiness Bill and related defence planning commitments.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (l) — defence policy

20 May 2026 · Division 3

Not serving as an MP
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the King's Speech Address debate to express regret that the Gracious Speech did not include a Defence Readiness Bill and to call for specific defence policy actions.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

King's Speech Motion for an Address

Amendment (o) — defence readiness

20 May 2026 · Division 2

Not serving as an MP
King’s Speech amendmentMotion negatived

MPs voted on an amendment to the motion for an Address to the King that would have expressed regret at the lack of a Defence Readiness Bill and other defence-related delays, and urged the Government to bring forward relevant measures and raise defence spending.

This division took place before this MP's current period of service began.

Official source: Commons division record ↗

Individual voting states are verified against the official Commons Votes division data. Project Open Gov adds the explanatory text, vote type and link to the corresponding Project Open Gov vote page.

Spoken contributions

Recent debates and proceedings in which Parliament records this MP as contributing. Project Open Gov shows the official contribution summary by debate, rather than listing every individual speech or intervention.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

Engagements

2 September 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

27 answers

Direction of Government

1 September 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

115 answers1 statement

Public Office (Accountability) Bill

14 July 2026 · House of Commons · Commons Chamber

1 speech

View all spoken contributions on Parliament ↗

Written questions

Recent written questions tabled by this MP. Answers are kept behind an expander so the profile stays compact.

Coverage on this profile begins with the 2026–27 session (13 May 2026).

No written questions are currently stored within this coverage period.

View all written questions on Parliament ↗

Early Day Motions

Parliament lists these Early Day Motions as supported by this MP. The member endpoint does not say whether the MP was the primary sponsor or a later signatory, so Project Open Gov does not assign that role.

This profile shows supported Early Day Motions tabled from 13 May 2026 onwards.

No supported Early Day Motions are currently stored within this coverage period.

View this MP's Early Day Motions on Parliament ↗

Constituency and election

Makerfield is a constituency in the North West region of England. The seat has been held by Andy Burnham (Labour) since June 2026.

Where is this constituency?

Makerfield Wigan Leigh and Atherton Bolton West Warrington North St Helens North St Helens South and Whiston Chorley Warrington South Worsley and Eccles South Ribble Widnes and Halewood Bolton North East Knowsley Bolton South and Walkden West Lancashire Rossendale and Darwen Altrincham and Sale West Liverpool West Derby Stretford and Urmston Liverpool Walton Southport Liverpool Wavertree Bury North Salford Bury South Wythenshawe and Sale East Liverpool Riverside Sefton Central England
Makerfield Labour (Co-op)

Boundary data: ONS Open Geography Portal.

2026-06-18 Makerfield By-election

Held on 18 June 2026

Winning partyLabourLab Hold
Majority9,231
Turnout58.7%45,476 votes cast
Electorate77,462

View constituency dashboard

This profile shows a concise election summary. The full candidate result and further constituency information are available on the constituency dashboard. Turnout percentage is calculated by Project Open Gov from the official turnout and electorate figures. Constituency and election data last collected 18 August 2026.

Scroll to Top